Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Laptop can't boot after gentoo installation
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
stormblade
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Sep 2017
Posts: 65

PostPosted: Sun Oct 08, 2017 9:37 pm    Post subject: Laptop can't boot after gentoo installation Reply with quote

Got a problem here. I installed the system with a systemd profile (without desktop environment), installed grub2, configured some systemd related stuff (however, most of the systemd services etc need to be configured after rebooting, in order to get systemd working). So, I configured as much as it was possible according to the systemd page on gentoo wiki, then unmounted everything and rebooted. The boot screen shows me 2 options - boot gentoo or choose advanced options (i.e. boot gentoo OR boot gentoo in recovery mode). So, I choose "boot gentoo" and then, after I see 2 lines of logs telling me that the kernel and initramfs were initialized, I get the black screen. And nothing else happens. What could go wrong during previous steps? Not sure that it's the kernel as I configured it to fully support systemd and uefi (according to the guides on the wiki). Probably the issue is in some uefi or systemd configuration files (I guess?). Can anybody help?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
HungGarTiger
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 04 Feb 2014
Posts: 155
Location: /nz/auckland

PostPosted: Mon Oct 09, 2017 9:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Have you chrooted back into the system and checked any log files? This is where I would start, it could be as simple as the file system not being loaded into the kernel. You can use wgetpaste to load any files to a pastebin,
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
stormblade
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Sep 2017
Posts: 65

PostPosted: Thu Oct 12, 2017 5:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

HungGarTiger wrote:
Have you chrooted back into the system and checked any log files? This is where I would start, it could be as simple as the file system not being loaded into the kernel. You can use wgetpaste to load any files to a pastebin,

Chrooted back, decided to emerge syslog-ng in order to look up some logs (however, I am not really experienced in that and don't know exactly what logs I might need to solve my problem), then configure it for systemd, then run it with
Code:
systemctl start syslog-ng

and get the following:
Code:
Running in chroot, ignoring request

I tried to find out some means of forcing this service to run or smth like that, but with no success. Systemd seems so clunky to me, after all
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 7094
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Thu Oct 12, 2017 6:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
So, I choose "boot gentoo" and then, after I see 2 lines of logs telling me that the kernel and initramfs were initialized, I get the black screen. And nothing else happens.

How do you know nothing else happens? Maybe it boots up, just the display is off? Have you tried to SSH into it? Can you put your kernel config into a pastebin?
_________________
Please learn how to denote units correctly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
stormblade
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Sep 2017
Posts: 65

PostPosted: Thu Oct 12, 2017 8:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jaglover wrote:
Quote:
So, I choose "boot gentoo" and then, after I see 2 lines of logs telling me that the kernel and initramfs were initialized, I get the black screen. And nothing else happens.

How do you know nothing else happens? Maybe it boots up, just the display is off? Have you tried to SSH into it? Can you put your kernel config into a pastebin?

Here is the link for my kernel configuration:
https://paste.pound-python.org/show/yzgSfbETkOd9ykYWS4SU/

Quote:
How do you know nothing else happens? Maybe it boots up, just the display is off?

Probably it is, but how do I figure it out? Never worked with ssh lol (shame on me)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Doctor
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 27 Jul 2010
Posts: 2576

PostPosted: Thu Oct 12, 2017 8:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ssh is fairly easy to figure out, but it depends on your system having a predictable ip address, usually a static one. You'll need to configure that from the chroot.

The symptoms you describe sound like you misconfigured your video driver. What type do you have and did you build support into your kernel? I see i915 which is for integrated intel and works well. Did you have a nvida or amd card? Those require special configuration and can be a royal pain.
_________________
First things first, but not necessarily in that order.

Apologies if I take a while to respond. I'm currently working on the dematerialization circuit for my blue box.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43221
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Thu Oct 12, 2017 8:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

stormblade,

Run
Code:
lspci -nnk
from your boot disk and post the output.
We can match the hardware against your kernel settings.

Are you using EFI to boot, on legacy BIOS?
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
stormblade
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Sep 2017
Posts: 65

PostPosted: Thu Oct 12, 2017 8:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The Doctor wrote:
ssh is fairly easy to figure out, but it depends on your system having a predictable ip address, usually a static one. You'll need to configure that from the chroot.

The symptoms you describe sound like you misconfigured your video driver. What type do you have and did you build support into your kernel? I see i915 which is for integrated intel and works well. Did you have a nvida or amd card? Those require special configuration and can be a royal pain.

I didn't add anything connected to graphics/video settings to my kernel; so this part was left untouched. I was mostly concerned about configuring it correctly for uefi and systemd. So I guess that's the moment where I screwed up
lsmod result:
https://pastebin.com/raw/6CQPJp0G
lspci -nnk result:
https://pastebin.com/raw/0VhFr0eV
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 7094
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Thu Oct 12, 2017 9:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Looks like Optimus, do you follow Gentoo Optimus wiki?
_________________
Please learn how to denote units correctly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
stormblade
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Sep 2017
Posts: 65

PostPosted: Thu Oct 12, 2017 9:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jaglover wrote:
Looks like Optimus, do you follow Gentoo Optimus wiki?

Haven't done it yet
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43221
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Thu Oct 12, 2017 9:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

stormblade,

You have exactly one Video card,
Code:
00:02.0 VGA compatible controller [0300]: Intel Corporation Device [8086:5916] (rev 02)
   Subsystem: Hewlett-Packard Company Device [103c:8363]
   Kernel driver in use: i915

Optimus would pair it with an nVidia card, so we can discount that complication.

Its a Sunrise Point system, so almost nothing works unless this driver is loaded.
Code:
 00:16.0 Communication controller [0780]: Intel Corporation Sunrise Point-LP CSME HECI #1 [8086:9d3a] (rev 21)
   Subsystem: Hewlett-Packard Company Sunrise Point-LP CSME HECI [103c:8363]
   Kernel driver in use: mei_me

In your kernel you have
Code:
 # CONFIG_INTEL_MEI is not set
# CONFIG_INTEL_MEI_ME is not set


Fix that and try again. I'm not sure if its required for video but its certainly required for the HDD controller, so you will need it to boot anyway.

-- edit with apologies to Jaglover --

Code:
01:00.0 3D controller [0302]: NVIDIA Corporation GM108M [GeForce 940MX] [10de:134d] (rev a2)
   Subsystem: Hewlett-Packard Company GM108M [GeForce 940MX] [103c:8363]
   Kernel driver in use: nouveau

It may well be Optimus but that won't matter unlil after you can boot.
There are other Intel/nVidia arrangements in laptops too. Be sure the BIOS is set to use the Intel card for boot up.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.


Last edited by NeddySeagoon on Thu Oct 12, 2017 9:29 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
stormblade
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Sep 2017
Posts: 65

PostPosted: Thu Oct 12, 2017 9:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon wrote:
stormblade,
Its a Sunrise Point system, so almost nothing works unless this driver is loaded.
Code:
 00:16.0 Communication controller [0780]: Intel Corporation Sunrise Point-LP CSME HECI #1 [8086:9d3a] (rev 21)
   Subsystem: Hewlett-Packard Company Sunrise Point-LP CSME HECI [103c:8363]
   Kernel driver in use: mei_me

In your kernel you have
Code:
 # CONFIG_INTEL_MEI is not set
# CONFIG_INTEL_MEI_ME is not set


Fix that and try again. I'm not sure if its required for video but its certainly required for the HDD controller, so you will need it to boot anyway.

So I need to compile a new kernel with the mei_me driver included (as module or built-in?), then delete the previous one with its files and then tell the grub to use my new kernel?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43221
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Thu Oct 12, 2017 9:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

stormblade,

If you use the same kernel sources, your old kernel will be overwritten, there is no need to delete anything.
Otherwise, yes.

See my edit to my post above too.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
stormblade
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Sep 2017
Posts: 65

PostPosted: Mon Oct 16, 2017 9:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon wrote:
stormblade,

If you use the same kernel sources, your old kernel will be overwritten, there is no need to delete anything.
Otherwise, yes.

See my edit to my post above too.

I've recompiled the kernel with the options above included, still getting black screen after loading kernel and initramfs
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 7094
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Mon Oct 16, 2017 10:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'd set up SSH, this would let me see if the system is alive and allow reading all logs and parameters without chroot environment. First thing to check would be verifying if your new kernel is in place.
Code:
uname -a
Alternatively use
Code:
file /path/to/kernel.image
Pay attention to date and time.
_________________
Please learn how to denote units correctly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
stormblade
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Sep 2017
Posts: 65

PostPosted: Wed Oct 18, 2017 8:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jaglover wrote:
I'd set up SSH, this would let me see if the system is alive and allow reading all logs and parameters without chroot environment. First thing to check would be verifying if your new kernel is in place.
Code:
uname -a
Alternatively use
Code:
file /path/to/kernel.image
Pay attention to date and time.

result of uname -a:
Code:
Linux sysresccd 4.9.52-std511-amd64 #2 SMP Wed Sep 27 19:47:36 UTC 2017 x86_64 Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-7200 CPU @ 2.50GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux

seems like the kernel is really not in the right place

Additionally, my /etc/fstab:

Code:
LABEL=boot      /boot      fat32      noauto,noatime   1 2
UUID=58e72203-57d1-4497-81ad-97655bd56494      /      ext4      noatime      0 1
LABEL=swap      none      swap      sw      0 0
/dev/cdrom      /mnt/cdrom   auto      noauto,ro   0 0
/dev/sda1      /bios      ext2      defaults   0 0



I also tried rebuilding the kernel with CONFIG_TTY option, still getting the same issue
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum