Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Read Only Filesystem
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
victor-zorro
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Jul 2018
Posts: 1
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Tue Jul 10, 2018 9:13 pm    Post subject: Read Only Filesystem Reply with quote

Hi There,

i am relatively new to gentoo. Although I already managed to install gento. Now something strange happens.

I follow the gentoo handbook. And up to the moment I

Code:
emerge --ask --update --deep --newuse @world


All is fine.

After, when I want to set and choose the timezone, I cannot alter any file anymore.
It states, that the disk is read only.

I use the 17.0 profile

Code:
[12]  default/linux/amd64/17.0 (stable) *


And here is my make.conf:
make.conf

Code:
CFLAGS="-march=nehalem -O2 -pipe"
CXXFLAGS="${CFLAGS}"
CHOST="x86_64-pc-linux-gnu"
USE="api git ipv6 modules raw smp"
CPU_FLAGS_X86="aes mmx mmxext pclmul popcnt sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 ssse3"
PORTDIR="/usr/portage"
DISTDIR="${PORTDIR}/distfiles"
PKGDIR="${PORTDIR}/packages"
MAKEOPTS="-j17"

My system is a dual xeon server board w 32gig and I use a 500 gib wd blue disk.

Obvious I do something wrong, but I cannot figure out what...

Thanks,

Vincent

[Moderator edit: added [code] tags to preserve output layout. -Hu]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
skellr
l33t
l33t


Joined: 18 Jun 2005
Posts: 888
Location: The Village, Portmeirion

PostPosted: Tue Jul 10, 2018 9:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Do you have the utilities for your filesystem installed? If it can't be checked then the filesystem can remain mounted ro.

Look through dmesg to see if anything pops out.

Code:
dmesg --color=always | less


Last edited by skellr on Tue Jul 10, 2018 9:42 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
skellr
l33t
l33t


Joined: 18 Jun 2005
Posts: 888
Location: The Village, Portmeirion

PostPosted: Tue Jul 10, 2018 9:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
mount -o remount,rw /
might get you by enough to install something if you need it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ali3nx
l33t
l33t


Joined: 21 Sep 2003
Posts: 612
Location: Vancouver, Canada

PostPosted: Tue Jul 10, 2018 9:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Greetings Vincent,

Just making an experienced guess that you may not have mounted a filesystem or chrooted into your build environment properly from the livecd.

Given that the hardware you are using is not uefi bios capable if the cpu type stated in cflags are correct there should be only one type of livecd you could use to install that server recommended by the Gentoo handbook. so with this in mind the possibility of an incorrect or non optimal livecd perhaps shouldn't be an issue.

I own an older i7-920 intel nehalem that runs Gentoo and it will not boot uefi install media such as sysrescuecd.

Not having chrooted into your build environment properly could possibly explain why your unable to edit or modify system environment variables or configuration files.

The gentoo livecd's also provide emerge but i do not think emerge actually is usable to install any software due to a livecd filesystem being unmodifiable.

It can be easy to get confused about whether your working within the chroot build environment or the livecd environment filesystems.

If this is already a booted system that would be good to know.

Best regards,

ali3nx
_________________
Compiling Gentoo since version 1.4
Thousands of Gentoo Installs Completed
Emerged on every continent but Antarctica
Compile long and Prosper!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
skellr
l33t
l33t


Joined: 18 Jun 2005
Posts: 888
Location: The Village, Portmeirion

PostPosted: Tue Jul 10, 2018 10:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ali3nx wrote:
Greetings Vincent,

Just making an experienced guess that you may not have mounted a filesystem or chrooted into your build environment properly from the livecd.

Given that the hardware you are using is not uefi bios capable if the cpu type stated in cflags are correct there should be only one type of livecd you could use to install that server recommended by the Gentoo handbook. so with this in mind the possibility of an incorrect or non optimal livecd perhaps shouldn't be an issue.

I own an older i7-920 intel nehalem that runs Gentoo and it will not boot uefi install media such as sysrescuecd.

Not having chrooted into your build environment properly could possibly explain why your unable to edit or modify system environment variables or configuration files.

The gentoo livecd's also provide emerge but i do not think emerge actually is usable to install any software due to a livecd filesystem being unmodifiable.

It can be easy to get confused about whether your working within the chroot build environment or the livecd environment filesystems.

If this is already a booted system that would be good to know.

Best regards,

ali3nx

That could be it too. seems like they want you to update the system running a different kernel and likely no kernel sources.

Sounds like a good plan...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum