Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[SOLVED] Kernel upgrade and new init behaviour
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Maxxx
Guru
Guru


Joined: 12 Jan 2016
Posts: 515
Location: Italia

PostPosted: Thu Apr 27, 2017 7:02 am    Post subject: [SOLVED] Kernel upgrade and new init behaviour Reply with quote

I upgrade kernel from 4.4.26 to 4.9.16 (stable version) without problems.
At boot time, after grub menu, it don't show anymore init process step by step... it show that it loading kernel 4.9.16 and in short time I see greeter ready to login.
This isn't a problem, but during a session (of KDE) if I type "Ctrl+Alt+F1" to switch in a terminal, i get session with "loading kernel 4.9.16..." without conclude in a normal terminal login. I don't be able to open a terminal session.
If i type "Ctrl+Alt+F7" it return on KDE session normally.

Maybe, is there an option on the kernel that I missed?


Last edited by Maxxx on Fri Apr 28, 2017 9:08 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eccerr0r
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2004
Posts: 7073
Location: almost Mile High in the USA

PostPosted: Thu Apr 27, 2017 8:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yeah you probably missed console options. Try diffing with your old kernel config, or you could pastebin your kernel config so the forum could look at it?
Also what hardware do you have, using EFI hardware?
_________________
Intel Core i7 2700K@ 4.1GHz/HD3000 graphics/8GB DDR3/180GB SSD
What am I supposed watching?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Maxxx
Guru
Guru


Joined: 12 Jan 2016
Posts: 515
Location: Italia

PostPosted: Fri Apr 28, 2017 7:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you for responce...
I'll try to compare my old and new kernel .config files, otherwise i'll post new config to the forum.
As hardware i have I7 on MSI motherboard and nvidia GPU, using EFI.
But I thought, could it depend from inittab file?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cboldt
l33t
l33t


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 829

PostPosted: Fri Apr 28, 2017 10:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Not so much the iniittab itself, but the gettys specified for the normal run level may be failing to load.

I believe the Gentoo default getty is "agetty"
I happen to use "mingetty"

Changing kernel version (and nothing else) will NOT affect the getty or the iniittab. From your initial description, I don't think the problem lies with inittab or agetty. You can test for this.

Code:
sudo ps aux | grep getty
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eccerr0r
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2004
Posts: 7073
Location: almost Mile High in the USA

PostPosted: Fri Apr 28, 2017 10:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Since you mentioned that the bootup sequence also didn't show up, it's not your inittab... You didn't change it, right?
_________________
Intel Core i7 2700K@ 4.1GHz/HD3000 graphics/8GB DDR3/180GB SSD
What am I supposed watching?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cboldt
l33t
l33t


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 829

PostPosted: Fri Apr 28, 2017 11:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have a couple thoughts, more in the form of questions. If the consoles "aren't there," would they still be defined in /dev? We know that either /dev/console or /dev/tty or /dev/tty1 is showing "loading kernel 4.9.16 ..." I assume that is coming from grub (before the kernel is touched)

My kernel boot line includes "console=tty1" and "quiet" I get a little bit of kernel-supplied output on tty1 (during boot), but the vast majority of the output is from openrc and services startup.

Was the hardware changed too? From the message, I think not. Still, in addition to checking for the presence of /dev/tty* devices, maybe the problem is rooted in console display, e.g., framebuffer, VESA - although if Ctl-Alt-F1 shows the "loading kernel" message, so some sort of display is working outside of whatever KDE is running on.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Maxxx
Guru
Guru


Joined: 12 Jan 2016
Posts: 515
Location: Italia

PostPosted: Fri Apr 28, 2017 12:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks to all.

This is output of:

Code:
ps aux | grep getty


Code:
root      3954  0.0  0.0  23360  1488 ?        S    16:39   0:00 supervise-daemon --start --pidfile /run/agetty.pid /sbin/agetty -- agetty
root      3960  0.0  0.0  17220  1920 tty1     Ss+  16:39   0:00 /sbin/agetty 38400 tty1 linux
root      3961  0.0  0.0  17220  1928 tty2     Ss+  16:39   0:00 /sbin/agetty 38400 tty2 linux
root      3962  0.0  0.0  17220  2044 tty3     Ss+  16:39   0:00 /sbin/agetty 38400 tty3 linux
root      3963  0.0  0.0  17220  1940 tty4     Ss+  16:39   0:00 /sbin/agetty 38400 tty4 linux
root      3964  0.0  0.0  17220  1920 tty5     Ss+  16:39   0:00 /sbin/agetty 38400 tty5 linux
root      3965  0.0  0.0  17220  2036 tty6     Ss+  16:39   0:00 /sbin/agetty 38400 tty6 linux
root      4705  0.0  0.0  15268  1848 ?        Ss   16:41   0:00 /sbin/agetty agetty
root      4707  0.0  0.0  11464  1784 pts/1    S+   16:41   0:00 grep --colour=auto getty


This is my .config:

Mod edit: Kernel configs are too long to be pasted into a forum post; they're always truncated (thus not too useful) and sometime cause problems for the forum. For these reasons, I've deleted it. Please use a pastebin service in the future. — JRG
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Maxxx
Guru
Guru


Joined: 12 Jan 2016
Posts: 515
Location: Italia

PostPosted: Fri Apr 28, 2017 12:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This is grub.cfg

Code:
#
# DO NOT EDIT THIS FILE
#
# It is automatically generated by grub-mkconfig using templates
# from /etc/grub.d and settings from /etc/default/grub
#

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/00_header ###
if [ -s $prefix/grubenv ]; then
  load_env
fi
if [ "${next_entry}" ] ; then
   set default="${next_entry}"
   set next_entry=
   save_env next_entry
   set boot_once=true
else
   set default="0"
fi

if [ x"${feature_menuentry_id}" = xy ]; then
  menuentry_id_option="--id"
else
  menuentry_id_option=""
fi

export menuentry_id_option

if [ "${prev_saved_entry}" ]; then
  set saved_entry="${prev_saved_entry}"
  save_env saved_entry
  set prev_saved_entry=
  save_env prev_saved_entry
  set boot_once=true
fi

function savedefault {
  if [ -z "${boot_once}" ]; then
    saved_entry="${chosen}"
    save_env saved_entry
  fi
}

function load_video {
  if [ x$feature_all_video_module = xy ]; then
    insmod all_video
  else
    insmod efi_gop
    insmod efi_uga
    insmod ieee1275_fb
    insmod vbe
    insmod vga
    insmod video_bochs
    insmod video_cirrus
  fi
}

if [ x$feature_default_font_path = xy ] ; then
   font=unicode
else
insmod part_gpt
insmod ext2
set root='hd1,gpt4'
if [ x$feature_platform_search_hint = xy ]; then
  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root --hint-bios=hd1,gpt4 --hint-efi=hd1,gpt4 --hint-baremetal=ahci1,gpt4  09f4ecb0-be42-4153-980b-b61548f47597
else
  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 09f4ecb0-be42-4153-980b-b61548f47597
fi
    font="/usr/share/grub/unicode.pf2"
fi

if loadfont $font ; then
  set gfxmode=auto
  load_video
  insmod gfxterm
  set locale_dir=$prefix/locale
  set lang=it_IT
  insmod gettext
fi
terminal_output gfxterm
if [ x$feature_timeout_style = xy ] ; then
  set timeout_style=menu
  set timeout=5
# Fallback normal timeout code in case the timeout_style feature is
# unavailable.
else
  set timeout=5
fi
### END /etc/grub.d/00_header ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/10_linux ###
menuentry 'Gentoo GNU/Linux' --class gentoo --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os $menuentry_id_option 'gnulinux-simple-09f4ecb0-be42-4153-980b-b61548f47597' {
   load_video
   insmod gzio
   insmod part_gpt
   insmod fat
   set root='hd1,gpt2'
   if [ x$feature_platform_search_hint = xy ]; then
     search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root --hint-bios=hd1,gpt2 --hint-efi=hd1,gpt2 --hint-baremetal=ahci1,gpt2  4275-2E49
   else
     search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 4275-2E49
   fi
   echo   'Caricamento Linux x86_64-4.9.16-gentoo...'
   linux   /kernel-genkernel-x86_64-4.9.16-gentoo root=UUID=09f4ecb0-be42-4153-980b-b61548f47597 ro 
   echo   'Caricamento ramdisk iniziale...'
   initrd   /initramfs-genkernel-x86_64-4.9.16-gentoo
}
submenu 'Opzioni avanzate per Gentoo GNU/Linux' $menuentry_id_option 'gnulinux-advanced-09f4ecb0-be42-4153-980b-b61548f47597' {
   menuentry 'Gentoo GNU/Linux, con Linux x86_64-4.9.16-gentoo' --class gentoo --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os $menuentry_id_option 'gnulinux-x86_64-4.9.16-gentoo-advanced-09f4ecb0-be42-4153-980b-b61548f47597' {
      load_video
      insmod gzio
      insmod part_gpt
      insmod fat
      set root='hd1,gpt2'
      if [ x$feature_platform_search_hint = xy ]; then
        search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root --hint-bios=hd1,gpt2 --hint-efi=hd1,gpt2 --hint-baremetal=ahci1,gpt2  4275-2E49
      else
        search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 4275-2E49
      fi
      echo   'Caricamento Linux x86_64-4.9.16-gentoo...'
      linux   /kernel-genkernel-x86_64-4.9.16-gentoo root=UUID=09f4ecb0-be42-4153-980b-b61548f47597 ro 
      echo   'Caricamento ramdisk iniziale...'
      initrd   /initramfs-genkernel-x86_64-4.9.16-gentoo
   }
   menuentry 'Gentoo GNU/Linux, con Linux x86_64-4.9.16-gentoo (modalità ripristino)' --class gentoo --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os $menuentry_id_option 'gnulinux-x86_64-4.9.16-gentoo-recovery-09f4ecb0-be42-4153-980b-b61548f47597' {
      load_video
      insmod gzio
      insmod part_gpt
      insmod fat
      set root='hd1,gpt2'
      if [ x$feature_platform_search_hint = xy ]; then
        search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root --hint-bios=hd1,gpt2 --hint-efi=hd1,gpt2 --hint-baremetal=ahci1,gpt2  4275-2E49
      else
        search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 4275-2E49
      fi
      echo   'Caricamento Linux x86_64-4.9.16-gentoo...'
      linux   /kernel-genkernel-x86_64-4.9.16-gentoo root=UUID=09f4ecb0-be42-4153-980b-b61548f47597 ro single
      echo   'Caricamento ramdisk iniziale...'
      initrd   /initramfs-genkernel-x86_64-4.9.16-gentoo
   }
   menuentry 'Gentoo GNU/Linux, con Linux x86_64-4.4.26-gentoo' --class gentoo --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os $menuentry_id_option 'gnulinux-x86_64-4.4.26-gentoo-advanced-09f4ecb0-be42-4153-980b-b61548f47597' {
      load_video
      if [ "x$grub_platform" = xefi ]; then
         set gfxpayload=keep
      fi
      insmod gzio
      insmod part_gpt
      insmod fat
      set root='hd1,gpt2'
      if [ x$feature_platform_search_hint = xy ]; then
        search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root --hint-bios=hd1,gpt2 --hint-efi=hd1,gpt2 --hint-baremetal=ahci1,gpt2  4275-2E49
      else
        search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 4275-2E49
      fi
      echo   'Caricamento Linux x86_64-4.4.26-gentoo...'
      linux   /kernel-genkernel-x86_64-4.4.26-gentoo root=UUID=09f4ecb0-be42-4153-980b-b61548f47597 ro 
      echo   'Caricamento ramdisk iniziale...'
      initrd   /initramfs-genkernel-x86_64-4.4.26-gentoo
   }
   menuentry 'Gentoo GNU/Linux, con Linux x86_64-4.4.26-gentoo (modalità ripristino)' --class gentoo --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os $menuentry_id_option 'gnulinux-x86_64-4.4.26-gentoo-recovery-09f4ecb0-be42-4153-980b-b61548f47597' {
      load_video
      if [ "x$grub_platform" = xefi ]; then
         set gfxpayload=keep
      fi
      insmod gzio
      insmod part_gpt
      insmod fat
      set root='hd1,gpt2'
      if [ x$feature_platform_search_hint = xy ]; then
        search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root --hint-bios=hd1,gpt2 --hint-efi=hd1,gpt2 --hint-baremetal=ahci1,gpt2  4275-2E49
      else
        search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 4275-2E49
      fi
      echo   'Caricamento Linux x86_64-4.4.26-gentoo...'
      linux   /kernel-genkernel-x86_64-4.4.26-gentoo root=UUID=09f4ecb0-be42-4153-980b-b61548f47597 ro single
      echo   'Caricamento ramdisk iniziale...'
      initrd   /initramfs-genkernel-x86_64-4.4.26-gentoo
   }
   menuentry 'Gentoo GNU/Linux, con Linux x86_64-4.4.21-gentoo' --class gentoo --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os $menuentry_id_option 'gnulinux-x86_64-4.4.21-gentoo-advanced-09f4ecb0-be42-4153-980b-b61548f47597' {
      load_video
      if [ "x$grub_platform" = xefi ]; then
         set gfxpayload=keep
      fi
      insmod gzio
      insmod part_gpt
      insmod fat
      set root='hd1,gpt2'
      if [ x$feature_platform_search_hint = xy ]; then
        search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root --hint-bios=hd1,gpt2 --hint-efi=hd1,gpt2 --hint-baremetal=ahci1,gpt2  4275-2E49
      else
        search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 4275-2E49
      fi
      echo   'Caricamento Linux x86_64-4.4.21-gentoo...'
      linux   /kernel-genkernel-x86_64-4.4.21-gentoo root=UUID=09f4ecb0-be42-4153-980b-b61548f47597 ro 
      echo   'Caricamento ramdisk iniziale...'
      initrd   /initramfs-genkernel-x86_64-4.4.21-gentoo
   }
   menuentry 'Gentoo GNU/Linux, con Linux x86_64-4.4.21-gentoo (modalità ripristino)' --class gentoo --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os $menuentry_id_option 'gnulinux-x86_64-4.4.21-gentoo-recovery-09f4ecb0-be42-4153-980b-b61548f47597' {
      load_video
      if [ "x$grub_platform" = xefi ]; then
         set gfxpayload=keep
      fi
      insmod gzio
      insmod part_gpt
      insmod fat
      set root='hd1,gpt2'
      if [ x$feature_platform_search_hint = xy ]; then
        search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root --hint-bios=hd1,gpt2 --hint-efi=hd1,gpt2 --hint-baremetal=ahci1,gpt2  4275-2E49
      else
        search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 4275-2E49
      fi
      echo   'Caricamento Linux x86_64-4.4.21-gentoo...'
      linux   /kernel-genkernel-x86_64-4.4.21-gentoo root=UUID=09f4ecb0-be42-4153-980b-b61548f47597 ro single
      echo   'Caricamento ramdisk iniziale...'
      initrd   /initramfs-genkernel-x86_64-4.4.21-gentoo
   }
}

### END /etc/grub.d/10_linux ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/20_linux_xen ###
### END /etc/grub.d/20_linux_xen ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/30_os-prober ###
### END /etc/grub.d/30_os-prober ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/40_custom ###
# This file provides an easy way to add custom menu entries.  Simply type the
# menu entries you want to add after this comment.  Be careful not to change
# the 'exec tail' line above.
### END /etc/grub.d/40_custom ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/41_custom ###
if [ -f  ${config_directory}/custom.cfg ]; then
  source ${config_directory}/custom.cfg
elif [ -z "${config_directory}" -a -f  $prefix/custom.cfg ]; then
  source $prefix/custom.cfg;
fi
### END /etc/grub.d/41_custom ###
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fedeliallalinea
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 08 Mar 2003
Posts: 21567
Location: here

PostPosted: Fri Apr 28, 2017 12:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Maxxx,
you should to post .config with wgetpaste, gentoo forum cuts too long message
_________________
Questions are guaranteed in life; Answers aren't.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Maxxx
Guru
Guru


Joined: 12 Jan 2016
Posts: 515
Location: Italia

PostPosted: Fri Apr 28, 2017 12:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, excuse me:

https://paste.pound-python.org/show/OrXO3PMyjIxJGG4VuFsa/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cboldt
l33t
l33t


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 829

PostPosted: Fri Apr 28, 2017 1:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I suspect FB_VESA

Your kernel: # CONFIG_FB_VESA is not set

My kernel: CONFIG_FB_VESA=y

Code:
│ Prompt: VESA VGA graphics support   
  │   Location:
  │     -> Device Drivers
  │       -> Graphics support   
  │ (1)     -> Frame buffer Devices


This also results in: CONFIG_FB_BOOT_VESA_SUPPORT=y
CONFIG_FB_BOOT_VESA_SUPPORT is not set directly. It is set on certain other settings. I think if you turn CONFIG_FB_VESA on, your system will display booting as it used to.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eccerr0r
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2004
Posts: 7073
Location: almost Mile High in the USA

PostPosted: Fri Apr 28, 2017 3:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

For EFI machines, CONFIG_FB_EFI and CONFIG_EARLY_PRINTK_EFI would be helpful.
_________________
Intel Core i7 2700K@ 4.1GHz/HD3000 graphics/8GB DDR3/180GB SSD
What am I supposed watching?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Maxxx
Guru
Guru


Joined: 12 Jan 2016
Posts: 515
Location: Italia

PostPosted: Fri Apr 28, 2017 4:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks to all, i'll try these options, but FB (frame buffers), should they not have been set with Nvidia drivers?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cboldt
l33t
l33t


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 829

PostPosted: Fri Apr 28, 2017 4:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Maybe so, but your FB_NVIDIA isn't set either. All those settings (VESA, EFI, Nvidia) are in the same section of kernel config, "Frame buffer Devices"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Maxxx
Guru
Guru


Joined: 12 Jan 2016
Posts: 515
Location: Italia

PostPosted: Fri Apr 28, 2017 4:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

FB_NVIDIA is not set because i installed Nvidia driver 378.13 version, which, i think, include the right FB.
In my old kernel .config (4.4.26) i had not set any FB (I think so, i'll check it out).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cboldt
l33t
l33t


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 829

PostPosted: Fri Apr 28, 2017 4:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I wouldn't set FB_NVIDIA myself. I used to have a system with nvidia on it (now I have amdgpu on one, and a couple laptops with Intel i915), and have always had FB_VESA set / built-in.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Maxxx
Guru
Guru


Joined: 12 Jan 2016
Posts: 515
Location: Italia

PostPosted: Fri Apr 28, 2017 4:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, i'll try set FB, but could be that resolve my boot and console problem?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cboldt
l33t
l33t


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 829

PostPosted: Fri Apr 28, 2017 5:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

There are reports of nvidia not playing well with the 4.10 kernels, most of them being complete inability to install.

Obviously something changed in your situation - and it may be that VESA FB of EFI FB (if either one works) is a kludge, a workaround, a dodge around the real problem. Meaning you never had a FB, but the consoles displayed anyway until you went to the 4.10 kernel. I've never had a FB setting changed on me during a kernel upgrade, but I copy my current kernel .config to the new kernel source directory and run `make oldconfig`
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Maxxx
Guru
Guru


Joined: 12 Jan 2016
Posts: 515
Location: Italia

PostPosted: Fri Apr 28, 2017 8:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, in my odl config i have FB_VESA and FB_EFI set... but when i run

Code:
genkernel --oldconfig all


maybe i don't copy well config file, and i must set again all kernel.

Now i try to set these parameters.

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Maxxx
Guru
Guru


Joined: 12 Jan 2016
Posts: 515
Location: Italia

PostPosted: Fri Apr 28, 2017 9:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Then, FB_VESA and FB_EFI don't resolve my problems, but i looked for some parameter and i found this:

Quote:
- Device Drivers
- Graphic Support
- Console display driver support
* Framebuffer Console Support


I set it and now it work fine at boot and i have console with "Ctrl+Alt+F1".
It depend from a framebuffer, as you said.

Thanks to all
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum