Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Upgrading hardware to Ryzen
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
RayDude
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 29 May 2004
Posts: 1488
Location: San Jose, CA

PostPosted: Thu May 11, 2017 6:08 pm    Post subject: Upgrading hardware to Ryzen Reply with quote

I've got a system with an old Pentium something or other (dual core 3.1GHz) and I'm upgrading the CPU, mobo and memory.

The kernel is 4.9 because 4.10 is not Nvidia friendly (I wonder if that's changed yet). I compiled the kernel as generic x86-64 and used a highly modular configuration (from a live CD or something). It's slow but has been running like a champ for several months.

I'm upgrading to a Ryzen 5 1600 this evening and I'm wondering if the kernel will even work on a Ryzen and if there's any gotchas you guys might be able to warn me about.

I'm thinking I want to update the BIOS right away. Hope I don't have to boot windows to do that. It's a gigabyte mATX mobo so I think I'll be okay.

Anyone have any tips, advice, or warnings about upgrading an existing Gentoo image to Ryzen?
_________________
Some day there will only be free software.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
roboto
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 15 Feb 2017
Posts: 156
Location: My IP address.

PostPosted: Thu May 11, 2017 7:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Kernel 4.10 works with Ryzen.

That's all I know.
_________________
Answers please.

The true hater of man expects nothing from him and is indiscriminate to his works.
-Ayn Rand
Quote:
Dude. Minus 30 credibility points.

Yep
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Naib
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 21 May 2004
Posts: 5596
Location: Removed by Neddy

PostPosted: Thu May 11, 2017 10:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

uname -a
Linux fluidmotion 4.11.0-gentoo #2 SMP PREEMPT Fri May 5 22:35:20 BST 2017 x86_64 AMD Ryzen 5 1600 Six-Core Processor AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux
_________________
The best argument against democracy is a five-minute conversation with the average voter
Great Britain is a republic, with a hereditary president, while the United States is a monarchy with an elective king
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tony0945
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 25 Jul 2006
Posts: 2952
Location: Illinois, USA

PostPosted: Thu May 11, 2017 10:24 pm    Post subject: Re: Upgrading hardware to Ryzen Reply with quote

RayDude wrote:
Anyone have any tips, advice, or warnings about upgrading an existing Gentoo image to Ryzen?


Move to gcc-6.3.0 before the hardware switch. That way you can start out with a compiler that can recognize Ryzen as native.

I'm planning this same move, but starting from Athlon II whose code is compatible with Ryzen.

It might be wise to rebuild everything as generic x86_64, but I doubt if it's necessary.

As soon as it boots, I'm planning to "emerge -e @world --with-bdeps=y --keep-going"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RayDude
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 29 May 2004
Posts: 1488
Location: San Jose, CA

PostPosted: Fri May 12, 2017 4:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well. I can't boot my SSD because my case / PSU / GPU are all fighting over the space needed by my SSD SATA power connector...

So I'm trying to boot from an SSD connected to a SATA to USB converter. But the kernel can't find the boot partition.

I'm pretty sure I have USB SSD installed in the kernel, but I need to boot some other OS to check my kernel and I can't find an Linux OS that will boot without acpi=off.

Does anyone know of a boot flash that will work on all cylinders with Ryzen?
_________________
Some day there will only be free software.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Naib
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 21 May 2004
Posts: 5596
Location: Removed by Neddy

PostPosted: Fri May 12, 2017 5:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you are booting from usb, you need to send the rootdelay kernel parameter

Say rootdelay=10
_________________
The best argument against democracy is a five-minute conversation with the average voter
Great Britain is a republic, with a hereditary president, while the United States is a monarchy with an elective king
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 42850
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Fri May 12, 2017 7:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

rootdelay=<secs> says wait <secs> then try to mount root.
rootwait will wait forever for the root filesystem to become available.

With root on USB, the USB stack must be available before root is mounted. That means, either built into the kernel or loaded from the initrd.
Normally, root is mounted before USB is initialised, that's what rootdelay/rootwait fix.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Naib
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 21 May 2004
Posts: 5596
Location: Removed by Neddy

PostPosted: Fri May 12, 2017 7:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

True, this was assuming everything needed to start init is available (built-in or via initrd
_________________
The best argument against democracy is a five-minute conversation with the average voter
Great Britain is a republic, with a hereditary president, while the United States is a monarchy with an elective king
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RayDude
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 29 May 2004
Posts: 1488
Location: San Jose, CA

PostPosted: Sat May 13, 2017 9:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon wrote:
rootdelay=<secs> says wait <secs> then try to mount root.
rootwait will wait forever for the root filesystem to become available.

With root on USB, the USB stack must be available before root is mounted. That means, either built into the kernel or loaded from the initrd.
Normally, root is mounted before USB is initialised, that's what rootdelay/rootwait fix.


Thanks Neddy!

I think that was likely the problem. I used an external power supply to connect the SSD to Sata and got the system to boot once I rebuilt the kernel using the sysrescue boot image's .config file. It's the easy way to get a working config. I'll pair it down once I have things stable.

I received the NvME today and got it working.

I'm running GCC-4.9-4, kernel 4.9.16 and everything seems stable with a 3.5 GHz core and my ram running 2933.

Nice to see you around. You've been helping me for over a decade now. Thanks much!

Brian

PS: I'm going to try to move to a later gcc, but I need to see about updating cuda to 9.0 first because I'm using cuda c for my project.
_________________
Some day there will only be free software.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RayDude
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 29 May 2004
Posts: 1488
Location: San Jose, CA

PostPosted: Sat May 13, 2017 9:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Naib wrote:
True, this was assuming everything needed to start init is available (built-in or via initrd


Thanks for your help. I really appreciate it.

I'm going to shoot for gcc-6.3 today... But I have to get cuda 9.0 working first since I need cuda C for my project.
_________________
Some day there will only be free software.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RayDude
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 29 May 2004
Posts: 1488
Location: San Jose, CA

PostPosted: Sat May 13, 2017 9:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Does anyone know if nvidia binaries work with 4.10 or 4.11 yet?
_________________
Some day there will only be free software.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RayDude
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 29 May 2004
Posts: 1488
Location: San Jose, CA

PostPosted: Sat May 13, 2017 9:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, cuda 9 is not yet released, so I can't touch anything if I want to continue to develop...
_________________
Some day there will only be free software.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 42850
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sat May 13, 2017 9:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

RayDude,

Move to gcc-5.4 and fix the damage - read the news item.
When that's done, move to gcc-6.3.

Your gcc-4.9 may not build gcc-6.3
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ct85711
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 27 Sep 2005
Posts: 1694

PostPosted: Sun May 14, 2017 12:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
Does anyone know if nvidia binaries work with 4.10 or 4.11 yet?


I can say that yes, nvidia-drivers does work on 4.10 for sure. I just compiled the newest version available in portage with no issues.

Quote:
Linux Oate 4.10.5-gentoo #2 SMP Thu Mar 23 19:57:59 CDT 2017 x86_64 AMD A10-7850K Radeon R7, 12 Compute Cores 4C+8G AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux

Code:
*  x11-drivers/nvidia-drivers
      Latest version available: 381.22
      Latest version installed: 381.09


One thing I will point out, that is that 381.x was compiled with gcc-5.4, and 381.22 was also recompiled with gcc-6.3.
I do recall that I did have to a patch on nvidia-drivers-378.13, but newer versions work without any extra patches.
I can't say on the legacy versions of nvidia-drivers, to know if they work or not.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Naib
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 21 May 2004
Posts: 5596
Location: Removed by Neddy

PostPosted: Sun May 14, 2017 12:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

381.09 needs an nvidia patch to work with 4.11
381.22 needs a kernel patch to work with 4.11 (sorted with 4.12)
_________________
The best argument against democracy is a five-minute conversation with the average voter
Great Britain is a republic, with a hereditary president, while the United States is a monarchy with an elective king
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tony0945
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 25 Jul 2006
Posts: 2952
Location: Illinois, USA

PostPosted: Sun May 14, 2017 12:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

R8168 does not compile on 4.11.0 with gcc-6.3.0 The definition of an interrupt structure is missing an element.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tony0945
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 25 Jul 2006
Posts: 2952
Location: Illinois, USA

PostPosted: Tue May 16, 2017 3:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Tony0945 wrote:
R8168 does not compile on 4.11.0 with gcc-6.3.0 The definition of an interrupt structure is missing an element.

Solved with 4.11.1
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RayDude
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 29 May 2004
Posts: 1488
Location: San Jose, CA

PostPosted: Sun May 21, 2017 6:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon wrote:
RayDude,

Move to gcc-5.4 and fix the damage - read the news item.
When that's done, move to gcc-6.3.

Your gcc-4.9 may not build gcc-6.3


I can't move beyond gcc-4.9 until cuda supports gcc-6.3 which is soon, hopefully.

Thanks much.
_________________
Some day there will only be free software.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Naib
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 21 May 2004
Posts: 5596
Location: Removed by Neddy

PostPosted: Sun May 21, 2017 7:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

can you goto 5.x?
_________________
The best argument against democracy is a five-minute conversation with the average voter
Great Britain is a republic, with a hereditary president, while the United States is a monarchy with an elective king
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RayDude
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 29 May 2004
Posts: 1488
Location: San Jose, CA

PostPosted: Wed May 24, 2017 10:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Naib wrote:
can you goto 5.x?


No. CudaC only supports up to 4.9. They are a bit behind the times. They'll catch up soon though...

I tried 5.4 and my code segfaults in the nvidia libraries.
_________________
Some day there will only be free software.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Naib
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 21 May 2004
Posts: 5596
Location: Removed by Neddy

PostPosted: Wed May 24, 2017 10:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

CUDA 8 release, gcc 5.3 is fully supported
_________________
The best argument against democracy is a five-minute conversation with the average voter
Great Britain is a republic, with a hereditary president, while the United States is a monarchy with an elective king
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RayDude
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 29 May 2004
Posts: 1488
Location: San Jose, CA

PostPosted: Sat May 27, 2017 5:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Naib wrote:
CUDA 8 release, gcc 5.3 is fully supported


Didn't know that. I have gcc-5.4 and that's what I tried. If 9.0 doesn't come out soon, I'll install 5.3 and try it.

Thanks much.

Edit: there is no ebuild for gcc 5.3.
_________________
Some day there will only be free software.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ct85711
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 27 Sep 2005
Posts: 1694

PostPosted: Sat May 27, 2017 7:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You can retrieve the gcc-5.3 ebuild and the associated patches from the git history for portage's tree...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
likewhoa
l33t
l33t


Joined: 04 Oct 2006
Posts: 777
Location: Brooklyn, New York

PostPosted: Sun May 28, 2017 6:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

roboto wrote:
Kernel 4.10 works with Ryzen.

That's all I know.


Running 4.9.x just fine
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum