Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Missing intel gpu
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
joe6302413
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Dec 2014
Posts: 26
Location: Taipei, Taiwan

PostPosted: Wed Mar 14, 2018 6:14 am    Post subject: Missing intel gpu Reply with quote

Hi all,

My laptop is an acer 5742g with intel i5-460m and nvidia GT420m.
I was following https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/NVidia/nvidia-drivers, and now the nvidia gpu is working well.
However, I cannot see my intel gpu in the lspci and lshwout put.
Also, I cannot find any intel gpu hints in dmesg.
I, though knowing it doesn't make sense, still followed the kernel instruction and driver installation on https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Intel.
So the seeting of CONFIG_DRM_FBDEV_EMULATION=y is very certain.
I can't believe this laptop doesn't have the intel gpu working under hardware level....
Is there anything I miss to bring my intel gpu up to alive?
I can't understand what did I do wrong for weeks...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fedeliallalinea
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 08 Mar 2003
Posts: 21559
Location: here

PostPosted: Wed Mar 14, 2018 7:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You can post your lspci -nn?
In bios there is a option to enable disable intel video?
_________________
Questions are guaranteed in life; Answers aren't.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
joe6302413
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Dec 2014
Posts: 26
Location: Taipei, Taiwan

PostPosted: Wed Mar 14, 2018 9:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
00:00.0 Host bridge [0600]: Intel Corporation Core Processor DRAM Controller [8086:0044] (rev 02)
00:01.0 PCI bridge [0604]: Intel Corporation Core Processor PCI Express x16 Root Port [8086:0045] (rev 02)
00:16.0 Communication controller [0780]: Intel Corporation 5 Series/3400 Series Chipset HECI Controller [8086:3b64] (rev 06)
00:1a.0 USB controller [0c03]: Intel Corporation 5 Series/3400 Series Chipset USB2 Enhanced Host Controller [8086:3b3c] (rev 05)
00:1b.0 Audio device [0403]: Intel Corporation 5 Series/3400 Series Chipset High Definition Audio [8086:3b56] (rev 05)
00:1c.0 PCI bridge [0604]: Intel Corporation 5 Series/3400 Series Chipset PCI Express Root Port 1 [8086:3b42] (rev 05)
00:1c.1 PCI bridge [0604]: Intel Corporation 5 Series/3400 Series Chipset PCI Express Root Port 2 [8086:3b44] (rev 05)
00:1d.0 USB controller [0c03]: Intel Corporation 5 Series/3400 Series Chipset USB2 Enhanced Host Controller [8086:3b34] (rev 05)
00:1e.0 PCI bridge [0604]: Intel Corporation 82801 Mobile PCI Bridge [8086:2448] (rev a5)
00:1f.0 ISA bridge [0601]: Intel Corporation HM55 Chipset LPC Interface Controller [8086:3b09] (rev 05)
00:1f.2 SATA controller [0106]: Intel Corporation 5 Series/3400 Series Chipset 4 port SATA AHCI Controller [8086:3b29] (rev 05)
00:1f.3 SMBus [0c05]: Intel Corporation 5 Series/3400 Series Chipset SMBus Controller [8086:3b30] (rev 05)
00:1f.6 Signal processing controller [1180]: Intel Corporation 5 Series/3400 Series Chipset Thermal Subsystem [8086:3b32] (rev 05)
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller [0300]: NVIDIA Corporation GF108M [GeForce GT 420M] [10de:0df1] (rev a1)
01:00.1 Audio device [0403]: NVIDIA Corporation GF108 High Definition Audio Controller [10de:0bea] (rev a1)
02:00.0 Ethernet controller [0200]: Broadcom Limited NetLink BCM57780 Gigabit Ethernet PCIe [14e4:1692] (rev 01)
03:00.0 Network controller [0280]: Qualcomm Atheros AR9287 Wireless Network Adapter (PCI-Express) [168c:002e] (rev 01)
ff:00.0 Host bridge [0600]: Intel Corporation Core Processor QuickPath Architecture Generic Non-core Registers [8086:2c62] (rev 02)
ff:00.1 Host bridge [0600]: Intel Corporation Core Processor QuickPath Architecture System Address Decoder [8086:2d01] (rev 02)
ff:02.0 Host bridge [0600]: Intel Corporation Core Processor QPI Link 0 [8086:2d10] (rev 02)
ff:02.1 Host bridge [0600]: Intel Corporation 1st Generation Core i3/5/7 Processor QPI Physical 0 [8086:2d11] (rev 02)
ff:02.2 Host bridge [0600]: Intel Corporation 1st Generation Core i3/5/7 Processor Reserved [8086:2d12] (rev 02)
ff:02.3 Host bridge [0600]: Intel Corporation 1st Generation Core i3/5/7 Processor Reserved [8086:2d13] (rev 02)


This computer has no graphic card switch in bios. And I cannot disable each of them in bios as well.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 42850
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Wed Mar 14, 2018 9:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

joe6302413,

If you have the Intel GPU and it looks like you don't, the Intel and nVidia GPUs would not be switchable.
Instead, they would be arranged as an Optimus graphical solution.
With the Optimus graphics system, the Intel GPU is the only one that can refresh the display from the pixel buffer.
Either GPUs can draw the image.
This means that the Intel GPU is always used.

Conversely, it also means that if you don't use the Intel GPU at all' you only get a blank screen.

Please pastebin your /var/log/Xorg.0.log
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fedeliallalinea
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 08 Mar 2003
Posts: 21559
Location: here

PostPosted: Wed Mar 14, 2018 9:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

But your laptop have intel gpu?
I search but I see some models with only intel or only nvidia. What is correct model of your acer?
_________________
Questions are guaranteed in life; Answers aren't.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
joe6302413
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Dec 2014
Posts: 26
Location: Taipei, Taiwan

PostPosted: Wed Mar 14, 2018 10:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you both first.
I thought intel i5 stands for there is an intel gpu. I guess I am totally wrong.

Here is the pastbin of my xorg log https://pastebin.com/PXBTpk7b

This laptop is aspire 5742g model: pew71
I am not very sure is this the correct model series.
Thank you again
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 42850
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Wed Mar 14, 2018 2:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

joe6302413,

Code:
[    33.670] (II) NVIDIA(0): Validated MetaModes:
[    33.670] (II) NVIDIA(0):     "DFP-0:nvidia-auto-select,DFP-1:nvidia-auto-select"
[    33.671] (II) NVIDIA(0): Virtual screen size determined to be 3286 x 1080
[    33.676] (--) NVIDIA(0): DPI set to (99, 102); computed from "UseEdidDpi" X config

That says that the nVidia GPU is connected to the display.

Your log is also missing any setup for an Intel GPU

There are very few laptops with separate Intel and nVidia graphics systems.
It adds to the cost and reduces battery life.

As you clearly don't have an Optimus graphics system. I'm fairly confident you don't have an Intel GPU either.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
joe6302413
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Dec 2014
Posts: 26
Location: Taipei, Taiwan

PostPosted: Thu Mar 15, 2018 1:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

[quote]joe6302413,

代碼:
[ 33.670] (II) NVIDIA(0): Validated MetaModes:
[ 33.670] (II) NVIDIA(0): "DFP-0:nvidia-auto-select,DFP-1:nvidia-auto-select"
[ 33.671] (II) NVIDIA(0): Virtual screen size determined to be 3286 x 1080
[ 33.676] (--) NVIDIA(0): DPI set to (99, 102); computed from "UseEdidDpi" X config

That says that the nVidia GPU is connected to the display.

Your log is also missing any setup for an Intel GPU

There are very few laptops with separate Intel and nVidia graphics systems.
It adds to the cost and reduces battery life.

As you clearly don't have an Optimus graphics system. I'm fairly confident you don't have an Intel GPU either.
[\quote]

Thank you for checking through my log. Finally I learned that first generation intel i-cpu doesn't necessary mean there is a gpu.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum