Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Can't enable Ethernet
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
owen.geer
n00b
n00b


Joined: 15 Jul 2018
Posts: 29
Location: San Clemente, California

PostPosted: Tue Jul 24, 2018 6:43 pm    Post subject: Can't enable Ethernet Reply with quote

I'm on a new gentoo install and I can't get Ethernet working. This is the specific Ethernet I have: https://imgur.com/a/vj3VTu8 I tried going back in the kernel and enabling some Ethernet drivers that look similar to that, but it didn't work. What do I need to do to enable it? Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fedeliallalinea
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 08 Mar 2003
Posts: 21757
Location: here

PostPosted: Tue Jul 24, 2018 6:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

"Temporary failure in name resolution" usually means a problem in /etc/resolv.conf file.
_________________
Questions are guaranteed in life; Answers aren't.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
owen.geer
n00b
n00b


Joined: 15 Jul 2018
Posts: 29
Location: San Clemente, California

PostPosted: Tue Jul 24, 2018 7:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

fedeliallalinea wrote:
"Temporary failure in name resolution" usually means a problem in /etc/resolv.conf file.
ok, thank you. Do you know what I should put in my resolv.conf to enable enp4s0?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43178
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Tue Jul 24, 2018 9:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

owen.geer

What appears in
Code:
ifconfig -a
Just the interface names.
Your dhcpcd command should have populated /etc/resolv.conf so I doubt that is the root cause of four problem.

What is the data and time in
Code:
uname -a
?
Code:
$ uname -a
Linux NeddySeagoon_Static 4.17.1-gentoo #1 SMP PREEMPT Sat Jun 16 16:24:55 BST 2018 x86_64 AMD Phenom(tm) II X6 1090T Processor AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux

Its the build date and time of the running kernel. If you have made a new kernel since then, its not in use.
A popular cause for that is not mounting /boot for the kernel install, or upgrading the kernel without telling the boot loader.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
owen.geer
n00b
n00b


Joined: 15 Jul 2018
Posts: 29
Location: San Clemente, California

PostPosted: Wed Jul 25, 2018 4:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you so much. I fixed it, it was because I forgot to mount /boot before running make install.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum