Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
AMDGPU Install, error while compiling kernel
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
CiaMustSurrenderToTheIra
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Mar 2017
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Fri Mar 10, 2017 12:32 pm    Post subject: AMDGPU Install, error while compiling kernel Reply with quote

Hey folks,
I'm trying to install the AMDGPU drivers as explained in the gentoo docs.
The problem, when I go to compile the kernel, after having specified the firmware in the menuconfig, I get the error:
Code:
make[1]: *** No rule to make target 'firmware/amdgpu/polaris10_ce.bin', needed by 'firmware/amdgpu/polaris10_ce.bin.gen.o'.  Stop.
make: *** [Makefile:988: firmware] Error 2


Basically, I'm stuck at this step https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/AMDGPU#Incorporating_firmware

The card is an RX 480, and I'm pretty sure to have read everything with attention, so I don't really know what I could possibly have done wrong.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chithanh
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Aug 2006
Posts: 2152
Location: Berlin, Germany

PostPosted: Fri Mar 10, 2017 12:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Please provide your kernel .config settings for
Code:
CONFIG_FIRMWARE_IN_KERNEL
CONFIG_EXTRA_FIRMWARE
CONFIG_EXTRA_FIRMWARE_DIR


Also, which firmware package is installed?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
CiaMustSurrenderToTheIra
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Mar 2017
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Fri Mar 10, 2017 1:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

chithanh wrote:
Please provide your kernel .config settings for
Code:
CONFIG_FIRMWARE_IN_KERNEL
CONFIG_EXTRA_FIRMWARE
CONFIG_EXTRA_FIRMWARE_DIR


Also, which firmware package is installed?


Code:
CONFIG_EXTRA_FIRMWARE="amdgpu/polaris10_me.bin amdgpu/polaris10_mec.bin amdgpu/polaris10_pfp.bin amdgpu/polaris10_rlc.bin amdgpu/polaris10_sdma1.bin amdgpu/polaris10_sdma.bin amdgpu/polaris10_smc.bin amdgpu/polaris10_smc_sk.bin amdgpu/polaris10_uvd.bin amdgpu/polaris10_vce.bin"
CONFIG_EXTRA_FIRMWARE_DIR="firmware"

http://pastebin.com/QGrBzr4T

The firmware installed is sys-firmware/linux-firmware
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chithanh
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Aug 2006
Posts: 2152
Location: Berlin, Germany

PostPosted: Fri Mar 10, 2017 1:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
CONFIG_EXTRA_FIRMWARE_DIR="firmware"

This is the setting "Firmware blobs root directory" in menuconfig and is not correct, it needs to be "/lib/firmware".
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
CiaMustSurrenderToTheIra
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Mar 2017
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Fri Mar 10, 2017 2:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

chithanh wrote:
Code:
CONFIG_EXTRA_FIRMWARE_DIR="firmware"

This is the setting "Firmware blobs root directory" in menuconfig and is not correct, it needs to be "/lib/firmware".


Completely missed that section. Thanks a lot.

Still, I don't get why Xorg isn't functioning.
Code:
http://pastebin.com/71tnMj49

I may have miss-read the guide, but the logs are reporting as errors, the lack of some modules that I don't remember being mentioned (ie, "vesa", "fbdev").
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chithanh
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Aug 2006
Posts: 2152
Location: Berlin, Germany

PostPosted: Fri Mar 10, 2017 2:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

xf86-video-fbdev (and -vesa) are fallback drivers which are automatically loaded but only used if no other driver matches your hardware.

Code:
[   333.863] (EE) open /dev/dri/card0: No such file or directory

Something may be wrong still with your kernel configuration.
What is the content of /proc/fb?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
CiaMustSurrenderToTheIra
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Mar 2017
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Fri Mar 10, 2017 2:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

chithanh wrote:

What is the content of /proc/fb?


None.
It's empty...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chithanh
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Aug 2006
Posts: 2152
Location: Berlin, Germany

PostPosted: Fri Mar 10, 2017 3:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This means that the amdgpu driver was not initialized.
Then look at dmesg, whether there are any amdgpu related errors.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
CiaMustSurrenderToTheIra
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Mar 2017
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Fri Mar 10, 2017 3:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

chithanh wrote:
This means that the amdgpu driver was not initialized.
Then look at dmesg, whether there are any amdgpu related errors.


Yup, seems it has quite a few problems
Code:
[    1.153408] amdgpu 0000:01:00.0: Invalid PCI ROM header signature: expecting 0xaa55, got 0xffff
[    1.153633] ATOM BIOS: 113
[    1.153748] [drm] GPU post is not needed
[    1.154002] amdgpu 0000:01:00.0: Direct firmware load for amdgpu/polaris10_mc.bin failed with error -2
[    1.154190] mc: Failed to load firmware "amdgpu/polaris10_mc.bin"
[    1.154330] [drm:gmc_v8_0_sw_init] *ERROR* Failed to load mc firmware!
[    1.154441] [drm:amdgpu_device_init] *ERROR* sw_init of IP block <gmc_v8_0> failed -2
[    1.154641] amdgpu 0000:01:00.0: amdgpu_init failed
[    1.154750] amdgpu 0000:01:00.0: Fatal error during GPU init
[    1.154859] [drm] amdgpu: finishing device.
[    1.154967] [TTM] Memory type 2 has not been initialized
[    1.155323] amdgpu: probe of 0000:01:00.0 failed with error -2


http://pastebin.com/qPuH8H9U
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
CiaMustSurrenderToTheIra
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Mar 2017
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Fri Mar 10, 2017 3:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

CiaMustSurrenderToTheIra wrote:
chithanh wrote:
This means that the amdgpu driver was not initialized.
Then look at dmesg, whether there are any amdgpu related errors.


Yup, seems it has quite a few problems
Code:
[    1.153408] amdgpu 0000:01:00.0: Invalid PCI ROM header signature: expecting 0xaa55, got 0xffff
[    1.153633] ATOM BIOS: 113
[    1.153748] [drm] GPU post is not needed
[    1.154002] amdgpu 0000:01:00.0: Direct firmware load for amdgpu/polaris10_mc.bin failed with error -2
[    1.154190] mc: Failed to load firmware "amdgpu/polaris10_mc.bin"
[    1.154330] [drm:gmc_v8_0_sw_init] *ERROR* Failed to load mc firmware!
[    1.154441] [drm:amdgpu_device_init] *ERROR* sw_init of IP block <gmc_v8_0> failed -2
[    1.154641] amdgpu 0000:01:00.0: amdgpu_init failed
[    1.154750] amdgpu 0000:01:00.0: Fatal error during GPU init
[    1.154859] [drm] amdgpu: finishing device.
[    1.154967] [TTM] Memory type 2 has not been initialized
[    1.155323] amdgpu: probe of 0000:01:00.0 failed with error -2


http://pastebin.com/qPuH8H9U



--- UPDATE ---
I may be more retarded than I thought.
I believe I forgot the polaris10_mc.bin module... I'll start over and try to make a fresh and clean installation
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 7094
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Fri Mar 10, 2017 4:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

CiaMustSurrenderToTheIra wrote:

I may be more retarded than I thought.
I believe I forgot the polaris10_mc.bin module... I'll start over and try to make a fresh and clean installation

You do not need to install sources again - I guess this is what you mean by clean installation? You can run make mproper and it will restore your sources into pristine condition. Back up your .config, or it will be gone, too.
_________________
Please learn how to denote units correctly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
CiaMustSurrenderToTheIra
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Mar 2017
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Fri Mar 10, 2017 4:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jaglover wrote:
CiaMustSurrenderToTheIra wrote:

I may be more retarded than I thought.
I believe I forgot the polaris10_mc.bin module... I'll start over and try to make a fresh and clean installation

You do not need to install sources again - I guess this is what you mean by clean installation? You can run make mproper and it will restore your sources into pristine condition. Back up your .config, or it will be gone, too.

Sure, but I guess I've already fucked up too many things.
I prefer to start over and make a neat install
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 7094
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Fri Mar 10, 2017 4:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Anything you do in Gentoo can be undone, unless you do something really destructive as rm -rf /. Reinstalling every time something goes wrong is a bad habit probably learned using that other operating system.
_________________
Please learn how to denote units correctly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum