Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Blocked with the "Updating the @world set"
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
satyria
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Oct 2006
Posts: 10
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sat Aug 19, 2017 5:05 pm    Post subject: Blocked with the "Updating the @world set" Reply with quote

Hello,

I installed Gentoo after the Handbook. I get however at "Updating the @world set" the error that I had blocked packages.
I use as profile "default / linux / amd64 / 13.0 / desktop / plasma *"
Code:
[blocks B      ] sys-apps/gentoo-systemd-integration ("sys-apps/gentoo-systemd-integration" is blocking sys-fs/eudev-3.1.5)
[blocks B      ] sys-fs/eudev ("sys-fs/eudev" is blocking sys-apps/systemd-233-r4, sys-apps/gentoo-systemd-integration-6)
[blocks B      ] sys-apps/systemd ("sys-apps/systemd" is blocking sys-fs/eudev-3.1.5)

 * Error: The above package list contains packages which cannot be
 * installed at the same time on the same system.


What is my fault?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eccerr0r
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2004
Posts: 7127
Location: almost Mile High in the USA

PostPosted: Sat Aug 19, 2017 5:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Posting the complete output of emerge could help us figure out what's going on.

Having eudev and systemd installed at the same time is not possible - they are mutually exclusive. Two items in your world file is choosing both of them. You need to remove one of them.

Unfortunately things change and have new dependencies as time goes on.

An example (that you don't have, but I'm not very familiar with KDE) is having eudev and gnome in the world file. A deep dependency of gnome is systemd, and thus cannot be installed at the same time without using hacks (or a modified version of gnome.)

You can get some hints if you emerge with the --tree and --verbose options to see more details of what's wanting what.
_________________
Intel Core i7 2700K@ 4.1GHz/HD3000 graphics/8GB DDR3/180GB SSD
What am I supposed watching?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
satyria
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Oct 2006
Posts: 10
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Mon Aug 21, 2017 10:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

?

I installed Gnome after the Handbook and would like to install KDE later. Since I have used stage3-amd64-xyz.tar.bz2, I assumed that it should work. Or which stage should I use better?


Best regards, Satyria
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fedeliallalinea
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 08 Mar 2003
Posts: 21754
Location: here

PostPosted: Mon Aug 21, 2017 10:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you have systemd as service manager and you would like install plasma, correct profile is default/linux/amd64/13.0/desktop/plasma/systemd
_________________
Questions are guaranteed in life; Answers aren't.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
toralf
Developer
Developer


Joined: 01 Feb 2004
Posts: 3684
Location: Hamburg

PostPosted: Mon Aug 21, 2017 11:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

There's a default/linux/amd64/13.0/desktop/gnome profile too, maybe default/linux/amd64/13.0/desktop is what you want and you should set the remaining USE flags in make.conf ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eccerr0r
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2004
Posts: 7127
Location: almost Mile High in the USA

PostPosted: Mon Aug 21, 2017 2:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Note that you probably will get into some fairly advanced conflicts if you change your make.profile.

If you had Gnome set up before using the default Portage setup, you must have also picked up systemd. How you got eudev installed or wanting to get eudev installed is kind of confusing to me... KDE will happily use systemd as well (but the person using the computer may or may not...).

pastebin/post the entire contents of your emerge output so we can see exactly what it's trying to install - errors and all. A short excerpt is hard to tell exactly what's going on.
_________________
Intel Core i7 2700K@ 4.1GHz/HD3000 graphics/8GB DDR3/180GB SSD
What am I supposed watching?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
satyria
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Oct 2006
Posts: 10
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Tue Aug 22, 2017 7:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I will start the installation again from the beginning. I have since changed so much on the system, that the error messages probably bring nothing more.
However, I would have to know which Stage 3 I should use for my system, then install KDE.

I have found many instructions on how to install KDE afterwards, but if the basic installation goes wrong ...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eccerr0r
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2004
Posts: 7127
Location: almost Mile High in the USA

PostPosted: Tue Aug 22, 2017 9:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Technically any stage3 that runs on your computer architecture should work. For most people it's a choice between the default and the systemd stage3, but it's mostly a personal choice.

Selecting the correct /etc/make.profile is critical, however. It will make installing KDE or other desktop environment easier or very frustrating.

Don't worry too much of spamming error messages from emerge, a lot of us are very seasoned at looking at them and can help figure out how to solve the conflicts. I've yet to have to reinstall from scratch unless it was a fresh machine architecture (I got real close once due to a ridiculous number of errors, but eventually figured it out.)
_________________
Intel Core i7 2700K@ 4.1GHz/HD3000 graphics/8GB DDR3/180GB SSD
What am I supposed watching?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
toralf
Developer
Developer


Joined: 01 Feb 2004
Posts: 3684
Location: Hamburg

PostPosted: Tue Aug 22, 2017 9:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

satyria wrote:
I will start the installation again from the beginning. I have since changed so much on the system, that the error messages probably bring nothing more.
However, I would have to know which Stage 3 I should use for my system, then install KDE.

I have found many instructions on how to install KDE afterwards, but if the basic installation goes wrong ...
I do spin up at my tinderbox every few days a new KDE image starting from stage3. There's nothing special nor any problems so far. You need to "eselect profile <plasma>" and just follow the install instructions eg here : https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Handbook:AMD64/Full/Installation
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum