Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Help getting microcode updates to work
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
CarterCox
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Jan 2018
Posts: 34

PostPosted: Tue Apr 24, 2018 11:35 pm    Post subject: Help getting microcode updates to work Reply with quote

Hello! I am trying to enable microcode updates on my system (following this: https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Intel_microcode#Installation ; https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Intel_microcode#New_method_without_initram-fs.2Fdisk). The output of

Code:
iucode_tools -S -l /lib/firmware/intel-ucode/*


is: https://pastebin.com/raw/igHEsGDM

So naturally I modified the following files as follows:

make.conf: https://pastebin.com/raw/tRdJmsjS

And configured the kernel adding "intel-ucode/06-17-0a" to "External firmware blobs to build into the kernel binary". (https://s26.postimg.cc/fmpv8ktmx/IMG_20180424_202800_1.jpg)
Then when running

Code:
dmesg|grep firmware
[    0.855758] microcode: sig=0x1067a, pf=0x80, revision=0xa0b
[    0.855797] microcode: Microcode Update Driver: v2.01 <tigran@aivazian.fsnet.co.uk>, Peter Oruba

Which means the microcode is not being updated.

Any ideas?

Thanks for taking the time.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bbgermany
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 21 Feb 2005
Posts: 1791
Location: Oranienburg/Germany

PostPosted: Wed Apr 25, 2018 7:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,

maybe you should tell us a bit more about your hardware. Intel just has dropped microcode updates for spectre and meltdown for several older cpus.

greets, bb
_________________
1st: i5-4570, 16GB, 1.75TB
2nd: i5-4570, 16GB, 620GB
3rd: i5-4570, 16GB, 10,5TB
4th: Asus N61VN, 8GB, 240GB
5th: C2D T7200, 2GB, 16GB USB + NFS
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pietinger
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Oct 2006
Posts: 48

PostPosted: Wed Apr 25, 2018 10:55 am    Post subject: Re: Help getting microcode updates to work Reply with quote

CarterCox wrote:

Any ideas?


You have to boot with your new kernel and then you will find at timestamp 0.0000 a line like this:

Code:
kernel: [    0.000000] microcode: microcode updated early to revision 0xc2, date = 2017-11-16
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
krinn
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 02 May 2003
Posts: 7071

PostPosted: Wed Apr 25, 2018 11:15 am    Post subject: Re: Help getting microcode updates to work Reply with quote

CarterCox wrote:
Code:
dmesg|grep firmware
[    0.855758] microcode: sig=0x1067a, pf=0x80, revision=0xa0b
[    0.855797] microcode: Microcode Update Driver: v2.01 <tigran@aivazian.fsnet.co.uk>, Peter Oruba

Which means the microcode is not being updated.

It is also telling you why, the microcode in use by the cpu is 0xa0b, the update is 0xa0b, so you do not get any update because there's no need for an update.

It mean then you have no microcode update earlier than the microcode in use by your cpu.
So nothing you or us could do about it (sorry)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
CarterCox
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Jan 2018
Posts: 34

PostPosted: Wed Apr 25, 2018 12:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

@bbgermany: Hi. My processor is an Intel Core 2 duo P8700. The laptop an EliteBook 6930p.

@pietinger: I did that. That dmesg is after rebooting.

@krinn: So you are saying I am using the "latest" microcode available for my processor? If that's the case then great!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
krinn
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 02 May 2003
Posts: 7071

PostPosted: Wed Apr 25, 2018 2:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

CarterCox wrote:
@krinn: So you are saying I am using the "latest" microcode available for my processor? If that's the case then great!

It could be that the update appears before microcode (the program/tool there) from kernel is use, so either:
* your cpu is using latest microcode already (built with it, which could be for a cpu made after the microcode update date)
* your bios or something earlier update the microcode to latest one already.

In both cases, yes, your cpu microcode is the latest in use
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
CarterCox
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Jan 2018
Posts: 34

PostPosted: Wed Apr 25, 2018 3:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sounds good. So if I undo everything I did so far it would be the same, right?

Is there any way to check (version, etc.)?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
krinn
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 02 May 2003
Posts: 7071

PostPosted: Wed Apr 25, 2018 4:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You can check this with cat /proc/cpuinfo, microcode version in use is shown there.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
P.Kosunen
Guru
Guru


Joined: 21 Nov 2005
Posts: 309
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Wed Apr 25, 2018 4:22 pm    Post subject: Re: Help getting microcode updates to work Reply with quote

CarterCox wrote:
is: https://pastebin.com/raw/igHEsGDM

Quote:
034/001: sig 0x0001067a, pf_mask 0xa0, 2010-09-28, rev 0x0a0b, size 8192

CarterCox wrote:
Code:
[    0.855758] microcode: sig=0x1067a, pf=0x80, revision=0xa0b


0xa0b is revision of Microcode in update and BIOS.

sys-apps/dmidecode can show detailed info from system.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
CarterCox
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Jan 2018
Posts: 34

PostPosted: Wed Apr 25, 2018 5:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

@krinn: Thanks. I'll check that.

@P.Kosunen: Oh boy. I was looking for the message at 0.0000 and didn't check the version dmesg was reporting. I guess I went through the process for nothing.

So this means I can uninstall intel-microcode and iucode_tool and reset all the modified files to their original state?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bbgermany
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 21 Feb 2005
Posts: 1791
Location: Oranienburg/Germany

PostPosted: Thu Apr 26, 2018 5:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

CarterCox wrote:
@bbgermany: Hi. My processor is an Intel Core 2 duo P8700. The laptop an EliteBook 6930p.

@pietinger: I did that. That dmesg is after rebooting.

@krinn: So you are saying I am using the "latest" microcode available for my processor? If that's the case then great!


As expected. Since you have an Core2Duo, your latest microcode revision is the one you have installed. The latest microcode for this specific cpu is 0xA0E.

you won't get another message even with a more modern kernel. I have the same cpu in my laptop and i get the same message.

greets, bb

EDIT: take a look at this pdf. It will show you the needed information: https://newsroom.intel.com/wp-content/uploads/sites/11/2018/03/microcode-update-guidance.pdf
_________________
1st: i5-4570, 16GB, 1.75TB
2nd: i5-4570, 16GB, 620GB
3rd: i5-4570, 16GB, 10,5TB
4th: Asus N61VN, 8GB, 240GB
5th: C2D T7200, 2GB, 16GB USB + NFS
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
CarterCox
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Jan 2018
Posts: 34

PostPosted: Fri Apr 27, 2018 3:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

@bbgermany: Thanks a lot. That's very useful.
_________________
“Once, my TV didn’t work, so I kicked it. And it started working again.”
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum