Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
busybox - missing static links ?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
ranran
n00b
n00b


Joined: 11 Jul 2018
Posts: 69

PostPosted: Sun Jul 29, 2018 10:25 am    Post subject: busybox - missing static links ? Reply with quote

Hello,

I am trying to use busybox commands, but it seems that there are missing static links from commands to busybox binary:
For example, on trying tunctl, I get "command not found error".
Doing the same with "busybox tunctl" is OK.

How should I fix this issue?

Thanks,
ranran
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mike155
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 17 Sep 2010
Posts: 1294
Location: Frankfurt, Germany

PostPosted: Sun Jul 29, 2018 12:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Did you emerge busybox with USE flag 'make-symlinks'?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
khayyam
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 07 Jun 2012
Posts: 6228
Location: Room 101

PostPosted: Sun Jul 29, 2018 1:02 pm    Post subject: Re: busybox - missing static links ? Reply with quote

ranran wrote:
I am trying to use busybox commands, but it seems that there are missing static links from commands to busybox binary: For example, on trying tunctl, I get "command not found error".
Doing the same with "busybox tunctl" is OK. How should I fix this issue?

ranran ... I don't think you actually want to "fix" this, if you create symlinks (ie, via USE="make-symlinks", or by running 'busybox --install') then you will overwrite package installed binaries (all those listed in 'busybox --list'). If you do this then somethings will break, ie, see this thread.

best ... khay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ranran
n00b
n00b


Joined: 11 Jul 2018
Posts: 69

PostPosted: Sun Jul 29, 2018 1:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the comments !

So if I understand correctly, the advise it to continue using "bysbox <command> ..." syntax ?
The issue is that I have scripts which try to call the commands directly (without the busybox prefix)

Thanks,
ranran
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mike155
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 17 Sep 2010
Posts: 1294
Location: Frankfurt, Germany

PostPosted: Sun Jul 29, 2018 2:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
The issue is that I have scripts which try to call the commands directly (without the busybox prefix)

Try:
Code:
busybox sh

or, in short:
Code:
bb

You can run your script with:
Code:
bb <name of script>

Another way would be to change the first line of your script to:
Code:
!#/bin/bb

If you do that, you will be able to start your script from a bash shell prompt or via click or double-click from a file manager - and it will use bb to execute the commands in your script.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hu
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 06 Mar 2007
Posts: 13842

PostPosted: Sun Jul 29, 2018 3:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

In what context are these scripts executed? Why are you trying to use the busybox builtin commands instead of the full-featured counterparts provided through their respective packages?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ranran
n00b
n00b


Joined: 11 Jul 2018
Posts: 69

PostPosted: Sun Jul 29, 2018 6:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hu wrote:
In what context are these scripts executed? Why are you trying to use the busybox builtin commands instead of the full-featured counterparts provided through their respective packages?


Hi,

I haven't find a package for tunctl, is there one ?

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mike155
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 17 Sep 2010
Posts: 1294
Location: Frankfurt, Germany

PostPosted: Sun Jul 29, 2018 6:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
sys-apps/usermode-utilities
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ranran
n00b
n00b


Joined: 11 Jul 2018
Posts: 69

PostPosted: Sun Jul 29, 2018 6:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mike155 wrote:
Code:
sys-apps/usermode-utilities


Great :)
by the way, wow did you know that this package contain the tunctl command ?

Thanks,
ranran
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mike155
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 17 Sep 2010
Posts: 1294
Location: Frankfurt, Germany

PostPosted: Sun Jul 29, 2018 6:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
by the way, wow did you know that this package contain the tunctl command ?

tunctl is installed on one of my machines - so I executed 'qfile tunctl' to get the package.

But the answer you probably wanted to get is this page: http://www.portagefilelist.de/site/query/file/?do#result. Just enter 'tunctl' (or any other filename) and it will show you the package.

ranran, this thread is a perfect example of the X-Y problem. You asked several questions, but you didn't tell us the problem you really wanted to solve. Next time, please try to tell us X - not Y. This will make it much easier to help you and you will receive an answer more quickly. :-)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ranran
n00b
n00b


Joined: 11 Jul 2018
Posts: 69

PostPosted: Wed Aug 01, 2018 7:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

mike155 wrote:
Quote:
by the way, wow did you know that this package contain the tunctl command ?

tunctl is installed on one of my machines - so I executed 'qfile tunctl' to get the package.

But the answer you probably wanted to get is this page: http://www.portagefilelist.de/site/query/file/?do#result. Just enter 'tunctl' (or any other filename) and it will show you the package.

ranran, this thread is a perfect example of the X-Y problem. You asked several questions, but you didn't tell us the problem you really wanted to solve. Next time, please try to tell us X - not Y. This will make it much easier to help you and you will receive an answer more quickly. :-)


mike,

Thanks !
ranran
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum