Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
How do I properly mount this drive?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
ONEEYEMAN
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 01 Mar 2005
Posts: 2772

PostPosted: Thu Oct 04, 2018 12:33 am    Post subject: How do I properly mount this drive? Reply with quote

Hi, ALL,
I am trying to re-install Gentoo for n-th time.
My laptop got a new hard drive, and I did get an old hard drive back. So I got myself a docking station to see what kernel configuration and other configuration I had on the old drive.

I unpacked and connect everything, however this is what I see in the dmesg:

Code:

new high-speed USB device number 2 ehci-pci
'New USB device found: idVendor=2109, idProduct=2817
New USB device strings: Mfr=1, Product=2, SerialNumber=0
Product: USB2.0 Hub
Manufacturer: VIA Labs Inc.
USB hub found
4 ports detected


Does this mean that the hard drive is not inserted properly? Because I don't the actual hard there.
Or there is another trick I should do from the minimal CD?

Thank you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 7550
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Thu Oct 04, 2018 1:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Any evidence that the hard drive is not totally dead?
What is the manufacturer, make, and model of the "docking station"?
does the docking station manual say it connects an external hard drive via usb?
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ONEEYEMAN
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 01 Mar 2005
Posts: 2772

PostPosted: Thu Oct 04, 2018 3:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi, DONAHUE,
No the drive is still alive and well. I saw it when it was connected in the store.
However the docking station has 2 slots. So just for the test I attached the hard drive to the second slot and voila:

Code:

new high speed USB device number 3 using ehci-pci
New USB device found, idVendor=0578, idProduct=0578
New USB device strings: Mfr=1, Product=2, SerialNumber=3
Product: NS-PCHDEDS19 Series DISK1
Manufacturer: MAYA
SerialNumber: XXXXX
USB Mass Storage Device Detected
usb-storage 1-3.1:1.0
Direct-Access       ST950032 5AS      7101 PQ: 0 ANSI: 6
Attached SCSI generic sg3 type0 0
[sdc] 976773168 512-bytes logical blocks: (500GB/466GiB)
[sdc] Write Protect is off
[sdc]Mode sense: 47 00 00 08
[sdc] Write cache: enabled, read cache: enabled, doesn't support DPO or FVA
sdc: sdc1 sdc2 sdc3 sdc4 < sdc5 sdc6 sdc7 >
Attached SCSI disk


However, this is what I received trying to use it:

Code:

livecd ~ # fdisk sdc
Welcome to fdisk (util-linux 2.32).
Changes will remain in memory only, until you decide to write them.
Be careful before using the write command.

fdisk: cannot open sdc: No such file or directory

livecd ~ # mkdir temp
livecd ~ # mount sdc5 temp
mount /root/temp: special device does not exist
livecd ~ #


So the machine does see the drive, but at the same time it is not accessible.

Is there something you could recommend?

Also, AFAIU, sdc{5,6,7} are Linux partitions. But I can't mount them. Also the machine was using GRUB 1.x at the time so presumably mounting just sdc5 to get to the kernel configuration file should be enough.

Is there something I need to install?

The new drive is set as a BIOS one and not a GPT, so I will just follow the HB for the install and I need just kernel and make configuration for the USE-flags.

Thank you.

Thank you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jcarpenter2
n00b
n00b


Joined: 15 Mar 2017
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Thu Oct 04, 2018 3:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

What do you get if you run
Code:
lsblk


I do not believe you can just do
Code:
fdisk sdc
using the basename of the device like that - you instead have to run
Code:
fdisk /dev/sdc
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ONEEYEMAN
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 01 Mar 2005
Posts: 2772

PostPosted: Thu Oct 04, 2018 4:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,jcarpenter2,
OK, I ran

Code:

fdisk /dev/sdc


and got the output.

To my surprise the partition for the boot (the one that has the '*' symbol in the output) shows for the /dev/sdc2.
Is it possible?

But anyway, I wil just follow HB and see where I will be. I'm planning for that machine to be dual-boot.
I think I will need to select the partition which will have GRUB installed to be bootable. Am I right?

Thank you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum