Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
installing on other partition
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
zux0x3a
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Aug 2018
Posts: 37

PostPosted: Sat Sep 01, 2018 11:52 am    Post subject: installing on other partition Reply with quote

Hello.
i am just wondering if we have this output from fdisk -l

/dev/sda
/dev/sda1
/dev/sda2
/dev/sd3
/dev/sda4

but the sda2 and sda4 having some data and i want to be as they are . my target is to install gentoo on /dev/sda3 which is about 80 GB , how can we achieve this using
parted as commands below :

parted -s /dev/sda mklabel gpt
parted -s /dev/sda unit mib
parted -s /dev/sda mkpart primary 1 3
parted -s /dev/sda name 1 grub
parted -s /dev/sda set 1 bios_grub on

parted -s /dev/sda mkpart primary 3 131
parted -s /dev/sda name 2 boot
parted -s /dev/sda mkpart primary 643 -- -1
parted -s /dev/sda name 3 rootfs
parted -s /dev/sda set 2 boot on
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43175
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sat Sep 01, 2018 1:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

zux0x3a,

If sda3 already exists, parted is not required.
Make a filesystem on the existing /dev/sda3 and install there.
This will destroy all the data on /dev/sda3 and leave the other partitions untouched.

There is no undo function for making filesystems, so be sure to get it right.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zux0x3a
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Aug 2018
Posts: 37

PostPosted: Sat Sep 01, 2018 4:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ok , but what about grub installation , i think there must be a partition for that . !?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43175
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sat Sep 01, 2018 5:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

zux0x3a,

Are you using UEFI or legacy BIOS mode?

With UEFI mode you must have a vfat partition for all your files that the UEFI firmware needs to read.
It is normally shared with all your operating systems.

With legacy BIOS mode and GPT grub needs 2MB of raw space for itself outside or any filesystem.
Mixing legacy BIOS mode and GPT can be a bad idea. It mostly works but is not possible on a few systems.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zux0x3a
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Aug 2018
Posts: 37

PostPosted: Sat Sep 01, 2018 6:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mm i am using legacy BIOS mode . i am wondering how it could be done
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43175
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sat Sep 01, 2018 6:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

zux0x3a,

In place of your sda3, make two partitions. The grub_bios partition is 2Mb, your root partition is the rest.
GPT allows 128 primary partitions.

You must set the bootable flag on the protective DOS partition table if your legacy BIOS requires the bootable flag.
Legacy BIOS cannot read the GPT, so it won't see any flags you way set there.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 7089
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Sat Sep 01, 2018 6:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

BTW, Grub is not the only bootloader in the world.
_________________
Please learn how to denote units correctly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
acmondor
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Aug 2014
Posts: 35
Location: Canadian Prairies

PostPosted: Sun Sep 02, 2018 1:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon wrote:
zux0x3a,

In place of your sda3, make two partitions. The grub_bios partition is 2Mb, your root partition is the rest.
GPT allows 128 primary partitions.

You must set the bootable flag on the protective DOS partition table if your legacy BIOS requires the bootable flag.
Legacy BIOS cannot read the GPT, so it won't see any flags you way set there.


Before touching sda3 might it not be a good idea to look for any suitable free/unallocated space on the disk? I recently switched a machine from grub to grub2 and didn't want to touch any existing partitions in order to create the small grub bios partition, so I just created that partition in free space at the end of the disk. There happened to be about a .5GB free there because of the way the disk was previously partitioned to get optimum alignment.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum