Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Ethernet modules not found at boot [Solved]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Tefrem34
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 14 Sep 2014
Posts: 268
Location: USA, California

PostPosted: Sun Apr 01, 2018 10:02 am    Post subject: Ethernet modules not found at boot [Solved] Reply with quote

Hello,

I have done a few fresh installs of gentoo from the systemrescue cd. Everything seems to install fine, that is until I reboot and I have no internet connection. The loading list at boot has a red star next to Ethernet and it says can not load/find ethernet module. "ERROR: Interface eno1 does not exist", "ERROR: net.eno1 failed to start"
In the installation boot, ifconfig only shows lo :
In the livecd and chrooted into my gentoo install, "ifconfig"
Code:

eno1: flags=4163<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,MULTICAST>  mtu 1500
        inet 192.168.1.103  netmask 255.255.255.0  broadcast 192.168.1.255
        inet6 2600:6c55:7380:b4:bc92:26e0:9729:35e2  prefixlen 64  scopeid 0x0<global>
        inet6 fe80::2d0:8a6c:cfd5:af33  prefixlen 64  scopeid 0x20<link>
        ether 08:62:66:7e:de:0a  txqueuelen 1000  (Ethernet)
        RX packets 10497  bytes 9650325 (9.2 MiB)
        RX errors 0  dropped 0  overruns 0  frame 0
        TX packets 7069  bytes 783787 (765.4 KiB)
        TX errors 0  dropped 0 overruns 0  carrier 0  collisions 0
        device interrupt 20  memory 0xfb300000-fb320000 

lo: flags=73<UP,LOOPBACK,RUNNING>  mtu 65536
        inet 127.0.0.1  netmask 255.0.0.0
        inet6 ::1  prefixlen 128  scopeid 0x10<host>
        loop  txqueuelen 1  (Local Loopback)
        RX packets 0  bytes 0 (0.0 B)
        RX errors 0  dropped 0  overruns 0  frame 0
        TX packets 0  bytes 0 (0.0 B)
        TX errors 0  dropped 0 overruns 0  carrier 0  collisions 0


It shows eno1 as my device so I set "ln -s net.1o net.eno1" in my "/etc/init.d" dir
My "/etc/conf.d/net"
Code:
dns_domain_lo="gentoorbear"
config_eno1="dhcp"


I "rc-update add net.eno1 default"

I can not seem to find what the module is called for my network device.
I ran "ls /lib/modules/`uname -r`/kernel/drivers/net" and get this error
Code:
ls: cannot access '/lib/modules/4.4.28-std490-amd64/kernel/drivers/net': No such file or directory


Thus, "modprobe eno1" gives me an error
Code:
modprobe: FATAL: Module eno1 not found in directory /lib/modules/4.4.28-std490-amd64


I used the genkernel to make sure what I needed was installed.
Code:
cat /var/log/syslog | grep -e etwork -e eth0 | tail -n20
returns
Code:
Mar 31 13:24:08 gentoo kernel: e1000: Intel(R) PRO/1000 Network Driver - version 7.3.21-k8-NAPI


"lspci" "00:19.0 Ethernet controller: Intel Corporation Ethernet Connection (2) I218-V (rev 05)"

"uname -a" "Linux sysresccd 4.4.28-std490-amd64 #2 SMP Sat Oct 29 11:44:38 UTC 2016 x86_64 Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-5820K CPU @ 3.30GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux"

I just can not find a solution and I hope that I have enough information to get this sorted.

Thanks.

Code tags added by NeddySeagoon


Last edited by Tefrem34 on Mon Apr 02, 2018 11:19 pm; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43178
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sun Apr 01, 2018 10:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Tefrem34,

What does
Code:
ifconfig -a
show when you are booted into your Gentoo?
We only need interface names.
Your wired interface may be there but it may not be called eno1.

If there is no wired interface, the kernel module is not loaded.
We can work out what that is fron the Ethernet line is lspci.
eno1 is the logical name of the interface, not the name of the module you need to load.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tefrem34
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 14 Sep 2014
Posts: 268
Location: USA, California

PostPosted: Sun Apr 01, 2018 10:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
ifconfig -a
shows the same as just having
Code:
ifconfig


Quote:
eno1 is the logical name of the interface, not the name of the module you need to loa

Right, that is why I am getting frustrated. I can't seem to find it.


Last edited by Tefrem34 on Sun Apr 01, 2018 10:23 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43178
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sun Apr 01, 2018 10:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Tefrem34,

We need the Ethernet line from lspci then.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tefrem34
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 14 Sep 2014
Posts: 268
Location: USA, California

PostPosted: Sun Apr 01, 2018 10:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
00:19.0 Ethernet controller: Intel Corporation Ethernet Connection (2) I218-V (rev 05)

That is the line from "lspci". Or do you need the whole list?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43178
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sun Apr 01, 2018 10:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Tefrem34,

That will do nicely.

In your gentoo, as root, do
Code:
modprobe e1000e

Report the error on the command line an at the end of dmesg.

If there are no errors, does
Code:
ifconfig -a
show a wired interface?
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tefrem34
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 14 Sep 2014
Posts: 268
Location: USA, California

PostPosted: Sun Apr 01, 2018 10:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

chrooted:
Code:
modprobe e1000e
Code:
modprobe: FATAL: Module e1000e not found in directory /lib/modules/4.13.0-37-generic


Code:
ifconfig -a
Code:
eno1: flags=4163<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,MULTICAST>  mtu 1500
        inet 192.168.1.103  netmask 255.255.255.0  broadcast 192.168.1.255
        inet6 2600:6c55:7380:b4:ba2f:23ea:875a:b9cf  prefixlen 64  scopeid 0x0<global>
        inet6 2600:6c55:7300:135:d4f0:6b15:c14e:f8e8  prefixlen 64  scopeid 0x0<global>
        inet6 2600:6c55:7380:b4:d4f0:6b15:c14e:f8e8  prefixlen 64  scopeid 0x0<global>
        inet6 2600:6c55:7300:135:c09c:5b09:da56:2786  prefixlen 64  scopeid 0x0<global>
        inet6 fe80::43f7:714f:836e:85b1  prefixlen 64  scopeid 0x20<link>
        ether 08:62:66:7e:de:0a  txqueuelen 1000  (Ethernet)
        RX packets 400259  bytes 584596392 (557.5 MiB)
        RX errors 0  dropped 0  overruns 0  frame 0
        TX packets 199060  bytes 16665369 (15.8 MiB)
        TX errors 0  dropped 0 overruns 0  carrier 0  collisions 0
        device interrupt 20  memory 0xfb300000-fb320000 

lo: flags=73<UP,LOOPBACK,RUNNING>  mtu 65536
        inet 127.0.0.1  netmask 255.0.0.0
        inet6 ::1  prefixlen 128  scopeid 0x10<host>
        loop  txqueuelen 1000  (Local Loopback)
        RX packets 740  bytes 68941 (67.3 KiB)
        RX errors 0  dropped 0  overruns 0  frame 0
        TX packets 740  bytes 68941 (67.3 KiB)
        TX errors 0  dropped 0 overruns 0  carrier 0  collisions 0

Quote:
FATAL: Module e1000e not found in directory /lib/modules/4.13.0-37-generic
That is the same error that I got with other entries.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43178
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sun Apr 01, 2018 11:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Tefrem34,

Chrooted will not produce the right answers.

Boot your Gentoo, do the test and post the results.

If
Code:
modprobe: FATAL: Module e1000e not found in directory /lib/modules/4.13.0-37-generic
came from your Gentoo,
the e1000e module is missing from your kernel.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tefrem34
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 14 Sep 2014
Posts: 268
Location: USA, California

PostPosted: Sun Apr 01, 2018 11:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you.

So, with the e1000e module, I used "/" in makeconfig in the gentoo installation. I had "=y" on all the listed options except for one and it was a dependency called "(!SPARC32 || BROKEN [=n])".

Other than that the return was the same as before.
"ifconfig -a" just gives the "lo :" part.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tefrem34
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 14 Sep 2014
Posts: 268
Location: USA, California

PostPosted: Sun Apr 01, 2018 12:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I do not know if this is correct, but I edited "/etc/conf.d/modules" and added
Code:
modules=4.13.0-37-generic="e1000e"


So I am chrooted into my system and I do not see the e1000e module.
Code:
ls /lib/modules/4.9.76-gentoo-r1/kernel/drivers/net/ethernet/intel/
there are only
Code:
i40e  igb  igbvf  ixgb  ixgbe  ixgbevf

I am pretty sure when I was on the livecd it had the e1000e in that dir.

So do I need to try another Kernel?


Last edited by Tefrem34 on Sun Apr 01, 2018 12:21 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43178
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sun Apr 01, 2018 12:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Tefrem34,

Code:
modules="e1000e"
is better as that will load the module regardless of kernel version.

Look in
Code:
lsmod
to make sure that the e1000e module is loaded.
However, if your kernel config says
Code:
<*>     Intel(R) PRO/1000 PCI-Express Gigabit Ethernet support

Code:
Symbol: E1000E [=y]
then the driver is built into the kernel binary (in /boot) and there is no module to load.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tefrem34
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 14 Sep 2014
Posts: 268
Location: USA, California

PostPosted: Sun Apr 01, 2018 12:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
lsmod

Code:
e1000e                249856  0
ptp                    20480  1 e1000e


Quote:
then the driver is built into the kernel binary (in /boot) and there is no module to load
So does it need to be a module to load at boot?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 7089
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Sun Apr 01, 2018 12:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
lspci -k

00:1f.6 Ethernet controller: Intel Corporation Ethernet Connection (2) I219-V (rev 31)
        Subsystem: ASRock Incorporation Ethernet Connection (2) I219-V
        Kernel driver in use: e1000e

Does this command show the driver is loaded?
_________________
Please learn how to denote units correctly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tefrem34
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 14 Sep 2014
Posts: 268
Location: USA, California

PostPosted: Sun Apr 01, 2018 12:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
lspci -k
Code:
00:19.0 Ethernet controller: Intel Corporation Ethernet Connection (2) I218-V (rev 05)
        Subsystem: ASUSTeK Computer Inc. Ethernet Connection (2) I218-V
        Kernel driver in use: e1000e

But I am chrooted right now.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43178
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sun Apr 01, 2018 1:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Tefrem34,

We need you to test in your own Gentoo.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tefrem34
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 14 Sep 2014
Posts: 268
Location: USA, California

PostPosted: Sun Apr 01, 2018 1:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

From gentoo installation:
Quote:
lspci -k

Code:
00:19.0 Ethernet controller: Intel Corporation Ethernet Connection (2) I218-V (rev 05)
        Subsystem: ASUSTeK Computer Inc. Ethernet Connection (2) I218-V

Quote:
lsmod

Code:
e1000        114688  0

There was no e1000e.


Last edited by Tefrem34 on Sun Apr 01, 2018 2:42 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43178
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sun Apr 01, 2018 1:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Tefrem34,

Inside your Gentoo, what does
Code:
uname -a
show?
I get
Code:
$ uname -a
Linux NeddySeagoon_Static 4.16.0-rc3 #1 SMP PREEMPT Tue Feb 27 20:01:09 GMT 2018 x86_64 AMD Phenom(tm) II X6 1090T Processor AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux

The Time/Date
Code:
Tue Feb 27 20:01:09 GMT 2018
is the build time of the running kernel.
If you have made a kernel since then, its not being used.

Again, inside your Gentoo what does
Code:
zgrep E1000 /proc/config.gz
show?
From your last post, E1000 should be listed, what of E1000E?

Then
Code:
grep E1000 /usr/src/linux/.config
what does it return?

I suspect you are not running the kernel you think you are.

Note: E1000 will match both E1000 and E1000E.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tefrem34
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 14 Sep 2014
Posts: 268
Location: USA, California

PostPosted: Sun Apr 01, 2018 1:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

From gentoo installation:
Code:
uname -a

Code:
Linux gentoo 4.14.12-2 #1 SMP Fri Mar 30 17:10:09 PTD 2018 x86_64 Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-5820k CPU @3.30GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux

date
Code:
Sun Apr 1 13:40:51 PDT 2018
which is wrong.
Code:
zgrep E1000 /proc/config.gz

Code:
CONFIG_E1000=m
CONFIG_E1000E=m
CONFIG_E1000E_HWTS=y

Code:
grep E1000 /usr/src/linux/.config

Code:
CONFIG_E1000=m
CONFIG_E1000E=m
CONFIG_E1000E_HWTS=y

Quote:
From your last post, E1000 should be listed, what of E1000E?
The E1000 was all that it showed in the list.

Last edited by Tefrem34 on Sun Apr 01, 2018 2:42 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 7089
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Sun Apr 01, 2018 2:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Tefrem34,

in your previous post, all was done from your Gentoo, nothing from chroot?
_________________
Please learn how to denote units correctly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
krinn
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 02 May 2003
Posts: 7071

PostPosted: Sun Apr 01, 2018 2:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You should really stop providing livecd infos mix with your own infos, or better make it clearer from where it comes, made me lost.

Code:
Linux gentoo 4.14.12-2 #1

Date help, but the #1 mean you've built that kernel only 1 time (it's kernel build count), so no need to check anymore if your kernel has change or not.

Ok next is my infos (yep have an asustek with also an intel, and even the same model as you
Code:
00:19.0 Ethernet controller: Intel Corporation Ethernet Connection (2) I218-V
   Subsystem: ASUSTeK Computer Inc. Ethernet Connection (2) I218-V
   Kernel driver in use: e1000e
   Kernel modules: e1000e

Kernel driver in use: e1000e -> saying "the card use the driver e1000e" ; if when you do lspci -k you don't have that entry, the driver is not working
Kernel modules: e1000e -> saying also using e1000e, but it's not important there, what is important is that it is also saying "the drive is build as module", if the driver was build-in the kernel i wouldn't get that entry.

Normally, you shouldn't have to care to load the module yourself, your device manager will detect the card and load the driver for you.
All you need to do, is making sure the drive is build-in kernel, or build as module.

And if it is, like it seems if really you did show YOUR kernel when you did zgrep E1000 /proc/config.gz ; then it mean you have a trouble with your device manager more than the card itself.

So please, make it clear: do you really see CONFIG_E1000E=m when you do zgrep E1000 /proc/config.gz on YOUR own kernel and not from a livecd/chroot/whatever.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tefrem34
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 14 Sep 2014
Posts: 268
Location: USA, California

PostPosted: Sun Apr 01, 2018 2:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jaglover,
Yes. Nothing from chroot.

krinn,
Sorry it was not clear.
The last two of my post, was all from the gentoo installation, and I hand copied what the output of the commands I was asked to provide.
Quote:
then it mean you have a trouble with your device manager more than the card itself
So should I build and install another version of the device manager?

Last edited by Tefrem34 on Sun Apr 01, 2018 2:49 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tony0945
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 25 Jul 2006
Posts: 3076
Location: Illinois, USA

PostPosted: Sun Apr 01, 2018 2:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Tefrem34 wrote:
Thank you.

So, with the e1000e module, I used "/" in makeconfig in the gentoo installation. I had "=y" on all the listed options except for one and it was a dependency called "(!SPARC32 || BROKEN [=n])".

Other than that the return was the same as before.
"ifconfig -a" just gives the "lo :" part.

If that is literally true, you need to change it from =y to =m, otherwise there will be no module.

You should have a file like this:
Code:
/lib64/modules/4.4.75-gentoo/kernel/drivers/net/ethernet/intel/e1000e/e1000e.ko

Except the 4.4.75-gentoo will be different as that is the kernel name from "uname -r".
If I have my shell script correct, try
Code:
ls -l /lib/modules/`uname -r`/kernel/drivers/net/ethernet/*

Those are backticks not apostrophes.

You probably won't find it, because I think you built it into the kernel not as a module. That's what you said in the quote.


Last edited by Tony0945 on Sun Apr 01, 2018 3:06 pm; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
krinn
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 02 May 2003
Posts: 7071

PostPosted: Sun Apr 01, 2018 2:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
modprobe e1000e && lsmod

if this fail, it's because your kernel has e1000e support by module, but the module cannot be found : which mean you have forget to make modules_install when you have build your kernel

if it works, then we will more need rc-update output
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
John R. Graham
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 08 Mar 2005
Posts: 10262
Location: Somewhere over Atlanta, Georgia

PostPosted: Sun Apr 01, 2018 2:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Earlier he reported he used genkernel, which should've done that automatically. Tefrem34, what's the genkernel command you used?

- John
_________________
I can confirm that I have received between 0 and 499 National Security Letters.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tefrem34
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 14 Sep 2014
Posts: 268
Location: USA, California

PostPosted: Sun Apr 01, 2018 2:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Tony0945,
Quote:
If that is literally true, you need to change it from =y to =m, otherwise there will be no module

If it is built in, shouldn't it just work then?

John,
Code:
genkernel --menuconfig all


krinn,
Quote:
if it works, then we will more need rc-update output

Do you mean?
Code:
rc-update add eno1 default
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum