Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Grub2 doesn't load after reboot.
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
noodles006
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Jan 2018
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Thu Jan 18, 2018 4:19 pm    Post subject: Grub2 doesn't load after reboot. Reply with quote

I am following the default partition scheme in the handbook install guide. https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Handbook:AMD64

/dev/sda1 BIOS boot parotition
/dev/sda2 Boot partition
/dev/sda3 Swap partition
/dev/sda4 Root partition

I wanted to use UEFI, so I formatted sda2 with
Code:
mkfs.fat -F 32 /dev/sda2
.
When installing grub2 I mounted /dev/sda2 to /boot and followed these steps.
Code:
echo 'GRUB_PLATFORMS="efi-64"' >> /etc/portage/make.conf
emerge --ask sys-boot/grub:2
grub-install --target=x86_64-efi --efi-directory=/boot

This gave me the output:
Code:
Installing for x86_64-efi platform.
EFI variables are not supported on this system.
EFI variables are not supported on this system.
Installation finished. No error reported.

I followed the rest of the steps of the guide and rebooted, but the grub bootloader would not load. What can I do to make it load?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
xaviermiller
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 23 Jul 2004
Posts: 7972
Location: ~Brussels - Belgique

PostPosted: Thu Jan 18, 2018 4:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,

What live linux did you use? It need to support EFI (and boot in EFI mode) in order to set-up a EFI system.

I would recommend you to run SystemRescueCD, based on Gentoo, that has full EFI support.
_________________
Kind regards,
Xavier Miller
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
noodles006
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Jan 2018
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Thu Jan 18, 2018 4:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think I used the minimal installation cd. The filename is:

install-amd64-minimal-20180116T214503Z.iso

Do I have to restart the installation process if I run the SystemRescueCD, or is it enough to just install the bootloader?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 7094
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Thu Jan 18, 2018 4:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You may even not need to install the bootloader, just activate the entry with efibootmgr. As xaviermiller said, you need to boot in UEFI mode to access these variables.
_________________
Please learn how to denote units correctly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
arnvidr
Guru
Guru


Joined: 19 Aug 2004
Posts: 595
Location: Oslo, Norway

PostPosted: Thu Jan 18, 2018 4:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It should be enough to just re-install the bootloader from a running EFI system. Worth a try at least :)
_________________
Noone wrote:
anything
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
noodles006
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Jan 2018
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Thu Jan 18, 2018 5:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I booted into the SystemRescueCD, chrooted into the system, mounted /dev/sda2 at /boot and ran
Code:
emerge --ask sys-boot/grub:2
grub-install --target=x86_64-efi --efi-directory=/boot

Which gave me the same outut of

Code:

Installing for x86_64-efi platform.
EFI variables are not supported on this system.
EFI variables are not supported on this system.
Installation finished. No error reported.


And grub2 would not load.

Is there something else I should have done?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 7094
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Thu Jan 18, 2018 5:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You did not boot in UEFI mode. When you boot in UEFI mode you will see something like this:
Code:
# efibootmgr
BootCurrent: 0003
Timeout: 1 seconds
BootOrder: 0003,0000
Boot0000* rEFInd Boot Manager
Boot0003* UEFI OS

Then use efibootmgr to activate your Grub entry. No mounting of anything needed, you may need to remount your efivars in rw mode though. At least I guess it should work, I'm not a Grub user myself.
_________________
Please learn how to denote units correctly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
noodles006
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Jan 2018
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Thu Jan 18, 2018 6:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I realized that I hadn't enabled UEFI boot only in the computers bios. That wouldn't let me boot SystemRescueCD, so I ended up using the gentoo Hybrid ISO to install GRUB2, and now works fine. Thank you very much for all of the help :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
LordPinguin
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Jan 2018
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Tue Jan 23, 2018 5:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've exact the same issue, however I use VMWare Workstation 12.5 (and 14) Pro. Anyone a suggestion how to check for the UEFI Options ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum