Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
How to do X configuration with hybird "Radeon & Intel" ?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
thyeun
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Jun 2018
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Sun Jun 24, 2018 11:55 am    Post subject: How to do X configuration with hybird "Radeon & Int Reply with quote

I'm new to Gentoo, want to move from Arch to Gentoo,

Just finish the installation Gentoo with stage3, now need to done the X configuration, but i'm stuck on my hybrid display "Radeon HD 6730M/6770M/7690M & Intel 2nd generation"

So, how should i rebuild my kernel to make it work?

p/s : i not going to install any DE, but i will install i3wm.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
audiodef
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 06 Jul 2005
Posts: 6313
Location: /usr/lib64/lv2

PostPosted: Tue Jun 26, 2018 7:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If it's one of those on-board Intel with discrete Nvidia/AMD graphics setup, and you aren't going to do anything that demands the discrete card - such as play games - just install the Intel video driver via the VIDEO_CARDS option in make.conf.

If you are going to play graphics-intensive games, I'm afraid I suck at helping there. I have an Intel/Nvidia laptop. I actually got it working, but I don't remember how, and it was such a big hassle, I gave up and installed a dual-boot Gentoo/Windows deal, with Windows existing for the almost sole purpose of playing games. (What else is it good for? :-P )
_________________
Gentoo Studio: A Gentoo-based, professional digital audio workstation OS.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
thyeun
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Jun 2018
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Thu Jun 28, 2018 2:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

i'm stuck on "make menuconfig" too many things to choose but i'm keep on choose wrong things,

anyone can let me know with the above display card, which should i choose from the menu.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
audiodef
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 06 Jul 2005
Posts: 6313
Location: /usr/lib64/lv2

PostPosted: Tue Jul 03, 2018 2:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you are looking to get off the ground, put VIDEO_CARDS="radeon" in your make.conf and use genkernel. You can always come back later to learn more about manual kernel config.
_________________
Gentoo Studio: A Gentoo-based, professional digital audio workstation OS.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
thyeun
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Jun 2018
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Tue Jul 03, 2018 3:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

thanks, will do

i'm trying using VIDEO_CARDS="i915 radeon r600" , because of my hardware below

Code:

00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation 2nd Generation Core Processor Family DRAM Controller (rev 09)
00:01.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation Xeon E3-1200/2nd Generation Core Processor Family PCI Express Root Port (rev 09)
00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation 2nd Generation Core Processor Family Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 09)
00:16.0 Communication controller: Intel Corporation 6 Series/C200 Series Chipset Family MEI Controller #1 (rev 04)
00:1a.0 USB controller: Intel Corporation 6 Series/C200 Series Chipset Family USB Enhanced Host Controller #2 (rev 05)
00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation 6 Series/C200 Series Chipset Family High Definition Audio Controller (rev 05)
00:1c.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 6 Series/C200 Series Chipset Family PCI Express Root Port 1 (rev b5)
00:1c.1 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 6 Series/C200 Series Chipset Family PCI Express Root Port 2 (rev b5)
00:1c.2 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 6 Series/C200 Series Chipset Family PCI Express Root Port 3 (rev b5)
00:1d.0 USB controller: Intel Corporation 6 Series/C200 Series Chipset Family USB Enhanced Host Controller #1 (rev 05)
00:1f.0 ISA bridge: Intel Corporation HM65 Express Chipset Family LPC Controller (rev 05)
00:1f.2 SATA controller: Intel Corporation 6 Series/C200 Series Chipset Family 6 port Mobile SATA AHCI Controller (rev 05)
00:1f.3 SMBus: Intel Corporation 6 Series/C200 Series Chipset Family SMBus Controller (rev 05)
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] Whistler [Radeon HD 6730M/6770M/7690M XT]
07:00.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL8111/8168/8411 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet Controller (rev 06)
0d:00.0 Network controller: Ralink corp. RT5390 [802.11 b/g/n 1T1R G-band PCI Express Single Chip]
13:00.0 Unassigned class [ff00]: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTS5209 PCI Express Card Reader (rev 01)
 23:22:05  ~ 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SumDog
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Dec 2005
Posts: 17
Location: Chicago, USA

PostPosted: Thu Jul 05, 2018 3:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

My Macbook has an AMD card in it and it can get confusing. You generally want to use the open source AMD drivers. Even for games, they are tons better than the commercial/official ones (which are terrible). Currently I have the following in my make.conf

Code:
VIDEO_CARDS="intel amdgpu radeon radeonsi"


Mac disabled the Intel card on non-mac operating systems (which is why Windows on a macbook gets awful battery life; it has no access to the integrated graphics).

If you want to run everything off the Intel and turn on the AMD for 3D, the Bumblebee stuff is pretty old and I'm not sure if it still works. There is a guide to optimus on Gentoo, but that's pretty specific to nvidia.

You're also going to want to make sure mesa gets compiled with the correct support for your AMD card. Check the use flags on it (emerge -av mesa) if you update VIDEO_CARDS, or else you're going to be stuck wondering why everything is still rendering in software mode.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
thyeun
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Jun 2018
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Mon Jul 09, 2018 7:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
or else you're going to be stuck wondering why everything is still rendering in software mode.


that is the one i'm facing now, the rendering are not exact from the hardware accelerator, it just from the software mode, ugly like hell. (once using intel driver)

question, from below, it is possible to include amdgpu (new type) and radeon (old type) together? i scare of heat issue.

Code:
VIDEO_CARDS="intel amdgpu radeon radeonsi"


i'm getting the display by using only intel driver (still facing rendering issue, but at least got X-mode display), but once i putting radeon in, than xrandr no list provided (1 and 2 also disappear).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum