Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
VFS: unable to mount root fs on unknown block(8,1)
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Adel Ahmed
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 21 Sep 2012
Posts: 1158

PostPosted: Sat Aug 05, 2017 8:29 am    Post subject: VFS: unable to mount root fs on unknown block(8,1) Reply with quote

I'm getting the following message when booting to my freshly installed gentoo:

not syncing: VFS: unable to mount root fs on unknown block(8,1)

, this is a new installation, it had not worked yet.

lspci -k:
https://pastebin.com/e2a0sS6V

kernel config:
https://pastebin.com/AYjVtF5t

I believe I have all the modules listed in lspci -k built into the kernel except for the ahci module which I'm unable to find

kernel version:
sys-kernel/gentoo-sources-4.9.34:4.9.34::gentoo
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43386
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sat Aug 05, 2017 8:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Adel Ahmed,

Code:
unknown block(8,1)
is sda1. The kernel can see it but not read the filesystem it finds there.

Either your root is not sda1 or the filesystem driver for sda1 is not available.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Adel Ahmed
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 21 Sep 2012
Posts: 1158

PostPosted: Sat Aug 05, 2017 8:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

wierd, here's the partition on another machine:
/dev/sdc1: LABEL="root" UUID="e91be2a8-2fae-4322-a6ec-91a19c8dfb8f" TYPE="xfs" PARTUUID="9fb07208-01"

fstab:
LABEL="root" / xfs defaults,noatime


and xfs has been built into the kernel, this is the only hard disk drive and only partition
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
duby2291
Guru
Guru


Joined: 17 Oct 2004
Posts: 583

PostPosted: Sat Aug 05, 2017 12:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Filesystem drivers have to either be built into the kernel image or the initrd. If they are just built as normal modules they can't boot the root filesystem. My guess is it's built as a normal module and then stored on the very filesystem it's supposed to drive.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43386
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sat Aug 05, 2017 2:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Adel Ahmed,

If xfs is indeed built in the filesystem you intended to be root isn't at sda1.
Perhaps you have some USB storage connected?

Your fstab is not relevant. Its contained on the, as yet, not mounted root, so cannot be read.

Prior to root being mounted, its just the kernel, the initrd, if you have one and the kernel command line.
Nothing else matters.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ntnn
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 Mar 2017
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Sun Aug 06, 2017 7:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:

01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] Cedar [Radeon HD 5000/6000/7350/8350 Series]
Subsystem: PC Partner Limited / Sapphire Technology Cedar [Radeon HD 5000/6000/7350/8350 Series]


You have a built in graphics card - does your processor have built-in graphics as well? If so, switch from 'switchable graphics' to 'internal' (or 'external' if you can) in the BIOS settings.
There are solutions for switchable graphics in linux (e.g. bumblebee for optimus), but it isn't supported natively yet.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Adel Ahmed
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 21 Sep 2012
Posts: 1158

PostPosted: Mon Aug 07, 2017 4:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

xfs is built into the kernel
and no I do not have any other storage connected(usb or otherwise)
I have no built in graphics card
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43386
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Mon Aug 07, 2017 4:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Adel Ahmed,

Tell us about the HDD. The manufacturer and model number will do.
CONFIG_SATA_AHCI=y is on. That's good.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Adel Ahmed
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 21 Sep 2012
Posts: 1158

PostPosted: Tue Aug 08, 2017 5:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It's a Kingston suv400s37
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43386
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Tue Aug 08, 2017 8:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Adel Ahmed,

There should be no complications there. These hybrid HDD with a small embedded SSD for cache can appear like two different drives to the kernel.
That's ruled out.

The next thing to check is xfs features. Are you trying to mount a filesystem that is feature incompatible with your kernel?
I can't help there as I don't run xfs.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 7132
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Tue Aug 08, 2017 1:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What is the kernel command line? Have you tried to use PARTUUID?
_________________
Please learn how to denote units correctly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Adel Ahmed
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 21 Sep 2012
Posts: 1158

PostPosted: Fri Aug 18, 2017 6:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

the kernel command line is a simple root=/dev/sda1 ro init=/usr/lib/systemd/systemd

I do not know if xfs is feature incompatible with my kernel.

I used a simple mkfs.xfs using:
sys-fs/xfsprogs-4.9.0


how can I tell?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Adel Ahmed
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 21 Sep 2012
Posts: 1158

PostPosted: Mon Aug 21, 2017 7:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

bump
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Adel Ahmed
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 21 Sep 2012
Posts: 1158

PostPosted: Thu Aug 31, 2017 7:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

bump
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Adel Ahmed
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 21 Sep 2012
Posts: 1158

PostPosted: Sun Sep 03, 2017 1:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've reformatted the rootfs to btrfs and I'm getting the same error !!!!
I have compiled btrfs into the kernel and changed /etc/fstab of course:
/dev/sda1 / btrfs defaults,noatime 0 0


I only have 1 disk !!!

this is very strange
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 7132
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Sun Sep 03, 2017 1:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
fdisk -l

Perhaps your root is not sda1, but sda2?
_________________
Please learn how to denote units correctly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Adel Ahmed
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 21 Sep 2012
Posts: 1158

PostPosted: Sun Sep 03, 2017 4:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

fdisk shows there is only one partition, sda1

and when I ran mkfs.btrfs I ran it on the first partition
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum