Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Network not working after the first installation boot
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
.ct.pus
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Feb 2017
Posts: 3
Location: India

PostPosted: Sat Feb 04, 2017 7:18 pm    Post subject: Network not working after the first installation boot Reply with quote

Hello everyone!

I am very new to Gentoo.
In order to make sure that I followed the correct steps I installed Gentoo three times.
The problem of lost connectivity persists.
I tried the following steps:



ifconfig yields

lo: flags=73<UP,LOOPBACK,RUNNING> mtu 65536
.
.
.

sit0: flags=128<NOARP> mtu 1480
.
.
.
--------------------------------------

ping -c 3 www.google.com

ping: unknown host www.google.com

--------------------------------------
net-setup enp3s0:

net-setup: command not found

---------------------------------------
ifconfig enp3s0:

error fetching interface information: Device not found

---------------------------------------
wget www.google.com --no-dns-cache -v

Temporary failure in name resolution

----------------------------------------
/etc/conf.d/net

modules="dhcpcd"
config_enp3s0="dhcp"
dns_domain_lo="homenetwork"

----------------------------------------
/etc/resolv.conf

nameserver 192.168.0.1


I won't be able to post results as I am not installing this on a virtual box!
Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 7094
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Sat Feb 04, 2017 7:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Assuming you have a PCI network card, do you see the driver loaded with
Code:
lspci -k

_________________
Please learn how to denote units correctly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
krinn
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 02 May 2003
Posts: 7071

PostPosted: Sat Feb 04, 2017 11:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

try that: https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-p-7746228.html#7746228
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
.ct.pus
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Feb 2017
Posts: 3
Location: India

PostPosted: Sun Feb 05, 2017 5:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jaglover wrote:
Assuming you have a PCI network card, do you see the driver loaded with
Code:
lspci -k


I don't have an additional PCI network card I work on my onboard..
When I ran lspci -k it displayed:

Code:

.
.
.
Express Gigabit Ethernet Controller (rev 0c)
             Subsystem: ASUSTek Computer Inc. RTL8111/8168/8411 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet Controller


krinn wrote:
try that: https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-p-7746228.html#7746228


I followed every step but the system does not ping and ifconfig still displays:

Code:

lo: flags=73<UP,LOOPBACK,RUNNING> mtu 65536
.
.
.

sit0: flags=128<NOARP> mtu 1480
.
.
.



While lspci -k | grep -A5 Ether displays:
Code:

03:00.0 Ethernet Controller:  Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL8111/8168/8411 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet Controller (rev 0c)
             Subsystem: ASUSTek Computer Inc. RTL8111/8168/8411 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet Controller



Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
.ct.pus
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Feb 2017
Posts: 3
Location: India

PostPosted: Sun Feb 05, 2017 6:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Could there be problem with my kernel configuration!?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
khayyam
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 07 Jun 2012
Posts: 6228
Location: Room 101

PostPosted: Sun Feb 05, 2017 7:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

.ct.pus wrote:
Could there be problem with my kernel configuration!?

.ct.pus ... it could be, is CONFIG_R8169 enabled?

Code:
# zgrep CONFIG_R8169 /proc/config.gz

or ...
Code:
# grep CONFIG_R8169 /usr/src/linux-$(uname -r)/.config

I believe the r8169 driver requires firmware, so you would need to install sys-kernel/linux-firmware, if you grep dmesg for 'firmware' it should confirm of the firmware is loaded, or not.

Code:
# dmesg | grep firmware

HTH & best ... khay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hariskar
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 29 Jan 2017
Posts: 104
Location: Greece/Kavala

PostPosted: Mon Feb 06, 2017 11:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I had the same problem also with Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL8111/8168/8411. For me the solution was ifconfig. It showed that the name was not eth0, but enp5s0. I did not install firmware and now it works fine.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum