Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[solved]kvm on virtual server without vmx/svm @/proc/cpuinfo
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Elleni
l33t
l33t


Joined: 23 May 2006
Posts: 822

PostPosted: Mon Nov 13, 2017 7:23 pm    Post subject: [solved]kvm on virtual server without vmx/svm @/proc/cpuinfo Reply with quote

I want to run a VM on my hosted virtual server, and cat /proc/cpuinfo reads:

Code:
processor       : 0
vendor_id       : GenuineIntel
cpu family      : 6
model           : 63
model name      : Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU E5-2620 v3 @ 2.40GHz
stepping        : 2
cpu MHz         : 2399.000
cache size      : 15360 KB
physical id     : 0
siblings        : 4
core id         : 0
cpu cores       : 4
apicid          : 0
initial apicid  : 0
fpu             : yes
fpu_exception   : yes
cpuid level     : 15
wp              : yes
flags           : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush mmx fxsr sse sse2 ss ht syscall nx rdtscp lm constant_tsc arch_perfmon nopl nonstop_tsc cpuid pni pclmulqdq ssse3 cx16 pcid sse4_1 sse4_2 x2apic movbe popcnt aes xsave avx f16c rdrand hypervisor lahf_lm fsgsbase smep xsaveopt cqm_llc cqm_occup_llc ida arat
bugs            :
bogomips        : 4798.00
clflush size    : 64
cache_alignment : 64
address sizes   : 36 bits physical, 48 bits virtual
power management:

processor       : 1
vendor_id       : GenuineIntel
cpu family      : 6
model           : 63
model name      : Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU E5-2620 v3 @ 2.40GHz
stepping        : 2
cpu MHz         : 2399.000
cache size      : 15360 KB
physical id     : 0
siblings        : 4
core id         : 1
cpu cores       : 4
apicid          : 1
initial apicid  : 1
fpu             : yes
fpu_exception   : yes
cpuid level     : 15
wp              : yes
flags           : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush mmx fxsr sse sse2 ss ht syscall nx rdtscp lm constant_tsc arch_perfmon nopl nonstop_tsc cpuid pni pclmulqdq ssse3 cx16 pcid sse4_1 sse4_2 x2apic movbe popcnt aes xsave avx f16c rdrand hypervisor lahf_lm fsgsbase smep xsaveopt cqm_llc cqm_occup_llc ida arat
bugs            :
bogomips        : 4894.72
clflush size    : 64
cache_alignment : 64
address sizes   : 36 bits physical, 48 bits virtual
power management:

processor       : 2
vendor_id       : GenuineIntel
cpu family      : 6
model           : 63
model name      : Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU E5-2620 v3 @ 2.40GHz
stepping        : 2
cpu MHz         : 2399.000
cache size      : 15360 KB
physical id     : 0
siblings        : 4
core id         : 2
cpu cores       : 4
apicid          : 2
initial apicid  : 2
fpu             : yes
fpu_exception   : yes
cpuid level     : 15
wp              : yes
flags           : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush mmx fxsr sse sse2 ss ht syscall nx rdtscp lm constant_tsc arch_perfmon nopl nonstop_tsc cpuid pni pclmulqdq ssse3 cx16 pcid sse4_1 sse4_2 x2apic movbe popcnt aes xsave avx f16c rdrand hypervisor lahf_lm fsgsbase smep xsaveopt cqm_llc cqm_occup_llc ida arat
bugs            :
bogomips        : 4801.35
clflush size    : 64
cache_alignment : 64
address sizes   : 36 bits physical, 48 bits virtual
power management:

processor       : 3
vendor_id       : GenuineIntel
cpu family      : 6
model           : 63
model name      : Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU E5-2620 v3 @ 2.40GHz
stepping        : 2
cpu MHz         : 2399.000
cache size      : 15360 KB
physical id     : 0
siblings        : 4
core id         : 3
cpu cores       : 4
apicid          : 3
initial apicid  : 3
fpu             : yes
fpu_exception   : yes
cpuid level     : 15
wp              : yes
flags           : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush mmx fxsr sse sse2 ss ht syscall nx rdtscp lm constant_tsc arch_perfmon nopl nonstop_tsc cpuid pni pclmulqdq ssse3 cx16 pcid sse4_1 sse4_2 x2apic movbe popcnt aes xsave avx f16c rdrand hypervisor lahf_lm fsgsbase smep xsaveopt cqm_llc cqm_occup_llc ida arat
bugs            :
bogomips        : 4802.22
clflush size    : 64
cache_alignment : 64
address sizes   : 36 bits physical, 48 bits virtual
power management:


So is this possible ? And if not - are there any reasonable alternatives ?


Last edited by Elleni on Tue Nov 14, 2017 8:40 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 42860
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Mon Nov 13, 2017 8:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Elleni,

You want to run a Virtual Machine inside another virtual machine?

Yes its possible. I ran Virtualbox inside Virtualbox. It was a bit of an accident.
I used Virtualbox on my work laptop, which I used to image from time to time as a backup.

I also used to boot the image in Virtualbox on Gentoo. It was better than runnig the laptop itself.
One day I tried Virtualbox inside Virtualbox. It operated but performance was terrible.

Their is nothing special about virtualisation and Virtualbox, so I would expect other hypervisors to work too.
Working and working fast enough to be useful is two different things.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Elleni
l33t
l33t


Joined: 23 May 2006
Posts: 822

PostPosted: Mon Nov 13, 2017 9:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello Neddy :)

Yes, the reason is just for testing purposes. I thought, as the virtual server is quite powerfull (it compiles much faster, than my old baremetal gentoo box with its core2duo processors), I thought it is worth a try to run kvm host on the vps. So I could try to do migration of a running vm from libvirt of my local box up to libvirt on host on the vps.

First I thought, it would not be possible at all, then read about nested vm, then read that kvm will need hardware virtualization (vmx or svm) support, and then finally found out, that vps is configured without those two flags needed to do kvm virtualization. :sad:

I opened a ticket and asked my hoster, if it would be possible to get vmx or svm support on that vps. I am also curious to see, how a vm in a vm would perform, as I read with vmx or svm it could be rather good.


Last edited by Elleni on Mon Nov 13, 2017 9:41 pm; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 42860
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Mon Nov 13, 2017 9:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Elleni,

Do you need full virtualisatien or will a chroot be good enough?
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Elleni
l33t
l33t


Joined: 23 May 2006
Posts: 822

PostPosted: Mon Nov 13, 2017 9:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well vps is X less, and I d like to have a vm with X inside it, which I can remotely access. Maybe paravirtualisation is the only other possibility to try as I imagine full virtualization without hardware virtualization extensions may be rather slow. Hm, a chroot ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ct85711
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 27 Sep 2005
Posts: 1694

PostPosted: Tue Nov 14, 2017 1:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Having X is separate from a vm, in that the virtualization extensions have no effect on running X11. If you are wanting a GUI, you are dealing more on the graphics. As neddy mentioned, it is not generally recommended on running a VM inside a VM, but is possible (though some VM software can have issues with doing this). The biggest factor doing is, that on the host VM image, you need to be sure the virtualization extensions are also exposed (often the vm, is only sees a simulated cpu, not the actual one). Note, the virtualization extensions are not always required (depending on the vm software), but is helpful.

I am not familiar enough on qemu to know how that handles and what it needs. Though docker and lxc/lxd I don't think cares much if it is run inside a vm to matter much.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Elleni
l33t
l33t


Joined: 23 May 2006
Posts: 822

PostPosted: Tue Nov 14, 2017 8:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for your informations guys :)

I will play around a bit, esp. with the idea of chrooting and thus eliminating the overhead of virtualization altogether as server is already a vm. So I will try to install another instance of Gentoo within the chroot jail - this time with X and some DE.

I will then access my vm as usual with ssh and then chroot to the jailed instance. I am courious to see, how then things like ip connectivity, X and so on will do within chrooted environment.

So I put this thread solved, not without thanking you again for your posts :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum