Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
AMD64pure, brother 81100DN, System don't exe foreign code
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Yczo
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 09 Jul 2011
Posts: 197

PostPosted: Tue Aug 01, 2017 5:30 pm    Post subject: AMD64pure, brother 81100DN, System don't exe foreign code Reply with quote

Hello world, (pardon me for my poor English)

I have a Brother-DCP 81100DN, that usually used with multilib in gentoo. This time tried to use AMD64 pure, but I found no way to right configure, except for the test page. Naturally Cups detect the printer.
According to an arch guide, running brcupsconfig4 into /opt/brother/Printers/DCP8110DN/cupswrapper folder, configure the printer... but is not possible, that is the output

Code:

# ls -l

total 40

-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 19618 Jan 11  2012 brcupsconfig4

-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 12150 Jan 11  2012 brother-DCP-8110DN-cups-en.ppd

-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root  5108 Jan 11  2012 brother_lpdwrapper_DCP8110DN

# chmod +x brcupsconfig4

# ./brcupsconfig4

[b]bash: ./brcupsconfig4: No such file or directory[/b]
#

Summary:

* Printer detectet from cups

* Testpage, sometimes print

*Programs like Kate or Libreoffice when seen the printer, don't print

*Config programs, foreign code don't run





I suppose that forget some compatibility option with foreign code in kernel , should the 32 bit code posibility discard? because

Code:

# cat .config |grep IA32

CONFIG_IA32_EMULATION=y

.CONFIG_IA32_AOUT=y
 



Here is the complete .config [url] https://pastebin.com/ExAECpmf [\url]

and my make.conf [url] https://pastebin.com/u12jHM1w [/url]

Please, any help will be grateful



Thanks in advance
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hu
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 06 Mar 2007
Posts: 13836

PostPosted: Wed Aug 02, 2017 1:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

What is the output of file brcupsconfig4?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
charles17
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 02 Mar 2008
Posts: 2613

PostPosted: Wed Aug 02, 2017 6:09 am    Post subject: Re: AMD64pure, brother 81100DN, System don't exe foreign cod Reply with quote

Yczo wrote:
... I have a Brother-DCP 81100DN, that usually used

According to http://support.brother.com/g/b/downloadlist.aspx?c=us&lang=en&prod=dcp8110dn_us&os=127 it should be working with the "Generic ..." stuff aka net-print/brother-genml1-bin.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Yczo
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 09 Jul 2011
Posts: 197

PostPosted: Wed Aug 02, 2017 5:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

First time, thank you very much for your help

The overlay is sadly off or, i have it not good configured; I followed the steps from your link https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Brother_networked_printer#Preferred:_Using_drivers_from_custom_ebuild_repositories

The output from
Code:

#/opt/brother/Printers/DCP8110DN/inf/braddprinter

bash: /opt/brother/Printers/DCP8110DN/inf/braddprinter: No such file or directory


is
Code:

cat /opt/brother/Printers/DCP8110DN/inf/braddprinter
-- deleted by moderator --


Naturaly, is a binary

The question is... why don't run? It had make before in multilib

Greetings and thankyou

[Moderator note: Removed the unprintable binary contents of the offending file. I asked for file, not cat. I fully expected it to be an unprintable binary. -Hu]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
duby2291
Guru
Guru


Joined: 17 Oct 2004
Posts: 583

PostPosted: Wed Aug 02, 2017 6:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

There are 2 possible things as far as I can tell...

1: Did you try to mkdir that folder? It's unlikely that Brother has specifically tested that script on Gentoo, it's probably broken. So you may have to work around it's brokenness, if that's truly the case.

2: If the binary is 32bits, that means at minimum it has dependence on a 32bit libc and probably other libs too. So, I don't see how you could run it on a 64bit only system anyway. Even if you built a kernel with support for 32bit binaries, you still need the required 32bit libraries. At least that's what I think, I may be entirely wrong.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
charles17
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 02 Mar 2008
Posts: 2613

PostPosted: Wed Aug 02, 2017 7:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yczo wrote:
The output from
Code:

#/opt/brother/Printers/DCP8110DN/inf/braddprinter

bash: /opt/brother/Printers/DCP8110DN/inf/braddprinter: No such file or directory

Why at all are you trying to run braddprinter???

If you had emerged net-print/brother-genml1-bin as described in the wiki article, you should have like:
tree /opt/brother:
brother/
└── Printers
    └── BrGenML1
        ├── cupswrapper
        │   ├── brother-BrGenML1-cups-en.ppd
        │   ├── brother_lpdwrapper_BrGenML1
        │   └── paperconfigml1
        ├── inf
        │   ├── brBrGenML1func
        │   ├── brBrGenML1rc
        │   ├── braddprinter
        │   └── setupPrintcap
        └── lpd
            ├── brprintconflsr3
            ├── filter_BrGenML1
            └── rawtobr3

In case you were having trouble with the ebuild repository, please show your output of portageq repos_config /
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Yczo
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 09 Jul 2011
Posts: 197

PostPosted: Thu Aug 03, 2017 11:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you very much for the answers...

I have that inside the ebuild " brother-overlay/net-print/brother-genml1-bin/brother-genml1-bin-3.1.0-r1.ebuild" find

Code:

die "This package CANNOT be installed on pure 64-bit system. You need multilib enabled."


That means, that is no way to configure may printer in a no multilib system???

I remember the old IA32-libs ebuild....

Greetings
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
charles17
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 02 Mar 2008
Posts: 2613

PostPosted: Thu Aug 03, 2017 11:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yczo wrote:
I have that inside the ebuild " brother-overlay/net-print/brother-genml1-bin/brother-genml1-bin-3.1.0-r1.ebuild" find

Code:

die "This package CANNOT be installed on pure 64-bit system. You need multilib enabled."

What's your experience? Did the emerge "die" with that message? AFAIR the ebuild has a check for the system requirements. Just try ...

Kernel option CONFIG_IA32_EMULATION may be needed to play with the ELF 32-bit LSB executables, I guess.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
duby2291
Guru
Guru


Joined: 17 Oct 2004
Posts: 583

PostPosted: Thu Aug 03, 2017 4:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Like I said, even if you enable 32bit support in the kernel, I still don't think it'll work. Stuff just like what you are trying to do right now is the -entire- point for multilib. It's -the- reason multilib exists. I'm at least 90% certain you will have to build a multilib system.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hu
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 06 Mar 2007
Posts: 13836

PostPosted: Fri Aug 04, 2017 2:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yczo wrote:
Code:
die "This package CANNOT be installed on pure 64-bit system. You need multilib enabled."
That is how I would interpret that message, yes. If you want to use this on a no-multilib system, you need to compile the package in 64-bit mode. As I understand this thread, the vendor did not release the source, so you cannot compile the package at all. Perhaps if you ask nicely the vendor will provide a working 64-bit build. They've had at least ~8 years of widespread 64-bit use to get ready, so it should be done by now.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Yczo
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 09 Jul 2011
Posts: 197

PostPosted: Fri Aug 04, 2017 12:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I am very grateful for all the answers, und with the sorrow and the need of a new multilib instalation make.

Then Richard Stallman was right. All programs should be frei software or opensource.

Greetings
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
charles17
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 02 Mar 2008
Posts: 2613

PostPosted: Fri Aug 04, 2017 2:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It's only these three files ...
Code:
/opt/brother/Printers/BrGenML1/lpd/rawtobr3: ELF 32-bit LSB executable, Intel 80386, version 1 (SYSV)
/opt/brother/Printers/BrGenML1/lpd/brprintconflsr3: ELF 32-bit LSB executable, Intel 80386, version 1 (SYSV)
/opt/brother/Printers/BrGenML1/inf/braddprinter: ELF 32-bit LSB executable, Intel 80386, version 1 (SYSV)

Everything else is plain text files. Any chance for reengineering?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
duby2291
Guru
Guru


Joined: 17 Oct 2004
Posts: 583

PostPosted: Fri Aug 04, 2017 2:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I really don't see the problem with multilib. If you play almost any commercial video game you'll need it. If you run almost any windows program you'll need it. If you run almost any proprietary userspace driver you'll need it. And the way that portage handles multilib dependencies now days is fantastic. In my eyes anyway multilib truly isn't a problem.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum