Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[solved] Sound not working (as usual)
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Lokesh
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 01 Apr 2012
Posts: 131

PostPosted: Thu Aug 03, 2017 8:01 am    Post subject: [solved] Sound not working (as usual) Reply with quote

I am giving up. Searching two days for finding a solution, spending hours for nothing. It is always the same after a fresh install, and in between kernels have changed so that nothing can be just repeated. So again and again, sound is not working. Sorry for this tirade, I am so frustrated that in Gentoo I have never been able to get a working sound without help.

Back to the issue. I am using plasma as DE. The system settings of plasma does not show any device under audio.

I am having a complete output of alsa-conf.sh here. Shorter information:
Code:
lspci | grep -i audio
00:03.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation Xeon E3-1200 v3/4th Gen Core Processor HD Audio Controller (rev 06)
00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation 8 Series/C220 Series Chipset High Definition Audio Controller (rev 05)

The kernel setting:
Code:
lsmod |grep snd
snd_hda_codec_realtek    57795  1
snd_hda_codec_hdmi     33569  1
snd_hda_codec_generic    54501  1 snd_hda_codec_realtek
snd_hda_intel          22003  4
snd_hda_codec          87953  4 snd_hda_intel,snd_hda_codec_hdmi,snd_hda_codec_generic,snd_hda_codec_realtek
snd_hwdep               5930  1 snd_hda_codec
snd_hda_core           47952  5 snd_hda_intel,snd_hda_codec,snd_hda_codec_hdmi,snd_hda_codec_generic,snd_hda_codec_realtek

And this is the way they were set (predominantly modular, since last time this was one of the trouble causes):
Code:
zgrep -i snd_hda /boot/config-4.9.34-gentoo
CONFIG_SND_HDA=m
CONFIG_SND_HDA_INTEL=m
CONFIG_SND_HDA_HWDEP=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_RECONFIG=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_INPUT_BEEP=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_INPUT_BEEP_MODE=1
CONFIG_SND_HDA_PATCH_LOADER=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_REALTEK=m
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_ANALOG=m
# CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_SIGMATEL is not set
# CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_VIA is not set
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_HDMI=m
# CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_CIRRUS is not set
# CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_CONEXANT is not set
# CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_CA0110 is not set
# CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_CA0132 is not set
# CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_CMEDIA is not set
# CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_SI3054 is not set
CONFIG_SND_HDA_GENERIC=m
CONFIG_SND_HDA_POWER_SAVE_DEFAULT=0
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CORE=m
CONFIG_SND_HDA_I915=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_PREALLOC_SIZE=2048
And, finally:
Code:
aplay -L
null
    Discard all samples (playback) or generate zero samples (capture)
hdmi:CARD=HDMI,DEV=0
    HDA Intel HDMI, HDMI 0
    HDMI Audio Output
default:CARD=PCH
    HDA Intel PCH, ALC887-VD Analog
    Default Audio Device
sysdefault:CARD=PCH
    HDA Intel PCH, ALC887-VD Analog
    Default Audio Device
front:CARD=PCH,DEV=0
    HDA Intel PCH, ALC887-VD Analog
    Front speakers
surround21:CARD=PCH,DEV=0
    HDA Intel PCH, ALC887-VD Analog
    2.1 Surround output to Front and Subwoofer speakers
surround40:CARD=PCH,DEV=0
    HDA Intel PCH, ALC887-VD Analog
    4.0 Surround output to Front and Rear speakers
surround41:CARD=PCH,DEV=0
    HDA Intel PCH, ALC887-VD Analog
    4.1 Surround output to Front, Rear and Subwoofer speakers
surround50:CARD=PCH,DEV=0
    HDA Intel PCH, ALC887-VD Analog
    5.0 Surround output to Front, Center and Rear speakers
surround51:CARD=PCH,DEV=0
    HDA Intel PCH, ALC887-VD Analog
    5.1 Surround output to Front, Center, Rear and Subwoofer speakers
surround71:CARD=PCH,DEV=0
    HDA Intel PCH, ALC887-VD Analog
    7.1 Surround output to Front, Center, Side, Rear and Woofer speakers
iec958:CARD=PCH,DEV=0
    HDA Intel PCH, ALC887-VD Digital
    IEC958 (S/PDIF) Digital Audio Output
Please, do not make any reference to the wiki. I already failed at the first step
https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/ALSA wrote:
lspci | grep -i audio

With the controller name determined, the needed driver can be found in the ALSA SoundCard Matrix
I am not able to use the output of my lspci (which one of the 2 lines?) to identify a driver there.
_________________
Sometimes frustrated Linux User


Last edited by Lokesh on Thu Aug 03, 2017 5:54 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tberger2
n00b
n00b


Joined: 05 Feb 2013
Posts: 69

PostPosted: Thu Aug 03, 2017 9:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

What does
Code:
cat /proc/asound/card0/codec#* | grep Codec
say?
What does
Code:
id
say?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Lokesh
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 01 Apr 2012
Posts: 131

PostPosted: Thu Aug 03, 2017 10:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
cat /proc/asound/card0/codec#* | grep Codec
Codec: Intel Haswell HDMI


And
Code:
id
uid=1000(lokesh) gid=1000(lokesh) groups=1000(lokesh),10(wheel),18(audio),100(users)


I also compared several outputs of my other Linux Distro on the same computer. The main to me remarkable difference was
Code:
dmesg |grep audio
[    2.686968] snd_hda_codec_realtek hdaudioC1D0: autoconfig for ALC887-VD: line_outs=1 (0x14/0x0/0x0/0x0/0x0) type:line
[    2.686975] snd_hda_codec_realtek hdaudioC1D0:    speaker_outs=0 (0x0/0x0/0x0/0x0/0x0)
[    2.686978] snd_hda_codec_realtek hdaudioC1D0:    hp_outs=1 (0x1b/0x0/0x0/0x0/0x0)
[    2.686981] snd_hda_codec_realtek hdaudioC1D0:    mono: mono_out=0x0
[    2.686983] snd_hda_codec_realtek hdaudioC1D0:    dig-out=0x11/0x1e
[    2.686985] snd_hda_codec_realtek hdaudioC1D0:    inputs:
[    2.686987] snd_hda_codec_realtek hdaudioC1D0:      Front Mic=0x19
[    2.686989] snd_hda_codec_realtek hdaudioC1D0:      Rear Mic=0x18
[    2.686991] snd_hda_codec_realtek hdaudioC1D0:      Line=0x1a
[    2.771309] snd_hda_intel 0000:00:03.0: bound 0000:00:02.0 (ops i915_audio_component_bind_ops [i915])
The last line is missing in this gentoo installation.

The outputs of:
lspci -knnvvv
lspci -k
find /sys -name driver* -exec readlink '{}' \; |grep pci
grep -i 'SND_HDA_CODEC' from both kernel config files (CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_REALTEK=m; CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_ANALOG=m)
showed not differences
_________________
Sometimes frustrated Linux User
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
luiztux
n00b
n00b


Joined: 31 Aug 2015
Posts: 27
Location: /usr/portage/distfiles

PostPosted: Thu Aug 03, 2017 11:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I had a similar problem with this same kernel in a new installation as well. In my case, these messages appeared in dmesg:

Code:
hdaudio hdaudioC1D0: Unable to bind the codec



I was able to solve with:

Code:

cd /usr/src/linux
make clean
make && make modules_install && make install


Thanks Neddy for that. :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Lokesh
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 01 Apr 2012
Posts: 131

PostPosted: Thu Aug 03, 2017 1:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I tried make clean and recompile and install the kernel, without avail. Anyway, I did not have an error message in the dmesg.

As I see to it, something is not happening. But what?
_________________
Sometimes frustrated Linux User
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sebB
l33t
l33t


Joined: 02 Mar 2011
Posts: 732
Location: S.O. France

PostPosted: Thu Aug 03, 2017 1:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Maybe you can start on a live cd and run lsmod.

You'll see the module need for your card.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Lokesh
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 01 Apr 2012
Posts: 131

PostPosted: Thu Aug 03, 2017 2:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

sebB wrote:
Maybe you can start on a live cd and run lsmod.

You'll see the module need for your card.

As mentioned above, there is no difference. I am having a dual boot with Debian, sound works there. The only difference I noticed is a missing line on the Gentoo installation
Code:
dmesg |grep audio
.
[    2.771309] snd_hda_intel 0000:00:03.0: bound 0000:00:02.0 (ops i915_audio_component_bind_ops [i915])
.
This line pops up in Debian but not in Gentoo.
_________________
Sometimes frustrated Linux User


Last edited by Lokesh on Thu Aug 03, 2017 2:24 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
xaviermiller
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 23 Jul 2004
Posts: 7972
Location: ~Brussels - Belgique

PostPosted: Thu Aug 03, 2017 2:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Did you unmuted and set the output volumes with alsamixer ?

The default output is "null", is that desired?
_________________
Kind regards,
Xavier Miller
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Fitzcarraldo
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 30 Aug 2008
Posts: 1655
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Thu Aug 03, 2017 2:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This guy in the Arch Linux Forums has the same two sound cards as you: [SOLVED] Audio problems with alsa!. Have you tried the solutions in posts #14 (ALSA only) or #15 (have, or will have, PulseAudio installed)? Also see the comments in post #16. Worth a shot. In the case of #14, in Gentoo I suppose you would edit alsa.conf.
_________________
Clevo W230SS: amd64 OpenRC elogind nvidia-drivers & xf86-video-intel.
Compal NBLB2: ~amd64 OpenRC elogind xf86-video-ati. Dual boot Win 7 Pro 64-bit.
KDE on both.

Fitzcarraldo's blog


Last edited by Fitzcarraldo on Thu Aug 03, 2017 2:37 pm; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Lokesh
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 01 Apr 2012
Posts: 131

PostPosted: Thu Aug 03, 2017 2:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

xaviermiller wrote:
Did you unmuted and set the output volumes with alsamixer ?
Sure, went through that part so many times ....

xaviermiller wrote:
The default output is "null", is that desired?
No, not at all. How can you see that, did you hack into my computer?
_________________
Sometimes frustrated Linux User
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
xaviermiller
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 23 Jul 2004
Posts: 7972
Location: ~Brussels - Belgique

PostPosted: Thu Aug 03, 2017 2:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yeah, I typed "aplay -L" and "null" is the first output

EDIT: you can try to build only needed modules, and disable those you don't want (eg null or HDMI audio)
_________________
Kind regards,
Xavier Miller
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Lokesh
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 01 Apr 2012
Posts: 131

PostPosted: Thu Aug 03, 2017 5:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Fitzcarraldo wrote:
This guy in the Arch Linux Forums has the same two sound cards as you: [SOLVED] Audio problems with alsa!. Have you tried the solutions in posts #14 (ALSA only) or #15 (have, or will have, PulseAudio installed)? Also see the comments in post #16. Worth a shot. In the case of #14, in Gentoo I suppose you would edit alsa.conf.

Hello again Fitzcarraldo,
thank you for the link. I followed the two solutions, both of which worked. I did not investigate all of your links, one reason being that I do not need and want Pulse Audio.
Code:
/etc/modprobe.d/alsa-base.conf :
options snd-hda-intel index=0 model=auto vid=8086 pid=8c20
options snd-hda-intel index=1 model=auto vid=8086 pid=0c0c
or alternatively
Code:
/etc/asound.conf
defaults.pcm.!card PCH
defaults.ctl.!card PCH


Seems a matter of which card is read first? And this HDMI stuff in my outputs do not work, at least not with and how my system is wired.

Thanks again!
Lokesh
_________________
Sometimes frustrated Linux User
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Lokesh
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 01 Apr 2012
Posts: 131

PostPosted: Thu Aug 03, 2017 6:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

xaviermiller wrote:
EDIT: you can try to build only needed modules, and disable those you don't want (eg null or HDMI audio)
Can you give a hint or a link for a howto?

I also do not understand the impact of the "null", apparently it is not a show stopper for sound sinceit workes and is not muted.

Cheeers
Lokesh
_________________
Sometimes frustrated Linux User
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum