Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
ACPI required for SMP?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
gcyoung
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 04 Jul 2007
Posts: 135
Location: England

PostPosted: Fri Mar 16, 2018 9:31 pm    Post subject: ACPI required for SMP? Reply with quote

[Moderator note: this post, and only this post, was originally attached to the 2.5 year dead thread Only 1 core out of 4 being used with kernel 4.0.5 [SOLVED]. -Hu]

I hope this query is not too far off the subject, but I have been getting too many exceptions/errors from ACPI on my ryzen 3 CPU, so I decided to remove it from the kernel.

Subsequently, I found myself reduced to one core, with a message "RCU restricting CPUs .....etc" . This, in spite of SMP being set in my kernel.

My query, therefore, is "Is ACPI essential for running a multi core processor?" An informed reply would be gratefully received.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eccerr0r
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2004
Posts: 7127
Location: almost Mile High in the USA

PostPosted: Sat Mar 17, 2018 12:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

For new machines, YES.

For old machines that support MPS (code in BIOS), NO. MPS machines tend to be so old they don't have ACPI BIOS (though there are a bunch where both are supported. However new machines tend to omit MPS.)
_________________
Intel Core i7 2700K@ 4.1GHz/HD3000 graphics/8GB DDR3/180GB SSD
What am I supposed watching?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gcyoung
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 04 Jul 2007
Posts: 135
Location: England

PostPosted: Sat Mar 17, 2018 12:20 pm    Post subject: ACPI required for Multicore processor Reply with quote

Many thanks Watchman. It seems I shall have to put up with the exception notifications!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
krinn
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 02 May 2003
Posts: 7071

PostPosted: Sat Mar 17, 2018 2:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

many bios offer acpi version, or even disable it.

but really, instead of disable acpi, you should try fixing your issue (open a thread and you'll get help) ; i would define as changing acpi version from 2 to 1 is acceptable, but disable it is not.
also because acpi is handle by bios, bios update may help, which for ryzen cpu, may help quiet a lot.

you also have a lot of ryzen threads here, like this one https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-1073658-highlight-ryzen.html which might already solve your problems with acpi or # of cpus

and a lot of gentoo users got ryzen, not myself but many users will be happy to help you fixing your issue and knowing what they are speaking off :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gcyoung
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 04 Jul 2007
Posts: 135
Location: England

PostPosted: Sun Mar 18, 2018 11:05 am    Post subject: ACPI errors Reply with quote

I have scouted around various websites in relation to the ACPI errors, and the general consensus seem to be that the majority are due to bugs in the BIOS, and one might be from IOMMU. But you are right, I should not give up on it, and the suggestion that I should first update the BIOS seems sensible.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum