Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[SOLVED] No video on new kernel...
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
The_Great_Sephiroth
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 03 Oct 2014
Posts: 1364
Location: Fayetteville, NC, USA

PostPosted: Mon Apr 30, 2018 2:25 pm    Post subject: [SOLVED] No video on new kernel... Reply with quote

I just did a fresh install on a system we have had for a while. The thing is, the Intel video on-board won't give me any video after post, so I must have missed something with the new kernel.
Code:

g9nj1r1 ~ # lspci -knn
00:00.0 Host bridge [0600]: Intel Corporation 4 Series Chipset DRAM Controller [8086:2e10] (rev 03)
        Subsystem: Dell 4 Series Chipset DRAM Controller [1028:0420]
00:01.0 PCI bridge [0604]: Intel Corporation 4 Series Chipset PCI Express Root Port [8086:2e11] (rev 03)
        Kernel driver in use: pcieport
00:02.0 VGA compatible controller [0300]: Intel Corporation 4 Series Chipset Integrated Graphics Controller [8086:2e12] (rev 03)
        Subsystem: Dell 4 Series Chipset Integrated Graphics Controller [1028:0420]
        Kernel driver in use: i915
00:02.1 Display controller [0380]: Intel Corporation 4 Series Chipset Integrated Graphics Controller [8086:2e13] (rev 03)
        Subsystem: Dell 4 Series Chipset Integrated Graphics Controller [1028:0420]
00:03.0 Communication controller [0780]: Intel Corporation 4 Series Chipset HECI Controller [8086:2e14] (rev 03)
        Subsystem: Dell 4 Series Chipset HECI Controller [1028:0420]
        Kernel driver in use: mei_me
00:03.2 IDE interface [0101]: Intel Corporation 4 Series Chipset PT IDER Controller [8086:2e16] (rev 03)
        Subsystem: Dell 4 Series Chipset PT IDER Controller [1028:0420]
        Kernel driver in use: ata_generic
        Kernel modules: pata_acpi, ata_generic
00:03.3 Serial controller [0700]: Intel Corporation 4 Series Chipset Serial KT Controller [8086:2e17] (rev 03)
        Subsystem: Dell 4 Series Chipset Serial KT Controller [1028:0420]
        Kernel driver in use: serial
00:19.0 Ethernet controller [0200]: Intel Corporation 82567LM-3 Gigabit Network Connection [8086:10de] (rev 02)
        Subsystem: Dell 82567LM-3 Gigabit Network Connection [1028:0276]
        Kernel driver in use: e1000e
00:1a.0 USB controller [0c03]: Intel Corporation 82801JD/DO (ICH10 Family) USB UHCI Controller #4 [8086:3a67] (rev 02)
        Subsystem: Dell 82801JD/DO (ICH10 Family) USB UHCI Controller [1028:0420]
        Kernel driver in use: uhci_hcd
00:1a.1 USB controller [0c03]: Intel Corporation 82801JD/DO (ICH10 Family) USB UHCI Controller #5 [8086:3a68] (rev 02)
        Subsystem: Dell 82801JD/DO (ICH10 Family) USB UHCI Controller [1028:0420]
        Kernel driver in use: uhci_hcd
00:1a.2 USB controller [0c03]: Intel Corporation 82801JD/DO (ICH10 Family) USB UHCI Controller #6 [8086:3a69] (rev 02)
        Subsystem: Dell 82801JD/DO (ICH10 Family) USB UHCI Controller [1028:0420]
        Kernel driver in use: uhci_hcd
00:1a.7 USB controller [0c03]: Intel Corporation 82801JD/DO (ICH10 Family) USB2 EHCI Controller #2 [8086:3a6c] (rev 02)
        Subsystem: Dell 82801JD/DO (ICH10 Family) USB2 EHCI Controller [1028:0420]
        Kernel driver in use: ehci-pci
00:1b.0 Audio device [0403]: Intel Corporation 82801JD/DO (ICH10 Family) HD Audio Controller [8086:3a6e] (rev 02)
        Subsystem: Dell 82801JD/DO (ICH10 Family) HD Audio Controller [1028:0420]
        Kernel driver in use: snd_hda_intel
00:1c.0 PCI bridge [0604]: Intel Corporation 82801JD/DO (ICH10 Family) PCI Express Port 1 [8086:3a70] (rev 02)
        Kernel driver in use: pcieport
00:1c.1 PCI bridge [0604]: Intel Corporation 82801JD/DO (ICH10 Family) PCI Express Port 2 [8086:3a72] (rev 02)
        Kernel driver in use: pcieport
00:1d.0 USB controller [0c03]: Intel Corporation 82801JD/DO (ICH10 Family) USB UHCI Controller #1 [8086:3a64] (rev 02)
        Subsystem: Dell 82801JD/DO (ICH10 Family) USB UHCI Controller [1028:0420]
        Kernel driver in use: uhci_hcd
00:1d.1 USB controller [0c03]: Intel Corporation 82801JD/DO (ICH10 Family) USB UHCI Controller #2 [8086:3a65] (rev 02)
        Subsystem: Dell 82801JD/DO (ICH10 Family) USB UHCI Controller [1028:0420]
        Kernel driver in use: uhci_hcd
00:1d.2 USB controller [0c03]: Intel Corporation 82801JD/DO (ICH10 Family) USB UHCI Controller #3 [8086:3a66] (rev 02)
        Subsystem: Dell 82801JD/DO (ICH10 Family) USB UHCI Controller [1028:0420]
        Kernel driver in use: uhci_hcd
00:1d.7 USB controller [0c03]: Intel Corporation 82801JD/DO (ICH10 Family) USB2 EHCI Controller #1 [8086:3a6a] (rev 02)
        Subsystem: Dell 82801JD/DO (ICH10 Family) USB2 EHCI Controller [1028:0420]
        Kernel driver in use: ehci-pci
00:1e.0 PCI bridge [0604]: Intel Corporation 82801 PCI Bridge [8086:244e] (rev a2)
00:1f.0 ISA bridge [0601]: Intel Corporation 82801JDO (ICH10DO) LPC Interface Controller [8086:3a14] (rev 02)
        Subsystem: Dell 82801JDO (ICH10DO) LPC Interface Controller [1028:0420]
        Kernel driver in use: lpc_ich
00:1f.2 SATA controller [0106]: Intel Corporation 82801JD/DO (ICH10 Family) SATA AHCI Controller [8086:3a02] (rev 02)
        Subsystem: Dell 82801JD/DO (ICH10 Family) SATA AHCI Controller [1028:0420]
        Kernel driver in use: ahci
00:1f.3 SMBus [0c05]: Intel Corporation 82801JD/DO (ICH10 Family) SMBus Controller [8086:3a60] (rev 02)
        Subsystem: Dell 82801JD/DO (ICH10 Family) SMBus Controller [1028:0420]
        Kernel driver in use: i801_smbus

My kernel configuration can be viewed here.

*UPDATE*

The solution can be found here.
_________________
Ever picture systemd as what runs "The Borg"?


Last edited by The_Great_Sephiroth on Tue May 15, 2018 3:33 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The_Great_Sephiroth
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 03 Oct 2014
Posts: 1364
Location: Fayetteville, NC, USA

PostPosted: Mon Apr 30, 2018 3:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I just realized I had forgotten to set two EDID options. I have set them and am building a clean kernel using a chroot from System Rescue CD. This is likely my problem. I will report the results.
_________________
Ever picture systemd as what runs "The Borg"?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tony0945
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 25 Jul 2006
Posts: 3076
Location: Illinois, USA

PostPosted: Tue May 01, 2018 1:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Why did you re-install rather than just update?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hu
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 06 Mar 2007
Posts: 13831

PostPosted: Tue May 01, 2018 3:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't think he reinstalled all of Gentoo. Rather, he had no viable installed kernels, so he had to use the rescue media to bring the system to a point that he could make his intended kernel changes.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The_Great_Sephiroth
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 03 Oct 2014
Posts: 1364
Location: Fayetteville, NC, USA

PostPosted: Tue May 01, 2018 1:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It was a reinstall. It had Debian 7 on it. No direct path to Gentoo except for a clean install. Either way I have no video in the shell but the X server does show up. The issue with this is that I cannot create user accounts due to no shell.
_________________
Ever picture systemd as what runs "The Borg"?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
steveL
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 13 Sep 2006
Posts: 5153
Location: The Peanut Gallery

PostPosted: Tue May 01, 2018 3:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The_Great_Sephiroth wrote:
It was a reinstall. It had Debian 7 on it. No direct path to Gentoo except for a clean install. Either way I have no video in the shell but the X server does show up. The issue with this is that I cannot create user accounts due to no shell.
Is it EFI? You should be able to get a console using the EFI bios (there's a kernel module for that.) In my case, it starts up with that, and then switches to radeon (which required linux-firmware.)

You should be able to get a shell in X via an xterm, and su - to get root access. (for future ref, if you've reinstalled.)

Also, I noticed you have a subsidiary pci device 00:02.1 on your graphics controller, listed as Intel, then Dell.
There's no module listed for that, not sure if it matters.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The_Great_Sephiroth
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 03 Oct 2014
Posts: 1364
Location: Fayetteville, NC, USA

PostPosted: Wed May 02, 2018 3:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Without a user account I cannot login to X to open a console. I do get X to come up, but no shell prior to that. Also, this system does not support EFI/UEFI. It is BIOS only.
_________________
Ever picture systemd as what runs "The Borg"?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
steveL
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 13 Sep 2006
Posts: 5153
Location: The Peanut Gallery

PostPosted: Wed May 02, 2018 2:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK, but it's sorted now, as you did a reinstall?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The_Great_Sephiroth
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 03 Oct 2014
Posts: 1364
Location: Fayetteville, NC, USA

PostPosted: Wed May 02, 2018 6:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

No. I had Debian. I zeroed the disk. I installed Gentoo. No video until X comes up. No account so no login to X. If I press CTRL+ALT+F1 to switch to VT1 the mouse cursor disappears and I get a still image of the login screen. Pressing ALT+F7 takes me back to the actual login screen. I still have no shell video. I do not have EFI/UEFI.
_________________
Ever picture systemd as what runs "The Borg"?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tyrus
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 03 Feb 2018
Posts: 141

PostPosted: Wed May 02, 2018 7:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This is what I would try:
Use a minimal gentoo image. Boot it, mount the new gentoo and chroot into it.

Then I would take out the autostart for the x-server.
I don't know if you use openrc or systemd, but you need to take out the service temporarily.
Assuming you use xdm as service and openrc
Code:

rc-config delete xdm default


You can also add users now or just reboot and do it then.
Start the xserver with startx until your problems are resolved.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
steveL
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 13 Sep 2006
Posts: 5153
Location: The Peanut Gallery

PostPosted: Thu May 03, 2018 2:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Nice post, Tyrus. Succinct, helpful and useful.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The_Great_Sephiroth
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 03 Oct 2014
Posts: 1364
Location: Fayetteville, NC, USA

PostPosted: Sat May 05, 2018 4:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

If I do that I am dumped to a black screen after GRUB and then have to hold the power button to kill it. The issue does not concern X, I need video in the shell. Disabling xdm will simply prevent me from getting anything at all because when X starts I then get SDDM for login. Disabling it leaves the screen black. Already tried that to see if I could get a login. For whatever reason, the shell is setting an unsupported resolution. The monitors says something along the lines of "Input not supported".
_________________
Ever picture systemd as what runs "The Borg"?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
steveL
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 13 Sep 2006
Posts: 5153
Location: The Peanut Gallery

PostPosted: Sat May 05, 2018 9:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The_Great_Sephiroth wrote:
If I do that I am dumped to a black screen after GRUB and then have to hold the power button to kill it. The issue does not concern X, I need video in the shell. Disabling xdm will simply prevent me from getting anything at all because when X starts I then get SDDM for login. Disabling it leaves the screen black. Already tried that to see if I could get a login. For whatever reason, the shell is setting an unsupported resolution. The monitors says something along the lines of "Input not supported".
OK, so we will stop being puzzled as to why a "fresh reinstall" has no user accounts. ;-)

Do you get the same result when you boot from sysresccd?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
P.Kosunen
Guru
Guru


Joined: 21 Nov 2005
Posts: 309
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Sat May 05, 2018 10:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The_Great_Sephiroth wrote:
No. I had Debian. I zeroed the disk. I installed Gentoo. No video until X comes up. No account so no login to X. If I press CTRL+ALT+F1 to switch to VT1 the mouse cursor disappears and I get a still image of the login screen. Pressing ALT+F7 takes me back to the actual login screen. I still have no shell video. I do not have EFI/UEFI.

You might be missing some framebuffer driver from kernel.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The_Great_Sephiroth
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 03 Oct 2014
Posts: 1364
Location: Fayetteville, NC, USA

PostPosted: Sat May 05, 2018 10:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Kosunen, that is what I thought, but I posted my configuration and I have the simple framebuffer and the VESA framebuffer selected. There are no user accounts because I build the system before adding accounts since the groups I need are not available until then. User accounts are not the issue though. The blank screen between GRUB and X is the issue.
_________________
Ever picture systemd as what runs "The Borg"?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
P.Kosunen
Guru
Guru


Joined: 21 Nov 2005
Posts: 309
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Sun May 06, 2018 10:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
supermicro ~ # lspci -knn | grep VGA
00:02.0 VGA compatible controller [0300]: Intel Corporation Atom Processor D2xxx/N2xxx Integrated Graphics Controller [8086:0be2] (rev 0b)
supermicro ~ # grep FB /usr/src/linux/.config | grep -v '#'
CONFIG_FB=y
CONFIG_FB_CMDLINE=y
CONFIG_FB_NOTIFY=y
CONFIG_FB_CFB_FILLRECT=y
CONFIG_FB_CFB_COPYAREA=y
CONFIG_FB_CFB_IMAGEBLIT=y
CONFIG_FB_MODE_HELPERS=y
CONFIG_FB_TILEBLITTING=y
CONFIG_FB_EFI=y


Code:
nuc ~ # lspci -knn | grep VGA
00:02.0 VGA compatible controller [0300]: Intel Corporation HD Graphics 5500 [8086:1616] (rev 09)
nuc ~ # grep FB /usr/src/linux/.config | grep -v '#'
CONFIG_DRM_KMS_FB_HELPER=y
CONFIG_DRM_FBDEV_EMULATION=y
CONFIG_DRM_FBDEV_OVERALLOC=100
CONFIG_FB=y
CONFIG_FB_CMDLINE=y
CONFIG_FB_NOTIFY=y
CONFIG_FB_BOOT_VESA_SUPPORT=y
CONFIG_FB_CFB_FILLRECT=y
CONFIG_FB_CFB_COPYAREA=y
CONFIG_FB_CFB_IMAGEBLIT=y
CONFIG_FB_SYS_FILLRECT=y
CONFIG_FB_SYS_COPYAREA=y
CONFIG_FB_SYS_IMAGEBLIT=y
CONFIG_FB_SYS_FOPS=y
CONFIG_FB_DEFERRED_IO=y
CONFIG_FB_MODE_HELPERS=y
CONFIG_FB_VESA=y
CONFIG_FB_EFI=y


Code:
beebox ~ # lspci -knn | grep VGA
00:02.0 VGA compatible controller [0300]: Intel Corporation HD Graphics 620 [8086:5916] (rev 02)
beebox ~ # grep FB /usr/src/linux/.config | grep -v '#'
CONFIG_X86_SYSFB=y
CONFIG_DRM_KMS_FB_HELPER=y
CONFIG_DRM_FBDEV_EMULATION=y
CONFIG_DRM_FBDEV_OVERALLOC=100
CONFIG_FB=y
CONFIG_FB_CMDLINE=y
CONFIG_FB_NOTIFY=y
CONFIG_FB_CFB_FILLRECT=y
CONFIG_FB_CFB_COPYAREA=y
CONFIG_FB_CFB_IMAGEBLIT=y
CONFIG_FB_SYS_FILLRECT=y
CONFIG_FB_SYS_COPYAREA=y
CONFIG_FB_SYS_IMAGEBLIT=y
CONFIG_FB_SYS_FOPS=y
CONFIG_FB_DEFERRED_IO=y
CONFIG_FB_MODE_HELPERS=y
CONFIG_FB_TILEBLITTING=y
CONFIG_FB_EFI=y


I have these framebuffer drivers enabled in Intel machines, check if some of those help. Might not need all of them. IIRC i too lost boot output when upgrading kernel some time ago, had to enable more of them. Haswell NUC boot background is currently green.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
steveL
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 13 Sep 2006
Posts: 5153
Location: The Peanut Gallery

PostPosted: Sun May 06, 2018 2:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The_Great_Sephiroth wrote:
There are no user accounts because I build the system before adding accounts since the groups I need are not available until then. User accounts are not the issue though. The blank screen between GRUB and X is the issue.
I do not understand why you don't have root access to a fresh install, since part of the install process is setting the password, and indeed adding a user account.

You must have a medium you can boot from, that gives you a display. Follow the handbook and you will have root and at least one user account too.

Do your install without any X at all, then add X to USE, and so on, after you have a working install that you can use at terminal.

That is a "fresh install".
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The_Great_Sephiroth
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 03 Oct 2014
Posts: 1364
Location: Fayetteville, NC, USA

PostPosted: Mon May 07, 2018 3:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

User and root are two different things. I have a root account. I allowed SSH login and can SH into the system, but the monitor attached shows no video. Do not worry about accounts. The issue is video. I have no video. I can SSH in all day long, the issue is that when sitting at the PC, I have no video unless X starts. If I need to do anything in the shell, outside of X, I have to setup another system and SSH into this one.
_________________
Ever picture systemd as what runs "The Borg"?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The_Great_Sephiroth
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 03 Oct 2014
Posts: 1364
Location: Fayetteville, NC, USA

PostPosted: Wed May 09, 2018 4:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK, this may be a broken Intel driver in 4.9.95. I just updated my laptop to the new kernel and now have the same problem, no video in the shell. I am typing this from said laptop, because again, when X starts, I get video. Kernel 4.9.76 works fine, as does 4.9.72, but this one seems to be busted. I checked dmesg and saw a few errors I'll post here. This is after a clean boot into 4.9.95.
Code:

[    0.007262] Spectre V2 : Spectre mitigation: kernel not compiled with retpoline; no mitigation available!
[    9.406055] cgroup: cgroup2: unknown option "nsdelegate"
[   12.438524] udevd[640]: Error calling EVIOCSKEYCODE on device node '/dev/input/event5' (scan code 0x100150, key code 190): Invalid argument
[  138.338295] [drm:0xffffffff813d3c9b] *ERROR* CPU pipe A FIFO underrun

No other errors. The entire log can be found here. Help?
_________________
Ever picture systemd as what runs "The Borg"?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
steveL
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 13 Sep 2006
Posts: 5153
Location: The Peanut Gallery

PostPosted: Wed May 09, 2018 2:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The_Great_Sephiroth wrote:
User and root are two different things. I have a root account. I allowed SSH login and can SH into the system, but the monitor attached shows no video. Do not worry about accounts. The issue is video. I have no video. I can SSH in all day long, the issue is that when sitting at the PC, I have no video unless X starts. If I need to do anything in the shell, outside of X, I have to setup another system and SSH into this one.
OK, I understand you have an install with working X and no working video outside X.

What I do not understand is how you got to that as a "fresh install" without a console display. Doing a fresh install usually means doing the base console setup first, and only tackling X once that base reboots cleanly, and is usable as a console machine.
Nor do I understand why you cannot add at least one admin-level user account, given that you can ssh in.

I'll stop commenting now, as it clearly isn't adding anything; nonetheless that would remain my advice, and I believe that was effectively what Tyrus advised too.
I don't see the point in worrying about X graphics, when you have no console display; it's putting the cart before the horse (and means you haven't yet completed the "fresh install".)

Good luck, anyhow.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The_Great_Sephiroth
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 03 Oct 2014
Posts: 1364
Location: Fayetteville, NC, USA

PostPosted: Wed May 09, 2018 2:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK, third system updated to 4.9.95 and third system with no shell video. It does not matter if I do "make oldconfig" or start with an "allnoconfig" and build it manually, 4.9.95 appears to break all Intel video. No clue what's going on. I do keep getting messages like the following, but not sure if it is related.
Code:

[  358.167348] [drm:0xffffffff813d484b] *ERROR* CPU pipe A FIFO underrun


*EDIT*

Steve, you posted while I was posting. This isn't a hard thing to understand.

  • Boot System Rescue CD
  • Partition, format, mount, unzip tarball, build kernel, build GRUB, build sysklogd, cronie, etc
  • Edit sshd config to allow root login as a backup method
  • Boot into system which has no video output due to only being shell
  • Figure out IP address, SSH into box
  • Build X, Plasma, etc
  • Add local accounts
  • Reboot, SDDM shows up, can login and use X

The issue is not user accounts. It seems you're hung up on user accounts and X being usable. My issue is that the second the kernel does its modesetting crap I lose all shell video. I do work in the real shell on and off. For example, if I do a major upgrade from a terminal I have had the screen locker break and prevent me from unlocking the desktop to use the system. All X and Plasma upgrades I do in the real shell. With no video, I cannot use the real shell.

Does that clear things up?
_________________
Ever picture systemd as what runs "The Borg"?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hu
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 06 Mar 2007
Posts: 13831

PostPosted: Thu May 10, 2018 1:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Since you found working and non-working versions, you could bisect the patches in the stable series to find where this broke, then report it and request a revert.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
steveL
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 13 Sep 2006
Posts: 5153
Location: The Peanut Gallery

PostPosted: Thu May 10, 2018 2:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The_Great_Sephiroth wrote:
Does that clear things up?
Heh, I'm afraid not. You boot sysresccd, which clearly is able to drive the display in console mode since it doesn't boot to X by default.
I would simply leave out X, along with all the ssh stuff, and sort out the console display first, following lspci -k in sysresccd.

ie: Don't do all that other stuff, until you have a working console login, booting solely from the machine; where you have "Boot into system which has no video output due to only being shell." That isn't actually you doing anything: it's more a description of a state of affairs that you need to correct before you do anything else.

Or you aren't following the handbook, that I recall. In any event, it's the wrong way round, IME.

As for being "hung up on user accounts", that is because you mentioned it as "the issue" in one of your earlier posts.
Since it isn't, forget about it.

Obviously, you are where you are, and you'll do what you want with your machine (which could never affect me or mine.)
Good luck with it, however you get there.

I just find it much easier to do an install bottom-up, adding bits as you go to a working base at every point (once you've got it booting into a console, which is the base kernel install, IME: hard-disk controller, rootfs, network and VGA or EFI console.)
If the bit you're adding breaks the boot, then it's easy to go back a step. And from there on in, you can usually always drop back to the console, with a live-disk on hand (or on-disk) for the occasional snafu.

Mind: everything (especially after base console install) becomes much more complex when using systemdbust, from what others have posted.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The_Great_Sephiroth
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 03 Oct 2014
Posts: 1364
Location: Fayetteville, NC, USA

PostPosted: Fri May 11, 2018 2:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK, I see how what I said could be confusing, so let me start over. I installed Gentoo on a freshly zeroed disk per the install guide. I reboot into my new system and have no shell video. At this point there is no X server or anything so I am stuck. My solution was to find the system IP address using nmap on a second, working system, and then SSH into the box. Before I boot into my new install I always allow root access through SSH and add sshd to the default runlevel. I could then continue installing the system since I could access the box. In fact I did install the entire system including Plasma, LibreOffice, the whole nine yards! I then added accounts and while the desktop now works as it should, I still have no shell video, which is a major issue for me.

In other words, so long as I never need the real shell and X/Plasma never update, I am golden. Unfortunately, we both know that isn't the case.

Now, System Rescue CD is on a much older kernel then 4.9.95 and, as I have previously said, all kernels up to and including 4.9.76 work fine. It is only 4.9.95 which kills Intel video on every system I own. To get the kernel configuration for 4.9.95 I did my usual thing of copying the old kernel in, then doing "make oldconfig" and verified that it did work via the menu. I also started with an "allnoconfig" and manually configured the entire kernel. No dice either way. These systems are BIOS systems, not EFI. I am going to rebuild my laptop kernel with EFI support and see if it helps despite not having an EFI system. I seem to recall that helping on a server.

So the system is complete, but I cannot get shell video, which cripples me for certain tasks.

*EDIT*

FYI: I despise systemd and do not use it. In fact the simple thing which drove me to Gentoo years ago was Debian not allowing me to choose not to use it.
_________________
Ever picture systemd as what runs "The Borg"?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hu
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 06 Mar 2007
Posts: 13831

PostPosted: Fri May 11, 2018 11:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

There are 1951 commits present in v4.9.95 and not present in v4.9.76. Assuming a clean bisect, that means log2(1951) = ~11 steps to find the bad patch. If you start by testing specific stable releases (v4.9.94, v4.9.93, etc.), you can shrink the search space before beginning. That may or may not be worth the overhead. If you want to gamble that the bad change is in drivers/video, then there are only 15 commits to test.

As above, I suggest that you find which commit (not just which stable release) breaks display support for you, then report it upstream. If you do not, you are dependent on someone else discovering the problem and doing these steps, or on someone accidentally fixing it later.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum