Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
CONFIG_64BIT question [SOLVED]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Duncan Mac Leod
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 02 May 2004
Posts: 251
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sat Jan 20, 2018 4:33 pm    Post subject: CONFIG_64BIT question [SOLVED] Reply with quote

I have used gentoo-sources-3.10.107 in the past on a 32bit system.

Today I decided to switch to gentoo-sources-4.4.112.

Running genkernel I noticed that the default values set CONFIG_64BIT to enabled. On a 32bit system? Is there something wrong or should I go with CONFIG_64BIT enabled on a 32bit system?


Last edited by Duncan Mac Leod on Sat Jan 20, 2018 7:00 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The_Great_Sephiroth
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 03 Oct 2014
Posts: 1364
Location: Fayetteville, NC, USA

PostPosted: Sat Jan 20, 2018 6:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I am NOT a kernel pro, but I wouldn't. That builds a 64bit kernel, which a 32bit CPU won't be able to boot. Are you SURE you have a 32bit CPU? You may have a 64bit CPU, since they've been around since 2003 or so. Itanium stuff was even before then. So what CPU do you have?
_________________
Ever picture systemd as what runs "The Borg"?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Duncan Mac Leod
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 02 May 2004
Posts: 251
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sat Jan 20, 2018 6:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The_Great_Sephiroth wrote:
I am NOT a kernel pro, but I wouldn't. That builds a 64bit kernel, which a 32bit CPU won't be able to boot. Are you SURE you have a 32bit CPU? You may have a 64bit CPU, since they've been around since 2003 or so. Itanium stuff was even before then. So what CPU do you have?


I have a 64-bit CPU, but I've a 32-bit Gentoo System. Just wondering WHY genkernel sets this flag. I always had a 32bit system, but now genkernel suggests to compile the kernel with this flag enabled.

I am using profile default/linux/x86/17.0/desktop/plasma
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ant P.
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 18 Apr 2009
Posts: 5761

PostPosted: Sat Jan 20, 2018 6:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Genkernel probably detects it from /proc/cpuinfo (cpuflags: lm). If the CPU's 64-bit then it's safe to have a 64-bit kernel even if your userland isn't.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Duncan Mac Leod
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 02 May 2004
Posts: 251
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sat Jan 20, 2018 7:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ant P. wrote:
If the CPU's 64-bit then it's safe to have a 64-bit kernel even if your userland isn't.


Just the info I wanted to know :wink: ...

I was not sure whether it is possible to have a 64bit kernel on a 32bit compiled system. Thank you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum