Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[SOLVED] Green screen crash during boot
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
MisterMagister
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Aug 2011
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Fri Aug 04, 2017 2:58 pm    Post subject: [SOLVED] Green screen crash during boot Reply with quote

Hello, all. Got an installation problem I need a little help with.

I haven't used Gentoo in a few years and wanted to play around with it again, so I made a small partition to try it out in. My main system is dual boot Windows 10 and Mint 18.2.

I think I only did 2 things differently that the dozens of times I installed Gentoo before - linux-firmware was not in the handbook the last time I installed so I installed it as an option, and I did not install grub2 and let Mint handle the bootloader. Mint seems to recognize the Gentoo install and add it to the menu properly. Nothing out of line that I can see. I should probably add that this is all totally new hardware since I installed Gentoo last. Corei7 5820k and Asus X99-A board.

But when I reboot from the install media, the screen turns green and I get the attached error. Never seen this one before, and I don't know anything about IPMI. I'm lost. Any help appreciated.

https://ibb.co/h7oQBa

I'm lost. Any help appreciated.


Last edited by MisterMagister on Sat Aug 05, 2017 12:52 am; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eccerr0r
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2004
Posts: 7132
Location: almost Mile High in the USA

PostPosted: Fri Aug 04, 2017 4:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Most non-server class machines do not have IPMI hardware and thus will "fail" the check.

You may have IME chipset hardware, that's a bit different.

The green screen usually indicates some video driver crash... You may want to change the topic to something asking about the green screen and the hang - but missing IPMI hardware should not cause this hang...
_________________
Intel Core i7 2700K@ 4.1GHz/HD3000 graphics/8GB DDR3/180GB SSD
What am I supposed watching?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MisterMagister
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Aug 2011
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Fri Aug 04, 2017 5:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, thanks. I changed the subject. So if it's a video issue, I suppose I need to provide a little info....

Nvidia GeForce GTX 760/PCIe/SSE2

Code:
# These settings were set by the catalyst build script that automatically
# built this stage.
# Please consult /usr/share/portage/config/make.conf.example for a more
# detailed example.
CFLAGS="-march=haswell -O2 -pipe"
CXXFLAGS="${CFLAGS}"
# WARNING: Changing your CHOST is not something that should be done lightly.
# Please consult http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/change-chost.xml before changing.
CHOST="x86_64-pc-linux-gnu"
# These are the USE and USE_EXPAND flags that were used for
# buidling in addition to what is provided by the profile.
USE=""
CPU_FLAGS_X86="mmx sse sse2 mmxext"
PORTDIR="/usr/portage"
DISTDIR="${PORTDIR}/distfiles"
PKGDIR="${PORTDIR}/packages"
MAKEOPTS="-j7"
EMERGE_DEFAULT_OPTS="--jobs=7 --load-average 7"
VIDEO_CARDS="nvidia"


Everything is installed straight out of the amd64 handbook, no extras.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43192
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Fri Aug 04, 2017 6:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

MisterMagister,

That's a well known issue with your kernel.

You have the warning sign
Code:
VIDEO_CARDS="nvidia"


You have configured two (or more) drivers for your video hardware and they are fighting over it.
Its harmless to the hardware but neither driver can win, so the video cannot work properly.

Please post the output of
Code:
lspci -nn
and put your kernel .config onto a pastebin site, its too big for a post.

Are you using UEFI or Legacy/BIOS boot mode?
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MisterMagister
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Aug 2011
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Fri Aug 04, 2017 7:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

So I was able to temporarily work around the problem by adding the line

setgfxpayload=1024x768

to the grub menu entry and then boot the system up without any issues. Booting in VGA seems to be the immediate problem. This is not a real fix, though, and I still need to get to the bottom of it and figure out what is causing it. I will post the requested outputs in a bit.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MisterMagister
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Aug 2011
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Fri Aug 04, 2017 7:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I will mark this solved at some point, but not yet. I want to get to the real problem first.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43192
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Fri Aug 04, 2017 8:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

MisterMagister,

Post the information I requested so we can work on a real fix.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MisterMagister
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Aug 2011
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Fri Aug 04, 2017 8:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I will just as soon as I get a working web browser on the system. I'm working from an iPad right now. Chromium is a slow grind...... 8)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43192
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Fri Aug 04, 2017 8:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

MisterMagister,

You need wgetpaste.

It puts command output or files onto a pastebin and returns a URL.
Code:
$ wgetpaste -c 'emerge --info'
Your paste can be seen here: https://paste.pound-python.org/show/CAPmAsvppTCLS69oVwOv/

_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MisterMagister
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Aug 2011
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Fri Aug 04, 2017 11:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Neat trick, did not know that. Thanks.

lspci -nn output:
https://paste.pound-python.org/show/mFaxXCujrMSueq5XwZoD/

kernel .config:
https://paste.pound-python.org/show/BMUE4QcpjU07ySYT4NzO/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43192
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sat Aug 05, 2017 12:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

MisterMagister,

All the hardware framebuffer drivers must be configured to be off, except,

With BIOS booting, CONFIG_FB_VESA=y is OK.
With UEFI booting, CONFIG_FB_EFI=y is OK.
CONFIG_FB_SIMPLE is harmless but the kernel will not set it up, it just draws in it.

Hardware for all the other options went away with the 16 bit ISA slots.

CONFIG_DRM_NOUVEAU=m is for your hardware but it won't be used until the module is loaded.
You will also need linux-firmware installed.
Better is to build it and the firmware it needs into the kernel, so that it starts sooner ... but make it work first, build it in later.

Do not use $EDITOR on the .config file. Some *config options flip lots of symbols in the .config file.
Go into menuconfig, press /, enter FB_VESA, to go to the right place in the kernel.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MisterMagister
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Aug 2011
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Sat Aug 05, 2017 12:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I just used "genkernel all" like I always have. So I need to start running menuconfig when using genkernel? If so, that seems to defeat the purpose of having genkernel....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43192
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sat Aug 05, 2017 12:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

MisterMagister,

Genkernel is not terribly clever. It loads a preset config file.
Try a more recent, testing genkernel, or genkernel-next. That has stable and testing versions too.

Code:
$ eix genkernel
* sys-kernel/genkernel
     Available versions:  3.4.49.2 3.4.52.3 (~)3.4.52.4-r1 3.4.52.4-r2 (~)3.5.0.8 [M](~)3.5.1.0 (~)3.5.1.1 **9999 {crypt cryptsetup +firmware ibm selinux}
     Homepage:            https://www.gentoo.org
     Description:         Gentoo automatic kernel building scripts

* sys-kernel/genkernel-next
     Available versions:  64 65 (~)66 {cryptsetup dmraid gpg iscsi mdadm plymouth selinux}
     Homepage:            http://www.gentoo.org
     Description:         Gentoo automatic kernel building scripts, reloaded

Found 2 matches

_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MisterMagister
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Aug 2011
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Sat Aug 05, 2017 12:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Will do. Thanks for the help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum