Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Onboard RAID-0 with dmraid
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Linx_
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Jul 2018
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Sun Jul 01, 2018 5:17 pm    Post subject: Onboard RAID-0 with dmraid Reply with quote

So I've been futzing around with this for a day or so trying to figure it out on my own, but the time it's taking away from other more important things is getting to be too much, so it's time to stop and ask for help. And before I begin, let me just say that it really shouldn't be this hard to set up a simple stripe array. I've used onboard/fake/pseudo RAID with Gentoo in the past, and I don't recall it being this difficult, but in fairness it has been a good many years. In this case it really needs to be onboard RAID as opposed to straight software RAID because it has to contain both ext4 and NTFS partitions.

Basically, everything is done except I just can't get Gentoo to recognize the new volume at boot without having to issue the dmraid -ay command manually, and it's only seeing 2GB of the total 4GB capacity. I'm using an Asus X99-A board with Intel Rapid Store controller, and I'm putting 4 1TB mechanical drives into a RAID-0 array for my /home + data. No RAID on root, that's just a SSD. 4.17.3-gentoo-sources + genkernel-next on a ~amd64 box.

I've created the volume in Bios, and Gentoo recognizes it as a 3.7TB volume when I run dmraid -ay. The RAID volume lives on physical drives /dev/sdc, /dev/sdd, /dev/sde, and /dev/sdf. Operating systems live on /dev/sda. I fdisk'd it and created a 700GB partition for /home and a second 3GB partition for NTFS data, but my second partition is being recognized as 1.3TB instead of 3TB. I gave it a GPT partition table when I fdisk'd it, but it looks like somehow that didn't take. Maybe fdisk is the wrong tool? Here is the output of lsblk:
Code:
NAME                        MAJ:MIN RM   SIZE RO TYPE   MOUNTPOINT
sda                           8:0    0 931.5G  0 disk   
├─sda1                        8:1    0   549M  0 part   
├─sda2                        8:2    0 524.8G  0 part   
├─sda3                        8:3    0     1K  0 part   
├─sda5                        8:5    0   9.8G  0 part   [SWAP]
├─sda6                        8:6    0  48.8G  0 part   
├─sda7                        8:7    0   512M  0 part   /boot
└─sda8                        8:8    0 347.1G  0 part   
  ├─gentoo-tmp              253:0    0     2G  0 lvm    /tmp
  ├─gentoo-var              253:1    0    40G  0 lvm    /var
  └─gentoo-root             253:2    0 305.1G  0 lvm    /
sdb                           8:16   0   3.7T  0 disk   
├─sdb1                        8:17   0   128M  0 part   
└─sdb2                        8:18   0   3.7T  0 part   /media/Plex
sdc                           8:32   0 931.5G  0 disk   
├─sdc1                        8:33   0 698.5G  0 part   
├─sdc2                        8:34   0   233G  0 part   
└─isw_bajebcfijc_Volume1    253:3    0   3.7T  0 dmraid
  ├─isw_bajebcfijc_Volume11 253:4    0 698.5G  0 dmraid /home
  └─isw_bajebcfijc_Volume12 253:5    0   1.3T  0 dmraid
sdd                           8:48   0 931.5G  0 disk   
└─isw_bajebcfijc_Volume1    253:3    0   3.7T  0 dmraid
  ├─isw_bajebcfijc_Volume11 253:4    0 698.5G  0 dmraid /home
  └─isw_bajebcfijc_Volume12 253:5    0   1.3T  0 dmraid
sde                           8:64   0 931.5G  0 disk   
└─isw_bajebcfijc_Volume1    253:3    0   3.7T  0 dmraid
  ├─isw_bajebcfijc_Volume11 253:4    0 698.5G  0 dmraid /home
  └─isw_bajebcfijc_Volume12 253:5    0   1.3T  0 dmraid
sdf                           8:80   0 931.5G  0 disk   
└─isw_bajebcfijc_Volume1    253:3    0   3.7T  0 dmraid
  ├─isw_bajebcfijc_Volume11 253:4    0 698.5G  0 dmraid /home
  └─isw_bajebcfijc_Volume12 253:5    0   1.3T  0 dmraid
sr0                          11:0    1  1024M  0 rom   

I can boot to the console and run 'dmraid -ay' and then 'mount /dev/mapper/isw_bajebcfijc_Volume11 /home' and it works. But I can't get it to recognize the volume without running dmraid manually. I've made sure everything is compiled into the kernel and not a module, uncommented "DMRAID=yes" in /etc/genkernel.conf and run genkernel --dmraid all. Also made sure the devices are listed in /etc/dmtab. No luck. I still have to run dmraid before I can mount /home.

So, 2 issues to address, 1) what's wrong with my partition table that it's only recognizing 2TB instead of 3.7, and 2) how can I get it to recognize the volume at boot without manual intervention?

TIA

[Moderator edit: changed [quote] tags to [code] tags to preserve output layout. -Hu]
_________________
I occasionally post sober.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 44193
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sun Jul 01, 2018 7:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Linx_,

Welcome to Gentoo.

Do you have a dmraid service in /etc/init.d/ ?
Did you add it to the boot runlevel?

Last time I did this you needed to emerge dmraid but Intel raid can use mdadm too.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Linx_
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Jul 2018
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Sun Jul 01, 2018 8:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the welcome. I've actually been around off and on for about 15 years now, but it's been so long that all the accounts I've posted under are lost now.

No, I don't see one. I do see dmeventd that was referenced in some of the dmraid output, but I'm not sure what it is. I tried starting it with systemctl (this is a systemd box) it throws an error about not found. There is mdadm and mdraid, though. I installed mdadm earlier when I wasn't sure what I needed, so that's probably why those are there.
_________________
I occasionally post sober.


Last edited by Linx_ on Sun Jul 01, 2018 10:26 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Linx_
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Jul 2018
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Sun Jul 01, 2018 8:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

'systemctl list-unit-files | grep mdadm' returns 3 results, none of which really look like what I need - mdadm-grow-continue@.service, mdadm-last-resort@.service, and mdadm-last-resort@.timer

'systemctl list-unit-files | grep raid' returns nothing.
_________________
I occasionally post sober.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Linx_
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Jul 2018
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Tue Jul 03, 2018 10:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

<bump>

Been continuing to screw with it, no luck so far. Any suggestions?
_________________
I occasionally post sober.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
krinn
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 02 May 2003
Posts: 7197

PostPosted: Wed Jul 04, 2018 12:17 pm    Post subject: Re: Onboard RAID-0 with dmraid Reply with quote

Linx_ wrote:
1) what's wrong with my partition table that it's only recognizing 2TB instead of 3.7

Yes i know you said you did it with GPT, but 2TB is the limit for MBR, and it's than pretty easy to guess that you did it wrong and you are seeing the MBR limit there.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 44193
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Wed Jul 04, 2018 6:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

krinn,

Its much more complex on a fakeraid raid0 volume with GPT.

If you are lucky, the GPT partition table appears only on the 'first' drive of the volume set. Depending on stripe size, it may be striped across several volumes.
Even though, its only on one drive, it describes the entire raid0 volume. That leads to an interesting error in dmesg about how the filesystem is bigger than the partition that its on.

With GPT, you get a free MSDOS partition table too. That's only one disk block, thus cannot be striped across the raid set. However it always contains exactly one partition.

I don't trust the reporting tool.

However ...
Linx_ wrote:
... I fdisk'd it ...
that sets the alarm bells ringing. fdisk has not long ago aquired GPT support.

Linx_,

Get your raid set started and post the output of
Code:
fdisk -l -t dos /dev/<your_raid>
fdisk -l -t gpt /dev/<your_raid>

_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum