Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Ethernet modules not found at boot [Solved]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Tefrem34
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 14 Sep 2014
Posts: 268
Location: USA, California

PostPosted: Sun Apr 01, 2018 9:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Tony0945,
Quote:
You should have a file like this:
Code:
/lib64/modules/4.4.75-gentoo/kernel/drivers/net/ethernet/intel/e1000e/e1000e.ko

Except the 4.4.75-gentoo will be different as that is the kernel name from "uname -r".
If I have my shell script correct, try
Code:
ls -l /lib/modules/`uname -r`/kernel/drivers/net/ethernet/*

Those are backticks not apostrophes.

There is no e1000e in "lib64" or "lib". There is only
Code:
i40 igb igbvf ixgb ixgbe ixgbevf
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tefrem34
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 14 Sep 2014
Posts: 268
Location: USA, California

PostPosted: Sun Apr 01, 2018 9:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I am wondering if I try a newer kernel that it will have the e1000e module that I need in it?
This is strange, because I have other distros installed and it is only gentoo that can not load the Ethernet driver.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 7090
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Sun Apr 01, 2018 9:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

e1000e driver has been in kernel for ages. You are doing something wrong. Maybe not mounting /boot before installing a new kernel. Maybe not installing modules. It is hard to tell, too much controversial and confusing information.
_________________
Please learn how to denote units correctly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
John R. Graham
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 08 Mar 2005
Posts: 10261
Location: Somewhere over Atlanta, Georgia

PostPosted: Mon Apr 02, 2018 12:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Tefrem34 wrote:
There is no e1000e in "lib64" or "lib". There is only
Code:
i40 igb igbvf ixgb ixgbe ixgbevf
Try
Code:
mount /boot
genkernel --install kernel
and then report what's in /lib*/modules/*.

- John
_________________
I can confirm that I have received between 0 and 499 National Security Letters.


Last edited by John R. Graham on Mon Apr 02, 2018 12:26 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hu
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 06 Mar 2007
Posts: 13845

PostPosted: Mon Apr 02, 2018 12:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

At the risk of causing more confusion:

There are several stages to getting a working network. You need the appropriate driver to be compiled and available, you need it to load (happens automatically for =y, happens in response to module loading for =m), you need it to recognize the card, and you need the card to be configured.

If the driver is built in, it should initialize at boot and bind to the network card. If bound, ifconfig -a should show it. lspci -k should show that the driver is in use. ifconfig without arguments will not show the device if it has not been configured. When troubleshooting early problems like this, you need to be careful to use -a (or better, don't use ifconfig at all; use ip link (from sys-apps/iproute2) instead). We haven't even begun discussing whether your device has been configured. We're still focused on getting the driver to initialize and bind the device.

You said you hand-copied the output out. Don't do that. It makes mistakes more likely and it's more trouble for you. It will only become a bigger burden as we move to commands that produce more output. Instead, save the output to a file, then transport that file via sneakernet to a working system or, if your only working system is the LiveCD, reboot into the LiveCD, cat the file from the chroot, and post it that way.

At this point, I think the best option would be:
  1. On the installed system, run lspci -k ; ifconfig -a and redirect the output to a file.
  2. On the installed system, run zcat /proc/config.gz and redirect the output to a file (separate from the file above).
  3. On the installed system, run find "/lib/modules/$(uname -r)/kernel/drivers/" -name \*.ko -ls and redirect the output to a file.
  4. Reboot to the LiveCD. Install app-text/wgetpaste (if not already installed).
  5. Pastebin the files from steps 1-3 and give us the link.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tony0945
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 25 Jul 2006
Posts: 3076
Location: Illinois, USA

PostPosted: Mon Apr 02, 2018 1:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Tefrem34 wrote:
Tony0945,
Quote:
If that is literally true, you need to change it from =y to =m, otherwise there will be no module

If it is built in, shouldn't it just work then?

You would think so, but my experience is that video and ethernet need to be modules.
modprobe won't show anything if it's not built as a module with "=m"

Tefrem34 wrote:

krinn,
Quote:
if it works, then we will more need rc-update output

Do you mean?
Code:
rc-update add eno1 default


If you run rc-update by itself, it will show you what will run at what runlevel. Example:
Code:
~ # rc-update
                acpid |      default
            alsasound |      default
              anacron |      default
              apache2 |      default
                  atd |      default
               binfmt | boot
             bootmisc | boot
          consolefont | boot
                cupsd |      default
                devfs |                                        sysinit
                dmesg |                                        sysinit
              dnsmasq |      default
                 fsck | boot
Complete output is here: https://paste.pound-python.org/show/DKH2FPoK1DyTMcXbZyCt/
I'm pretty sure that's what krinn means.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tefrem34
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 14 Sep 2014
Posts: 268
Location: USA, California

PostPosted: Mon Apr 02, 2018 4:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hu,
I booted into my gentoo installation and these are the outputs:
Code:
lspci -k

http://bpaste.net/show/fe5e59f40311
Code:
lspci -a

http://bpaste.net/show/c50f1544b9b4
Code:
zcat /proc/config.gz

http://bpaste.net/show/6d8fb59e9708
Code:
find "/lib/modules/$(uname -r)/kernel/drivers/" -name \*.ko -ls

Code:
find: ‘/lib/modules/4.13.0-37-generic/kernel/drivers/’: No such file or directory


Now I am going to try "genkernel --install kernel" from the chroot first, and then will try the livecd if that doesn't work.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tefrem34
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 14 Sep 2014
Posts: 268
Location: USA, California

PostPosted: Mon Apr 02, 2018 5:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I ran "genkernel --install kernel" then
Code:
ls /lib/modules/4.9.76-gentoo-r1/kernel/drivers/net/ethernet/intel/
and am still missing the e1000/e1000e modules
Code:
i40e  igb  igbvf  ixgb  ixgbe  ixgbevf

Was I supposed to run something else after "genkernel --install kernel"?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tefrem34
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 14 Sep 2014
Posts: 268
Location: USA, California

PostPosted: Mon Apr 02, 2018 6:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

[/code]Alright, this looks promising.
I upgraded my genkernel to 3.5.2.5 and ran (chrooted) "genkernel --menuconfig all" in my
Code:
/usr/src/linux
dir.
Then ran:
Code:
find /lib/modules/4.9.76-gentoo-r1/ -type f -iname '*.o' -or -iname '*.ko' | less
http://bpaste.net/show/b4e87dbeb109 and I am seeing the e1000e module in the list now.
I am going to reboot into my gentoo installation and see if it worked.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tefrem34
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 14 Sep 2014
Posts: 268
Location: USA, California

PostPosted: Mon Apr 02, 2018 7:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

So, sadly it did not work.
However, I did notice that the modprobe error points to "/lib/modules/4/14/12-2", but the modules are listed in "/lib*/modules/4.9.76-gentoo-r1/...". Should it be this way?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
grumblebear
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 26 Feb 2008
Posts: 141

PostPosted: Mon Apr 02, 2018 8:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It seems, before solving your network problem, you should learn, how to configure and use your bootloader. The kernel you are booting will only use the modules that were specifically compiled for that kernel. That means, the output of 'uname -r' is the directory in /lib/modules where the kernel will look for its modules.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43192
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Mon Apr 02, 2018 9:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Tefrem34,

It appears you are building one kernel and running another.
Boot your gentoo
Mount /boot
Run
Code:
eselect kernel list
eselect kernel sex X

where X in the number of the newest kernel.
This chooses the kernel you will build.

Code:
genkernel all
will build that kernel and provided you did the
Code:
mount /boot
, install it into boot for the bootloader to find.
That should get you a kernel with e1000e support.
Use the command
Code:
genkernel --menuconfig all
if you want to check.
Trust but verify :)

That's the first step to generate your kernel.

The next step is to get the boot loader to actually load it.
Follow the steps in the [https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Handbook:AMD64/Installation/Bootloader]Gentoo Handbook[/url] for your use case.

The last step is to reboot and read the boot loader menu.
Choose the option that is the same kernel version as the one you just built.
That may not be the default.

Until
Code:
lspci -k
shows e1000e against your network card, nothing else matters.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tefrem34
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 14 Sep 2014
Posts: 268
Location: USA, California

PostPosted: Mon Apr 02, 2018 8:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon,
Quote:
It appears you are building one kernel and running another
Quote:
The last step is to reboot and read the boot loader menu.
Choose the option that is the same kernel version as the one you just built.
That may not be the default.

I am glad you pointed this out. I was booting into the default option. As soon as I used the kernel version I was building "4.9.76-gentoo-r1" there was no error message after boot.
However, when I ran
Code:
eselect kernel list
there is only one option. So why am I getting two different version?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 7090
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Mon Apr 02, 2018 8:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

eslect kernel does not manage kernels, it manages only the symlink to the kernel sources.
_________________
Please learn how to denote units correctly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
krinn
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 02 May 2003
Posts: 7071

PostPosted: Mon Apr 02, 2018 11:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

[quote="Tefrem34"]
Quote:
It appears you are building one kernel and running another
Quote:
The last step is to reboot and read the boot loader menu.
So why am I getting two different version?

Because he didn't say "two different version", but "two different kernels", which might be the exact same kernel and version, but build differently.

I think what you did was:
build a kernel with module e1000e (#1)
build a kernel without module e1000e (#2)
When you have done #1, you forget to make modules_install, and the e1000e was never install, but when we ask you to look at its running config (the zgrep E1000 /proc/config.gz) it do show e1000e is built as module.
Now if your kernel #2 is setup with e1000e build-in or none, or you didn't built it, doing make modules_install is doing nothing to get e1000e back.

That's for me the logical step you did to get there, but i must say, it's quiet blurry, because your thread is a mess without name :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tefrem34
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 14 Sep 2014
Posts: 268
Location: USA, California

PostPosted: Mon Apr 02, 2018 11:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I want to thank all of you for helping me getting this all sorted, I really appreciate it!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2
Page 2 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum