Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
command-line interface won't wake up
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
jyoung
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 20 Mar 2007
Posts: 225

PostPosted: Wed Aug 23, 2017 4:49 pm    Post subject: command-line interface won't wake up Reply with quote

Hi Folks,

I'm setting up gentoo on a Dell Precision T5500, and I've encountered a strange bug. The screen blanks after a few minutes, as is normal. But, I can't wake the console up again with the keyboard. I know that the computer is still running since I can log in remotely via ssh.

I haven't yet installed X11; this bug is entirely with the command-line interface.

I'd be grateful for any suggestions!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
audiodef
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 06 Jul 2005
Posts: 6319
Location: /usr/lib64/lv2

PostPosted: Wed Aug 23, 2017 7:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Setting up, meaning install isn't done yet and you're still on live CD of some kind?

One workaround:
Code:

xset s off
xset s noblank
xset -dpms

This will ensure your monitor is never turned off by the running system. Might be useful if you're still installing and just want to get the install done, then see if you have the problem on your installed system.
_________________
Gentoo Studio: A Gentoo-based, professional digital audio workstation OS.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eccerr0r
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2004
Posts: 7274
Location: almost Mile High in the USA

PostPosted: Wed Aug 23, 2017 8:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The xset commands are for X environment and require the X11 server to work to enable screensave, so I'm not sure these will be helpful.

For the console, setterm(1) is used (sys-apps/util-linux); however I've found that in the past, this caused even more harm (due to kernel console bugs) than default settings:

Code:
$ setterm --powersave off


I'm not sure if the console bugs have been fixed, this was many years ago.

What would be interesting however is knowing what graphics card and what console options you set in the kernel (fbcon, dri, kms, etc.)
_________________
Intel Core i7 2700K@ 4.1GHz/HD3000 graphics/8GB DDR3/180GB SSD
What am I supposed watching?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
audiodef
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 06 Jul 2005
Posts: 6319
Location: /usr/lib64/lv2

PostPosted: Wed Aug 23, 2017 9:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

eccerr0r wrote:
The xset commands are for X environment and require the X11 server to work to enable screensave, so I'm not sure these will be helpful.



My fault, I got a mental screenshot of X started on a sysresccd, so my suggestion is just silly without X!
_________________
Gentoo Studio: A Gentoo-based, professional digital audio workstation OS.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eccerr0r
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2004
Posts: 7274
Location: almost Mile High in the USA

PostPosted: Wed Aug 23, 2017 9:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

No biggie, I'm rarely in non-X these days, it's very easy to make the X assumption :)

IMHO, console's just too big for one program, unless it's being used to fix X11...
_________________
Intel Core i7 2700K@ 4.1GHz/HD3000 graphics/8GB DDR3/180GB SSD
What am I supposed watching?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hu
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 06 Mar 2007
Posts: 14379

PostPosted: Thu Aug 24, 2017 12:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

If the console is too big, that's just an indication you should be using a terminal multiplexer. ;) GNU Screen and tmux are both able to show multiple panes concurrently, which can be useful if the host terminal is too big for any one application.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eccerr0r
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2004
Posts: 7274
Location: almost Mile High in the USA

PostPosted: Thu Aug 24, 2017 1:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It's just that one of those "panes" needs to be "firefox" most often anyway. Links/Lynx/... tends to just not cut it...

Was gpm "fixed" so that it does the right thing when screens are split via gnu-screen or tmux...
_________________
Intel Core i7 2700K@ 4.1GHz/HD3000 graphics/8GB DDR3/180GB SSD
What am I supposed watching?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jyoung
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 20 Mar 2007
Posts: 225

PostPosted: Thu Aug 24, 2017 1:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I installed from a live USB which had X on it. I'd installed the base system, rebooted, and was about to install X when I hit this problem.

Actually, that would be an interesting test, to reboot on a live disk that doesn't have X and see if the problem persists. I'll report back.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jyoung
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 20 Mar 2007
Posts: 225

PostPosted: Thu Aug 24, 2017 8:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Okay, I just booted off a gentoo minimal USB, without X, and the problem does occur.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eccerr0r
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2004
Posts: 7274
Location: almost Mile High in the USA

PostPosted: Thu Aug 24, 2017 9:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

what versions of the kernel are you using?
are you using KMS or fbcon or raw text console?
what video card?

This issue seems very system specific...
_________________
Intel Core i7 2700K@ 4.1GHz/HD3000 graphics/8GB DDR3/180GB SSD
What am I supposed watching?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
charles17
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 02 Mar 2008
Posts: 2799

PostPosted: Fri Aug 25, 2017 5:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

jyoung wrote:
Okay, I just booted off a gentoo minimal USB, without X, and the problem does occur.

What you could do is boot your Dell Precision T5500 using sysresccd and check the following for getting details of your kexboard:
  • lsusb
  • dmesg
  • lspci -nnkv
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jyoung
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 20 Mar 2007
Posts: 225

PostPosted: Mon Aug 28, 2017 6:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm using kernel version 4.12.4. At this point, it's just the raw console.

Here's what dmesg says about video:

03:00.0 VGA compatible controller [0300]: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] Cayman LE GL [FirePro V5900] [1002:6707] (rev ff) (prog-if ff)
!!! Unknown header type 7f

And what dmesg, lspci, and lsub say about the keyboard:

dmesg.txt:[ 5.394747] usb 8-2: Product: DELL USB Keyboard
dmesg.txt:[ 5.449347] input: DELL DELL USB Keyboard as /devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:1d.2/usb8/8-2/8-2:1.0/0003:413C:2005.0002/input/input6
dmesg.txt:[ 5.538219] hid-generic 0003:413C:2005.0002: input,hidraw1: USB HID v1.10 Keyboard [DELL DELL USB Keyboard] on usb-0000:00:1d.2-2/input0
lsusb.txt:Bus 008 Device 003: ID 413c:2005 Dell Computer Corp. RT7D50 Keyboard

If you like, I could post the full output of dmesg, lscpi, and lsusb. Nothing looks really strange, except for the 'Unknown header type 7f' message.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 44178
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Mon Aug 28, 2017 7:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

jyoung,

Not all USB root hubs are created equally. A root hub is frequently a stacked pair of USB ports.

Some ports may be powered down when the console goes to sleep.
Its a very bad thing to have your keyboard plugged into one of those as its not powered to wake the system up again.

Try other root hubs.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
charles17
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 02 Mar 2008
Posts: 2799

PostPosted: Tue Aug 29, 2017 6:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

jyoung wrote:
I'm using kernel version 4.12.4. At this point, it's just the raw console.

Here's what dmesg says about video:

03:00.0 VGA compatible controller [0300]: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] Cayman LE GL [FirePro V5900] [1002:6707] (rev ff) (prog-if ff)
!!! Unknown header type 7f

Are you getting that error also from sysresccd?
And, what is there (also from sysresccd) in lspci -nnkv | sed -n '/VGA/,/^$/p''?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jyoung
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 20 Mar 2007
Posts: 225

PostPosted: Wed Aug 30, 2017 9:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I attempted to boot of a sysresccd, but the computer wouldn't detect it as a bootable device. Tonight, I'm going to setup a sysresccd image on a USB stick. Tomorrow I should be able to report back on that front.

Today, I tried plugging the keyboard into different USB ports. There are six ports, in three pairs. Unfortunately, the keyboard would not wakeup the computer from any port. On this front, I can still ssh into the computer, even when it won't respond to keyboard activity. Is there are way to check to see if an USB port has been powered down?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
charles17
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 02 Mar 2008
Posts: 2799

PostPosted: Thu Aug 31, 2017 5:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

jyoung wrote:
... check to see if an USB port has been powered down?

Code:
grep hci-pci /var/log/syslog

Code:
dmesg | grep hci-pci
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jyoung
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 20 Mar 2007
Posts: 225

PostPosted: Fri Sep 01, 2017 1:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Here's the output of dmesg | grep hci-pci

Code:
[   19.270926] ehci-pci: EHCI PCI platform driver
[   19.271520] ehci-pci 0000:00:1a.7: EHCI Host Controller
[   19.271568] ehci-pci 0000:00:1a.7: new USB bus registered, assigned bus number 1
[   19.271584] ehci-pci 0000:00:1a.7: debug port 1
[   19.275488] ehci-pci 0000:00:1a.7: cache line size of 64 is not supported
[   19.275501] ehci-pci 0000:00:1a.7: irq 22, io mem 0xf7ffa000
[   19.281574] ehci-pci 0000:00:1a.7: USB 2.0 started, EHCI 1.00
[   19.282433] ehci-pci 0000:00:1d.7: EHCI Host Controller
[   19.282472] ehci-pci 0000:00:1d.7: new USB bus registered, assigned bus number 2
[   19.282486] ehci-pci 0000:00:1d.7: debug port 1
[   19.286381] ehci-pci 0000:00:1d.7: cache line size of 64 is not supported
[   19.286392] ehci-pci 0000:00:1d.7: irq 23, io mem 0xff980000
[   19.292576] ehci-pci 0000:00:1d.7: USB 2.0 started, EHCI 1.00
[   19.292880] ohci-pci: OHCI PCI platform driver

Does anything jump out at you folks as a USB hub that's gone to sleep?

I wasn't able to boot of the SystemRescueCD USB either. I'm not sure what the issue there is. I tried the USB stick in another computer (which is also able to boot off a gentoo minimal USB), and that wasn't able to boot either. On the SystemRescueCD page there are two USB installation methods; I'm going to attempt method B tomorrow, and report back.

[Moderator edit: added [code] tags to preserve output layout. -Hu]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mvaterlaus
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 01 Oct 2010
Posts: 209
Location: Switzerland

PostPosted: Fri Sep 01, 2017 8:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

hi,
I once had a similar problem with some POS Hardware. The problem was, that sometimes, when the system startet, I just saw the BIOS, but as soon as the system booted, the screen went dark. I solved this issue with the vbetool [1]. I used the following command:

Code:
/usr/sbin/vbetool dpms on


Maybe, this approach works for you as well.


[1]https://linux.die.net/man/1/vbetool
_________________
For calming down your eyes or clearing your mind: www.patrickwehli.ch
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jyoung
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 20 Mar 2007
Posts: 225

PostPosted: Fri Sep 01, 2017 8:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
 /usr/sbin/vbetool dpms on

returns "Real mode call failed"

On the sysresccd
Code:
 lspci -nnkv | sed -n '/VGA/,/^$/p'

returns:

Code:
03:00.0 VGA compatible controller [0300]: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] nee ATI Cayman LE GL [FirePro V5900] [1002:6707] (prog-if 00 [VGA controller])
        Subsystem: Dell Device [1028:2b06]
        Flags: bus master, fast devsel, latency 0, IRQ 91
        Memory at e0000000 (64-bit, prefetchable) [size=256M]
        Memory at f7de0000 (64-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=128K]
        I/O ports at dc00 [size=256]
        Expansion ROM at f7e00000 [disabled] [size=128K]
        Capabilities: [50] Power Management version 3
        Capabilities: [58] Express Legacy Endpoint, MSI 00
        Capabilities: [a0] MSI: Enable+ Count=1/1 Maskable- 64bit+
        Capabilities: [100] Vendor Specific Information: ID=0001 Rev=1 Len=010 <?>
        Capabilities: [150] Advanced Error Reporting
        Kernel driver in use: radeon
        Kernel modules: radeon


[Moderator edit: added [code] tags to preserve output layout. -Hu]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jyoung
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 20 Mar 2007
Posts: 225

PostPosted: Tue Sep 05, 2017 3:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

After doing some searching, I'm seeing quite a few threads where people report a "Real mode call failed" error from vbetool, but there doesn't seem to be a consensus on what it means.

Based on the output of dmesg, it looks like the VGA controller has a 'power management' feature. One solution might be to turn that off, perhaps with a flag to the radeon driver. I'd much rather determine why keyboard activity isn't waking the system up, though. The earlier speculation that the USB ports might be sleeping sounded promising, however it seems that either they're all sleeping (possible), or there's another explanation.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eccerr0r
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2004
Posts: 7274
Location: almost Mile High in the USA

PostPosted: Tue Sep 05, 2017 5:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

vbetool was meant for VESA controlled video cards. If you're using the native driver like the radeon driver in the kernel for your video card instead of VESA, then this tool won't work.

Not only that, vbetool seems to require the machine to be in "real mode" to run (like during BIOS boot setup) as it requires the video card BIOS to be run. If you are running in x86_64 mode, you can't go back to "real mode" without rebooting and hence vbetool is useless on x86_64 machines if you can't emulate it.

The question here is that we don't know if it's the keyboard that's busted or the video card...

I have an additional question to see what the nature of the problem is: Does the numlock key work? Then a followup question:
What happens if you try to blind-login? (alt-f2 and try to login despite not being able to see what you're typing).

If one or both of these work, we can probably assume video card issue.
_________________
Intel Core i7 2700K@ 4.1GHz/HD3000 graphics/8GB DDR3/180GB SSD
What am I supposed watching?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jyoung
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 20 Mar 2007
Posts: 225

PostPosted: Wed Sep 06, 2017 2:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Nice, the numlock key and blind login both succeeded. That was a really good check!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eccerr0r
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2004
Posts: 7274
Location: almost Mile High in the USA

PostPosted: Wed Sep 06, 2017 4:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Next test:

When it gets stuck again: first try turning monitor off and on: does it report sleep mode "no signal detected" or out of range mode?
Then try to wake up with your keyboard, and do the power test again. This time, same deal, what is the status reported by the monitor?

I would assume the latter as the sleep mode perhaps does not program the chip back properly. Perhaps using a different video mode would be a workaround.
_________________
Intel Core i7 2700K@ 4.1GHz/HD3000 graphics/8GB DDR3/180GB SSD
What am I supposed watching?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jyoung
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 20 Mar 2007
Posts: 225

PostPosted: Wed Sep 06, 2017 9:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

When I cycle the monitor, it gives me the message "entering power save mode". Unfortunately, there's no preceding message saying why (for example, "no signal detected"). I repeated experiment after pressing the keys and moving the mouse, but the result was the same.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ant P.
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 18 Apr 2009
Posts: 6015

PostPosted: Thu Sep 07, 2017 5:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't have an answer, but I'm pretty sure I have the same problem. This is on a:
Code:
00:01.0 VGA compatible controller [0300]: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] Wrestler [Radeon HD 6310] [1002:9802] (prog-if 00 [VGA controller])

- which is connected to a monitor via displayport. Maybe buggy DP support in the kernel is the problem? I know some laptops use it internally...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum