Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Cannot connect to wifi during installation.
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
pdv
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Mar 2018
Posts: 15
Location: India

PostPosted: Thu Mar 01, 2018 10:12 am    Post subject: Cannot connect to wifi during installation. Reply with quote

Hi,

I need some help getting my wifi to work during installation. I am using systemrescuecd and I have followed the steps here to configure my wifi with wpa_supplicant

Code:

livecd ~ #wpa_passphrase "ESSID" > /etc/wpa.conf

<then type your WiFi access point passphrase (without quotes) and press Enter>




livecd ~ #chmod -v 600 /etc/wpa.conf
livecd ~ #cat /etc/wpa.conf


livecd ~ #wpa_supplicant -Dnl80211,wext -iwlp2s0 -c/etc/wpa.conf -B

Successfully initialized wpa_supplicant


After this when I ping www.google.com it says it cannot resolve the name.

When I ping with the IP address instead it says host unreachable.

I tried using net-setup as well but was unable to get my wifi working.

How can this be done?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fturco
l33t
l33t


Joined: 08 Dec 2010
Posts: 629
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Thu Mar 01, 2018 10:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Probably after using wpa_supplicant you need to get an IP address with DHCP or something like that.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43192
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Thu Mar 01, 2018 10:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

pdv,

Welcome to Gentoo.

A wifi interface is like wired but with the extra steps to establish the radio link.
wpa_supplicant only does the extra steps.

Check dmesg to make sure you have your wifi both associated and authenticated.
When that's good the radio bit works.
Look at the SSID it connected to too. It might not be yours.

Now do
Code:
dhcpcd <interface_name>


Look in ifconfig for an ipaddress. My wired looks like
Code:
$ ifconfig
eth0: flags=4163<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,MULTICAST>  mtu 1500
        inet 192.168.100.20  netmask 255.255.255.0  broadcast 192.168.100.255


If your address starts 169. you have other problems. That means that no dhcp server was found.
Essentially, your router could not be contacted.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pdv
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Mar 2018
Posts: 15
Location: India

PostPosted: Thu Mar 01, 2018 10:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for taking the time to reply.
The output from dmesg -i -E 'x: xx.x|wlp2s0' was:

Code:
    0.338421] pci 0000:02:00.0: [168c:0036] type 00 class 0x028000
[    0.338523] pci 0000:02:00.0: reg 0x10: [mem 0xc0500000-0xc057ffff 64bit]
[    0.338688] pci 0000:02:00.0: reg 0x30: [mem 0xffff0000-0xffffffff pref]
[    0.338905] pci 0000:02:00.0: supports D1 D2
[    0.338909] pci 0000:02:00.0: PME# supported from D0 D1 D2 D3hot D3cold
[    0.572864] pci 0000:02:00.0: can't claim BAR 6 [mem 0xffff0000-0xffffffff$
[    0.573608] pci 0000:02:00.0: BAR 6: assigned [mem 0xc0580000-0xc058ffff p$
[   28.446695] ath9k 0000:02:00.0 wlp2s0: renamed from wlan0
[   36.866470] IPv6: ADDRCONF(NETDEV_UP): wlp2s0: link is not ready
[   36.879416] IPv6: ADDRCONF(NETDEV_UP): wlp2s0: link is not ready
[   36.901450] IPv6: ADDRCONF(NETDEV_UP): wlp2s0: link is not ready
[   37.228737] IPv6: ADDRCONF(NETDEV_UP): wlp2s0: link is not ready
[  380.065497] IPv6: ADDRCONF(NETDEV_UP): wlp2s0: link is not ready


Unfortunately, I don't know how to interpret this.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pdv
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Mar 2018
Posts: 15
Location: India

PostPosted: Thu Mar 01, 2018 11:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The output of

Code:
/sbin/routel


is

Code:
target            gateway          source    proto    scope    dev tbl
      127.0.0.0          broadcast       127.0.0.1   kernel     link     lo local
     127.0.0.0/ 8            local       127.0.0.1   kernel     host     lo local
      127.0.0.1              local       127.0.0.1   kernel     host     lo local
127.255.255.255          broadcast       127.0.0.1   kernel     link     lo local
            ::1              local                   kernel              lo local
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pdv
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Mar 2018
Posts: 15
Location: India

PostPosted: Thu Mar 01, 2018 11:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I managed to connect.

I created /etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf

Put in

Code:
ctrl_interface=/run/wpa_supplicant
update_config=1


Then ran
Code:

wpa_passphrase SSID password >> /etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf


Then ran

Code:
killall wpa_supplicant
wpa_supplicant -B -i <interface> -c /etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf
dhcpcd
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum