Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Confused about portage package for kernel sources [Solved]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
LIsLinuxIsSogood
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 13 Feb 2016
Posts: 1014

PostPosted: Sun Oct 15, 2017 6:52 am    Post subject: Confused about portage package for kernel sources [Solved] Reply with quote

Something doesn't seem right, but I am not sure what? Both systems have synced to portage tree recently, but both are not showing the same latest version of Kernel available. I checked package.mask nothing there.

PC 1 (Laptop)

Code:
Machine_West% emerge -s gentoo-sources                                         
[ Results for search key : gentoo-sources ]
Searching...

*  sys-kernel/gentoo-sources
      Latest version available: 4.13.6
      Latest version installed: 4.13.6
      Size of files: 98,407 KiB
      Homepage:      https://dev.gentoo.org/~mpagano/genpatches
      Description:   Full sources including the Gentoo patchset for the 4.13 kernel tree
      License:       GPL-2 freedist


PC 2 (Desktop)

Code:
playby /etc/portage/package.mask # emerge -s gentoo-sources                                                 
[ Results for search key : gentoo-sources ]
Searching...

*  sys-kernel/gentoo-sources
      Latest version available: 4.12.12
      Latest version installed: 4.12.12
      Size of files: 97,102 KiB
      Homepage:      https://dev.gentoo.org/~mpagano/genpatches
      Description:   Full sources including the Gentoo patchset for the 4.12 kernel tree
      License:       GPL-2 freedist


Last edited by LIsLinuxIsSogood on Sun Oct 15, 2017 7:25 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Juippisi
Guru
Guru


Joined: 30 Sep 2005
Posts: 341
Location: /home

PostPosted: Sun Oct 15, 2017 7:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Youre most likely on ~testing branch with your laptop and stable branch on your desktop. You can see if you have the same files under /usr/portage/sys-kernel/gentoo-sources/ after syncing.

Or you can try emerge -av =sys-kernel/gentoo-sources-4.13.6 to see why its not offering it on your desktop.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nokilli
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 25 Feb 2004
Posts: 195

PostPosted: Sun Oct 15, 2017 7:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

4.13.6 is still ~amd64. 4.12.12 is not.

Is it an amd64 system? Do you have ACCEPT_KEYWORDS="~amd64" in your make.conf?
_________________
Today is the first day of the rest of your Gentoo installation.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fedeliallalinea
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 08 Mar 2003
Posts: 21773
Location: here

PostPosted: Sun Oct 15, 2017 7:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Or you added entry on package.accept_keywords
_________________
Questions are guaranteed in life; Answers aren't.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
LIsLinuxIsSogood
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 13 Feb 2016
Posts: 1014

PostPosted: Sun Oct 15, 2017 7:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

thanks for the quick responses. Here is the emerge --info for the laptop, I guess it has ACCEPT Keyword ~amd64

But the desktop, I was just able to install in by specifying the slot as mentioned by someone Juippisi in his response. As for the entry into package.accept_keywords that was a a requirement before I could install, but it went otherwise smoothly. Still not sure what the reason for the difference in portage's description. I checked out the other source versions, git-sources seem to match exactly between both machines (and those are masked anyway so I suppose to use the git version requires some more steps to making sure the package is unmasked first, although not a huge amount of work!)

/etc/portage/make.conf:

Code:
# Please consult /usr/share/portage/config/make.conf.example for a more
# detailed example.

CFLAGS="-mtune=generic -O2 -pipe"
# Use the same settings for both variables
CXXFLAGS="${CFLAGS}"

# WARNING: Changing your CHOST is not something that should be done lightly.
# Please consult http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/change-chost.xml before changing.
CHOST="x86_64-pc-linux-gnu"

# These are the USE flags that were used in addition to what is provided by the
# profile used for building.
USE="dbus consolekit udev mmx sse sse2 netifrc -qt4 -qt5 -phonon -kde X \
     -gtk -gnome -branding cups bluetooth dvd xdg cdr ipv6 alsa acl \
     test audiofile pulseaudio tk tlc -ffmpeg tiff aac a52 dts \
     mp2 mp3 musepack srt xv lua samba xfvb acpi infinality unicode \
     fontconfig xft networkmanager"
# Temporarily unneeded USE flags:
# bindist

FEATURES="distcc"
PORTDIR="/usr/portage"
DISTDIR="${PORTDIR}/distfiles"
PKGDIR="${PORTDIR}/packages"
PORTDIR_OVERLAY=""
PORTAGE_RSYNC_RETRIES="5"
PORTAGE_RSYNC_EXTRA_OPTS=""
MAKEOPTS="-j9 -l4"
INPUT_DEVICES="synaptics evdev"
VIDEO_CARDS="intel"
ACCEPT_LICENSE=""
##Logging for Portage
PORTAGE_ELOG_SYSTEM="save_summary:log,warn,error,qa echo"
PORTAGE_ELOG_CLASSES="warn error log"
PORT_LOGDIR="/var/log/portage/builds"
EMERGE_DEFAULT_OPTS="--ask"
RUBY_TARGETS="ruby20 ruby21 ruby22"
GRUB_PLATFORMS="efi-64"
ACCEPT_KEYWORDS="~amd64"
ABI_X86="64"


Code tags added for easy reading. -- NeddySeagoon
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 6995
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Sun Oct 15, 2017 8:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Are you aware of the concept of arch and ~arch keywords in portage?
_________________
backend.cpp:92:2: warning: #warning TODO - this error message is about as useful as a cooling unit in the arctic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bunder
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 10 Apr 2004
Posts: 5843

PostPosted: Sun Oct 15, 2017 2:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Can you paste the output of...

Code:
equery l -o -p gentoo-sources
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
LIsLinuxIsSogood
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 13 Feb 2016
Posts: 1014

PostPosted: Sun Oct 15, 2017 7:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Looked up the difference between them (amd64 and ~amd64) and got this:
~* — Package is visible if it is in testing on any architecture.

So basically then I checked out the make.conf on the desktop PC, which was missing the setting, so I think I found the answer. Going to mark it as solved.

Thanks all!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum