Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Help with AMD Azalia Controller (sound card)
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
geek_person
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Aug 2017
Posts: 2
Location: Valencia

PostPosted: Thu Aug 17, 2017 4:36 pm    Post subject: Help with AMD Azalia Controller (sound card) Reply with quote

Hello to eveyone, i'm building my second machine in gentoo, but i cannot get my soundcard working, in my laptop was easy (pure intel hardware)

This is the output of my lspci

Quote:
00:00.0 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] Family 16h Processor Root Complex
00:01.0 VGA compatible controller: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] Kabini [Radeon HD 8400 / R3 Series]
00:01.1 Audio device: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] Kabini HDMI/DP Audio
00:02.0 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] Family 16h Processor Function 0
00:02.5 PCI bridge: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] Family 16h Processor Functions 5:1
00:10.0 USB controller: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] FCH USB XHCI Controller (rev 01)
00:11.0 SATA controller: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] FCH SATA Controller [AHCI mode] (rev 40)
00:12.0 USB controller: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] FCH USB OHCI Controller (rev 39)
00:12.2 USB controller: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] FCH USB EHCI Controller (rev 39)
00:13.0 USB controller: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] FCH USB OHCI Controller (rev 39)
00:13.2 USB controller: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] FCH USB EHCI Controller (rev 39)
00:14.0 SMBus: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] FCH SMBus Controller (rev 3a)
00:14.2 Audio device: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] FCH Azalia Controller (rev 02)
00:14.3 ISA bridge: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] FCH LPC Bridge (rev 11)
00:18.0 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] Family 16h Processor Function 0
00:18.1 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] Family 16h Processor Function 1
00:18.2 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] Family 16h Processor Function 2
00:18.3 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] Family 16h Processor Function 3
00:18.4 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] Family 16h Processor Function 4
00:18.5 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] Family 16h Processor Function 5
01:00.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL8111/8168/8411 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet Controller (rev 11)


It's working everything but the sound.
Do you know what kernel module i need to activate in order to my hardware get recognized?

Best regards
_________________
It's science bitch
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
roarinelk
Guru
Guru


Joined: 04 Mar 2004
Posts: 501

PostPosted: Thu Aug 17, 2017 5:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

you need CONFIG_SND_HDA_INTEL plus all CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_* entries.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NTU
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 17 Jul 2015
Posts: 164

PostPosted: Sat Aug 19, 2017 3:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

roarinelk wrote:
you need CONFIG_SND_HDA_INTEL plus all CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_* entries.


All? No, Azalia is the fancy word for Realtek. You just need the Realtek one. Cheers mate!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
geek_person
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Aug 2017
Posts: 2
Location: Valencia

PostPosted: Sat Aug 19, 2017 6:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NTU wrote:
roarinelk wrote:
you need CONFIG_SND_HDA_INTEL plus all CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_* entries.


All? No, Azalia is the fancy word for Realtek. You just need the Realtek one. Cheers mate!


At end i finnaly copied the .config of my laptop (intel sound card) changed some settings for the cpu arch and magic, it works, so the snd_hda_intel has worked for me
_________________
It's science bitch
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NTU
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 17 Jul 2015
Posts: 164

PostPosted: Thu Aug 24, 2017 12:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The generic intel HD audio driver generally works without any codecs enabled, even if it's not an Intel audio chip, as long as you're not using a Creative Sound Blaster Z like me.

Thread can be marked as solved now.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PrSo
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 01 Jun 2017
Posts: 128

PostPosted: Fri Aug 25, 2017 8:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi geek_person,
if it is FCH Azalia Controller (rev 02),
as roarinelk sad it is HD Intel Sound and,
IMHO you need to enable in menuconfig: Device Drivers -> Sound card support -> Advanced Linux Sound Architecture -> PCI sound sevices -> HD-Audio:
-> Build Coexant HD-audio codec support,
-> HD Audio PCI,
-> Build hwdep interface for HD-audio driver,
-> support initialization patch loading for HD-audio,
-> Build HDMI/DisplayPort HD-audio codec support(if you have hdmi output);
My comment is that enabling coexant codec for that version of Azalia controler should be enough.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum