Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Problem installing wifi Adapter
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
robertomagno
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Feb 2017
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Sat Feb 18, 2017 11:06 pm    Post subject: Problem installing wifi Adapter Reply with quote

Hello,
i'm a new gentoo user.
I installed gentoo a couple of days ago for the first time and after few little problems i have a working system.
At the moment i can use ethernet but the wifi adapter doesn't work.

My network adapter is an Atheros AR5007EG. I'm sure that this card work with gentoo because during installation with the live cd i can use wifi but now i can't.

I have no wifi interface (confirmed with iwconfig). The kernel module is ath5k (confirmed with lspci -k) but the difference between livecd and local installation is when i run lspci -k command:
in livecd i have "Kernel driver in use: ath5k"
in the local installation, the module is present but isn't used by the kernel.

So i run the command "modprobe ath5k" but i have an error:

modprobe: ERROR: could not insert 'ath5k': Exec format error.

The drivers ath5k are under /lib/modules/4.9.6-gentoo-r1/kernel/drivers/net/wireless/ath/ath5k

I don't know if it can help, but i had no difference in the behaviour compiling the kernel with genkernel or with manual build

What i'm doing wrong?
Thank you
_________________
Gento Newbie
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Roman_Gruber
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 03 Oct 2006
Posts: 3806
Location: Austro Bavaria

PostPosted: Sat Feb 18, 2017 11:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

My way of doing things:

Start from scratch wiht an empty kernel config.
add every module in use as in the live-cd environment
add the firmware

--

Another way:

Slim down genkernel / live-cd kernel until it has only the bare minimum.

--

Building a kernel takes efforts and a lot of reboots in my case.

--

You can also reuse the kernel config from your live-cd!


Quote:
I don't know if it can help, but i had no difference in the behaviour compiling the kernel with genkernel or with manual build


Lets assume you compile your own kernel config. Than it does not really matter, the result will be the same.

Genkernel should use its own kernel.config
genkernel-next should use its own kenrel.config

those may work or may not work.

Because they hardly worked here genkernel was only a starting point to adapt / reuse kernel config and initramfs.

--

Quote:
modprobe: ERROR: could not insert 'ath5k': Exec format error.


There is a hole section in the kernel regarding code execution.

I assume you have used the same architecture for your box as your live-cd

For example use an amd64 live-cd for amd64 gentoo installation.

some guys mix up i686 with amd64!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
robertomagno
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Feb 2017
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Sat Feb 18, 2017 11:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Roman_Gruber wrote:
My way of doing things:

Start from scratch wiht an empty kernel config.
add every module in use as in the live-cd environment
add the firmware

--

Another way:

Slim down genkernel / live-cd kernel until it has only the bare minimum.

--

Building a kernel takes efforts and a lot of reboots in my case.

--

You can also reuse the kernel config from your live-cd!


Quote:
I don't know if it can help, but i had no difference in the behaviour compiling the kernel with genkernel or with manual build


Lets assume you compile your own kernel config. Than it does not really matter, the result will be the same.

Genkernel should use its own kernel.config
genkernel-next should use its own kenrel.config

those may work or may not work.

Because they hardly worked here genkernel was only a starting point to adapt / reuse kernel config and initramfs.


Thank you for your reply.

I compared kernel of livecd with mine and are almost identical. I don't understand why my kernel doesn't use the ath5k module. It is installed, but isn't used.

Another question. If i understood well, genkernel use the same livecd method for detecting hardware... so the result should be the same, right?
_________________
Gento Newbie
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fcl
n00b
n00b


Joined: 31 Dec 2016
Posts: 72

PostPosted: Sat Feb 18, 2017 11:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Your module might be for a different kernel. Did you install the modules when you compiled the kernel?
eg.
Code:
cd /usr/src/linux
make menuconfig
make -j4

now you have the kernel but are missing modules, install them with
Code:
make modules_install

then mount /boot and install kernel with
Code:
mount /boot
make install

Then update GRUB/whatever you use to boot.

Also, make sure you're booting the right kernel, uname -a. You can also try to modprobe --force the module.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
robertomagno
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Feb 2017
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Sat Feb 18, 2017 11:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

fcl wrote:
Your module might be for a different kernel. Did you install the modules when you compiled the kernel?
eg.
Code:
cd /usr/src/linux
make menuconfig
make -j4

now you have the kernel but are missing modules, install them with
Code:
make modules_install

then mount /boot and install kernel with
Code:
mount /boot
make install

Then update GRUB/whatever you use to boot.

Also, make sure you're booting the right kernel.


I did this:

gentoo~ # cd /usr/src/linux

gentoo linux # make modules_install

gentoo linux # cp arch/x86/boot/bzImage /boot/kernel-genkernel-x86_64-4.0.5-gentoo

gentoo linux # reboot

it is the same?
_________________
Gento Newbie
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
markisthejob
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 04 Aug 2008
Posts: 142
Location: Cork, Republic of Ireland

PostPosted: Sat Feb 18, 2017 11:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I dont think you are booting into the kernel you think you are.First question, what is the output of
Code:
uname -a


Are you trying to use genkernel or gentoo-sources?

Quote:
gentoo linux # cp arch/x86/boot/bzImage /boot/kernel-genkernel-x86_64-4.0.5-gentoo

This looks to be copied from an old forum post because the current stable kernel is 4.9.6-r1
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
robertomagno
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Feb 2017
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Sun Feb 19, 2017 7:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

markisthejob wrote:
I dont think you are booting into the kernel you think you are.First question, what is the output of
Code:
uname -a


Are you trying to use genkernel or gentoo-sources?

Quote:
gentoo linux # cp arch/x86/boot/bzImage /boot/kernel-genkernel-x86_64-4.0.5-gentoo

This looks to be copied from an old forum post because the current stable kernel is 4.9.6-r1


yes i copied it from a old post... what i really did is

cp arch/x86/boot/bzImage /boot/kernel-genkernel-x86_64-4.9.6-gentoo-r1

the output of uname -a is

Linux myGentoo 4.9.6-gentoo-r1 #1 SMP Sun Feb 12 19:13:01 -00 2017 x86_64 Intel(R) Pentium(R) Dual CPU T2370 @ 1.73GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux

from livecd uname -a

Linux livecd 4.9.6-gentoo-r1 #1 SMP Thu Feb 9 07:22:57 UTC 2017 x86_64 Intel(R) Pentium(R) Dual CPU T2370 @ 1.73GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux
_________________
Gento Newbie
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
charles17
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 02 Mar 2008
Posts: 2613

PostPosted: Sun Feb 19, 2017 8:20 am    Post subject: Re: Problem installing wifi Adapter Reply with quote

robertomagno wrote:
My network adapter is an Atheros AR5007EG. I'm sure that this card work with gentoo because during installation with the live cd i can use wifi but now i can't.

Did you read wireless.wiki.kernel.org and the ath10k wiki article?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
robertomagno
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Feb 2017
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Sun Feb 19, 2017 8:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

SOLVED

this is the solution
fcl wrote:
Your module might be for a different kernel. Did you install the modules when you compiled the kernel?
eg.
Code:
cd /usr/src/linux
make menuconfig
make -j4

now you have the kernel but are missing modules, install them with
Code:
make modules_install

then mount /boot and install kernel with
Code:
mount /boot
make install

Then update GRUB/whatever you use to boot.

Also, make sure you're booting the right kernel, uname -a. You can also try to modprobe --force the module.


markisthejob wrote:

I dont think you are booting into the kernel you think you are.

Exactly. I haven't updated grub, so i booted the wrong kernel.

Thank you all :)
_________________
Gento Newbie
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
markisthejob
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 04 Aug 2008
Posts: 142
Location: Cork, Republic of Ireland

PostPosted: Sun Feb 19, 2017 8:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok check the date of your kernel from that output. It's February 12th. Has it been that long since you compiled your kernel?

Edit: you solved it as I was typing nevermind
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum