Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[SOLVED] Gentoo fresh installation selecting 17.0 profiles
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
alogim
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 21 Aug 2015
Posts: 124

PostPosted: Sat Jan 06, 2018 1:56 pm    Post subject: [SOLVED] Gentoo fresh installation selecting 17.0 profiles Reply with quote

Good afternoon everybody. I am about to do a fresh installation of Gentoo. I wondered whether it is safe to select a 17.0 desktop profile and whether I do need to take extra steps to configure it or not, since I am not coming from a 13.0 profile but from a stage3.

EDIT: I just noted that, having downloaded a stage3-amd64 tarball, the following is shown when selecting the new profile:
Code:
(chroot) sysresccd / # eselect profile list
Available profile symlink targets:
  [1]   default/linux/amd64/13.0 *
  [2]   default/linux/amd64/13.0/selinux
  [3]   default/linux/amd64/13.0/desktop
  [4]   default/linux/amd64/13.0/desktop/gnome
  [5]   default/linux/amd64/13.0/desktop/gnome/systemd
  [6]   default/linux/amd64/13.0/desktop/plasma
  [7]   default/linux/amd64/13.0/desktop/plasma/systemd
  [8]   default/linux/amd64/13.0/developer
  [9]   default/linux/amd64/13.0/no-multilib
  [10]  default/linux/amd64/13.0/systemd
  [11]  default/linux/amd64/13.0/x32
  [12]  default/linux/amd64/17.0
  [13]  default/linux/amd64/17.0/selinux
  [14]  default/linux/amd64/17.0/hardened
  [15]  default/linux/amd64/17.0/hardened/selinux
  [16]  default/linux/amd64/17.0/desktop
  [17]  default/linux/amd64/17.0/desktop/gnome
  [18]  default/linux/amd64/17.0/desktop/gnome/systemd
  [19]  default/linux/amd64/17.0/desktop/plasma
  [20]  default/linux/amd64/17.0/desktop/plasma/systemd
  [21]  default/linux/amd64/17.0/developer
  [22]  default/linux/amd64/17.0/no-multilib
  [23]  default/linux/amd64/17.0/no-multilib/hardened
  [24]  default/linux/amd64/17.0/no-multilib/hardened/selinux
  [25]  default/linux/amd64/17.0/systemd
  [26]  default/linux/amd64/17.0/x32
  [27]  default/linux/amd64/17.1
  [28]  default/linux/amd64/17.1/selinux
  [29]  default/linux/amd64/17.1/hardened
  [30]  default/linux/amd64/17.1/desktop
  [31]  default/linux/amd64/17.1/desktop/gnome
  [32]  default/linux/amd64/17.1/desktop/gnome/systemd
  [33]  default/linux/amd64/17.1/desktop/plasma
  [34]  default/linux/amd64/17.1/desktop/plasma/systemd
  [35]  default/linux/amd64/17.1/developer
  [36]  default/linux/amd64/17.1/no-multilib
  [37]  default/linux/amd64/17.1/no-multilib/hardened
  [38]  default/linux/amd64/17.1/no-multilib/hardened/selinux
  [39]  default/linux/amd64/17.1/systemd
  [40]  hardened/linux/amd64
  [41]  hardened/linux/amd64/selinux
  [42]  hardened/linux/amd64/no-multilib
  [43]  hardened/linux/amd64/no-multilib/selinux
  [44]  hardened/linux/amd64/x32
  [45]  default/linux/musl/amd64
  [46]  hardened/linux/musl/amd64
  [47]  default/linux/musl/amd64/x32
  [48]  hardened/linux/musl/amd64/x32
  [49]  default/linux/uclibc/amd64
  [50]  hardened/linux/uclibc/amd64


It indeed looks like as if I were coming from a 13.0 profile. So, what should I do?
_________________
Desktop: i5-3570k - 2x4 GB - Sapphire HD 7950 Dual-X - 500 GB WD Caviar Black - Dell SE2717H 27"
Laptop: HP EliteBook 850 G5 - i7-8550U - 1x16GB - Intel UHD 620 - 512 GB Samsung NVMe SSD
Phone: OnePlus 5T - SD835 - 8 GB - Adreno 540 - 128 GB


Last edited by alogim on Sat Jan 06, 2018 2:23 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
krinn
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 02 May 2003
Posts: 7071

PostPosted: Sat Jan 06, 2018 2:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

it just mean the stage3 was made with a 13.0 profile. Which mean for you a migration like if you were using 13.0 profile yourself.
see https://www.gentoo.org/support/news-items/2017-11-30-new-17-profiles.html

however things will be easier for you, mostly the news say:
"you have to use a gcc 6.4 with pie", also because of "pie" you have to rebuild everything.

but you have nothing to rebuild as you have nothing :)
the gcc isn't yours, it's the one from the stage3, and for the packages, you have none yet.

so for you the migration is easy: you'll built a gcc 6.4 with pie (because the 17.0 profile will made that mandatory for you) and you will then build packages using it while installing gentoo.

so the migration for you is resume to select a 17.0 profile and keep going on the installation.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
alogim
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 21 Aug 2015
Posts: 124

PostPosted: Sat Jan 06, 2018 2:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That's right, it makes sense, indeed I have nothing to migrate yet :D

I just wanted to be sure, thank you very much for the kind answer. :)
_________________
Desktop: i5-3570k - 2x4 GB - Sapphire HD 7950 Dual-X - 500 GB WD Caviar Black - Dell SE2717H 27"
Laptop: HP EliteBook 850 G5 - i7-8550U - 1x16GB - Intel UHD 620 - 512 GB Samsung NVMe SSD
Phone: OnePlus 5T - SD835 - 8 GB - Adreno 540 - 128 GB
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum