Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
How to mount Raid0 ntfs
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
InvisibleRasta
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 30 Mar 2011
Posts: 112

PostPosted: Sat Nov 03, 2018 2:24 am    Post subject: How to mount Raid0 ntfs Reply with quote

hello guys i have a raid 0 ntfs setup trought the bios and i cant figure out how to mount i tried various way.. i may be missind some use flag?the raid mounts perfectl yon windows and i ran chkdisk but no errors
Code:
mount -t ntfs-3g /dev/sdb1 /mnt/
NTFS signature is missing.
Failed to mount '/dev/sdb1': Invalid argument
The device '/dev/sdb1' doesn't seem to have a valid NTFS.
Maybe the wrong device is used? Or the whole disk instead of a
partition (e.g. /dev/sda, not /dev/sda1)? Or the other way around?

Code:
mount -t ntfs-3g /dev/sdb2 /mnt/
ntfs_mst_post_read_fixup_warn: magic: 0x5b695ea4  size: 1024   usa_ofs: 3986  usa_count: 53293: Invalid argument
Record 0 has no FILE magic (0x5b695ea4)
Failed to load $MFT: Input/output error
Failed to mount '/dev/sdb2': Input/output error
NTFS is either inconsistent, or there is a hardware fault, or it's a
SoftRAID/FakeRAID hardware. In the first case run chkdsk /f on Windows
then reboot into Windows twice. The usage of the /f parameter is very
important! If the device is a SoftRAID/FakeRAID then first activate
it and mount a different device under the /dev/mapper/ directory, (e.g.
/dev/mapper/nvidia_eahaabcc1). Please see the 'dmraid' documentation
for more details.

Code:
/dev/sdd1: LABEL="EFI" UUID="DA2B-39E1" TYPE="vfat" PARTLABEL="efi" PARTUUID="1070f93c-88b4-4d02-b79d-8d152556776b"
/dev/sdd2: UUID="aad74cbd-7460-467a-a492-2e69c55f822f" TYPE="swap" PARTLABEL="swap" PARTUUID="055d7d76-31ae-4508-98cb-05ce0eb123c1"
/dev/sdd3: UUID="0098f465-8b20-43fb-a175-abdb66c2f8f5" UUID_SUB="95434b00-2cfc-4079-830a-8e0885f0b702" TYPE="btrfs" PARTUUID="13c17043-cccc-9446-9a62-223ef8583d05"
/dev/sda1: LABEL="Recovery" UUID="A0323B10323AEB44" TYPE="ntfs" PARTLABEL="Basic data partition" PARTUUID="dcf62a80-dce4-46ac-8229-10eaf626f805"
/dev/sda2: UUID="083B-C1A1" TYPE="vfat" PARTLABEL="EFI system partition" PARTUUID="7bfec317-48cf-4763-aaed-6764ec8468ca"
/dev/sda4: UUID="88E6425AE64248A0" TYPE="ntfs" PARTLABEL="Basic data partition" PARTUUID="826d58fd-751c-4d10-870f-c05e9219008b"
/dev/sde1: LABEL="Backup" UUID="CCE2F18FE2F17E50" TYPE="ntfs" PARTUUID="1fdee551-e6d7-4d9e-8988-68a401e21811"
/dev/sda3: PARTLABEL="Microsoft reserved partition" PARTUUID="dd2f78dc-ef19-4ab5-8bcc-98949f2300bf"
/dev/sdb1: PARTLABEL="Microsoft reserved partition" PARTUUID="f6a6d639-a3d2-4576-b8f0-408a1d9bd311"
/dev/sdb2: PARTLABEL="Basic data partition" PARTUUID="8cf49a57-a96a-4ef1-92eb-f63610dfa7e6"
/dev/sdc: TYPE="isw_raid_member"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 7091
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Sat Nov 03, 2018 2:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
If the device is a SoftRAID/FakeRAID then first activate it and mount a different device under the /dev/mapper/ directory, (e.g. /dev/mapper/nvidia_eahaabcc1). Please see the 'dmraid' documentation for more details.

I don't use fakeraid myself, thus can't give any details.
_________________
Please learn how to denote units correctly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
InvisibleRasta
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 30 Mar 2011
Posts: 112

PostPosted: Sat Nov 03, 2018 2:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

fakeraid is a bios option? cause i enabled raid0 from the bios
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 7091
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Sat Nov 03, 2018 2:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Fakeraid is software RAID which can be set up in BIOS. Operating system reads the configuration from BIOS and sets up software RAID accordingly. Poor Windows users believe they have hardware RAID ...

https://skrypuch.com/raid/
_________________
Please learn how to denote units correctly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
InvisibleRasta
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 30 Mar 2011
Posts: 112

PostPosted: Sat Nov 03, 2018 3:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

well it actually works pretty fast ...i jsut cant mount it on gentoo.. . i was able on archlinux.. drive used to appear in /dev/mapper
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
InvisibleRasta
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 30 Mar 2011
Posts: 112

PostPosted: Sat Nov 03, 2018 4:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

i was able to enable it with dmraid -ay but still not able to mount it the last one is supposed to be the raid0
Code:
/dev/mapper/isw_behjiahehd_Volume1: PTUUID="71a81e9f-3e69-4ba4-bfb0-b94994fa68b3" PTTYPE="gpt"

Code:
# blkid
/dev/sdc: TYPE="isw_raid_member"
/dev/sdd1: LABEL="EFI" UUID="DA2B-39E1" TYPE="vfat" PARTLABEL="efi" PARTUUID="1070f93c-88b4-4d02-b79d-8d152556776b"
/dev/sdd2: UUID="aad74cbd-7460-467a-a492-2e69c55f822f" TYPE="swap" PARTLABEL="swap" PARTUUID="055d7d76-31ae-4508-98cb-05ce0eb123c1"
/dev/sdd3: UUID="0098f465-8b20-43fb-a175-abdb66c2f8f5" UUID_SUB="95434b00-2cfc-4079-830a-8e0885f0b702" TYPE="btrfs" PARTUUID="13c17043-cccc-9446-9a62-223ef8583d05"
/dev/sdd4: LABEL="backup" UUID="d2288e45-ed85-4c9b-ae08-63116fbeb8fe" TYPE="ext4" PARTLABEL="backup" PARTUUID="24f10584-f268-4625-a482-df963bbec86f"
/dev/sde1: LABEL="Backup" UUID="CCE2F18FE2F17E50" TYPE="ntfs" PARTUUID="1fdee551-e6d7-4d9e-8988-68a401e21811"
/dev/sda1: LABEL="Recovery" UUID="A0323B10323AEB44" TYPE="ntfs" PARTLABEL="Basic data partition" PARTUUID="dcf62a80-dce4-46ac-8229-10eaf626f805"
/dev/sda2: UUID="083B-C1A1" TYPE="vfat" PARTLABEL="EFI system partition" PARTUUID="7bfec317-48cf-4763-aaed-6764ec8468ca"
/dev/sda4: UUID="88E6425AE64248A0" TYPE="ntfs" PARTLABEL="Basic data partition" PARTUUID="826d58fd-751c-4d10-870f-c05e9219008b"
/dev/sdb1: PARTLABEL="Microsoft reserved partition" PARTUUID="f6a6d639-a3d2-4576-b8f0-408a1d9bd311"
/dev/sdb2: PARTLABEL="Basic data partition" PARTUUID="8cf49a57-a96a-4ef1-92eb-f63610dfa7e6"
/dev/sda3: PARTLABEL="Microsoft reserved partition" PARTUUID="dd2f78dc-ef19-4ab5-8bcc-98949f2300bf"
/dev/mapper/isw_behjiahehd_Volume1: PTUUID="71a81e9f-3e69-4ba4-bfb0-b94994fa68b3" PTTYPE="gpt"

when i try to mount it i get this:
Code:

# mount -t ntfs-3g /dev/mapper/isw_behjiahehd_Volume1 /mnt/raid0/
NTFS signature is missing.
Failed to mount '/dev/mapper/isw_behjiahehd_Volume1': Invalid argument
The device '/dev/mapper/isw_behjiahehd_Volume1' doesn't seem to have a valid NTFS.
Maybe the wrong device is used? Or the whole disk instead of a
partition (e.g. /dev/sda, not /dev/sda1)? Or the other way around?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
InvisibleRasta
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 30 Mar 2011
Posts: 112

PostPosted: Sat Nov 03, 2018 5:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

i think i made some progress...still cant mount tho..
i had to
Code:
dmraid -ay
modprobe raid0
modprobe dm-mod


Code:

fdisk -l /dev/mapper/isw_behjiahehd_Volume1
Disk /dev/mapper/isw_behjiahehd_Volume1: 3.7 TiB, 4000792444928 bytes, 7814047744 sectors
Units: sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 4096 bytes
I/O size (minimum/optimal): 65536 bytes / 131072 bytes
Disklabel type: gpt
Disk identifier: 71A81E9F-3E69-4BA4-BFB0-B94994FA68B3

Device                                   Start        End    Sectors  Size Type
/dev/mapper/isw_behjiahehd_Volume1-part1    34      32767      32734   16M Microsoft reserved
/dev/mapper/isw_behjiahehd_Volume1-part2 32768 7814043647 7814010880  3.7T Microsoft basic data

Partition 1 does not start on physical sector boundary.

the weird thing is that it doesnt show up as fdisk does.. with the two partitions
Code:

# ls -la /dev/mapper/
total 0
drwxr-xr-x  2 root root       80 Nov  3 06:42 .
drwxr-xr-x 20 root root     4160 Nov  3 06:42 ..
crw-------  1 root root  10, 236 Nov  3 06:32 control
brw-------  1 root root 252,   0 Nov  3 06:42 isw_behjiahehd_Volume1


Still no luck mounting it
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DaggyStyle
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 22 Mar 2006
Posts: 5366

PostPosted: Sat Nov 03, 2018 7:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

have you tried to mount /dev/mapper/isw_behjiahehd_Volume1-part2 as ntfs?
_________________
Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity and I'm not sure about the former - Albert Einstein
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
InvisibleRasta
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 30 Mar 2011
Posts: 112

PostPosted: Sat Nov 03, 2018 7:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

yes several times:
Code:
# mount -o ntfs-3g /dev/mapper/isw_behjiahehd_Volume1-part2  /mnt/raid0/
mount: /mnt/raid0: special device /dev/mapper/isw_behjiahehd_Volume1-part2 does not exist.
localhost /home/nico # fdisk -l /dev/mapper/isw_behjiahehd_Volume1
Disk /dev/mapper/isw_behjiahehd_Volume1: 3.7 TiB, 4000792444928 bytes, 7814047744 sectors
Units: sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 4096 bytes
I/O size (minimum/optimal): 65536 bytes / 131072 bytes
Disklabel type: gpt
Disk identifier: 71A81E9F-3E69-4BA4-BFB0-B94994FA68B3

Device                                   Start        End    Sectors  Size Type
/dev/mapper/isw_behjiahehd_Volume1-part1    34      32767      32734   16M Microsoft reserved
/dev/mapper/isw_behjiahehd_Volume1-part2 32768 7814043647 7814010880  3.7T Microsoft basic data

Partition 1 does not start on physical sector boundary.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43195
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sat Nov 03, 2018 10:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

MystKid,

/dev/mapper/isw_behjiahehd_Volume1-part1 is a fake. It covers the GPT partition area.
You can't mount it - its not yours.

/dev/mapper/isw_behjiahehd_Volume1-part2 is your filesystem.

fdisk understands GPT without any help from your kernel. To actually mount a volume with a GPT disklable you need kernel support for it.
Its usually on by default. You need
Code:
$ grep EFI_P /usr/src/linux/.config
CONFIG_EFI_PARTITION=y


Reading back a bit, it seems you have GPT disklable support.
Code:
/dev/sda2: UUID="083B-C1A1" TYPE="vfat" PARTLABEL="EFI system partition"


Code:
brw-------  1 root root 252,   0 Nov  3 06:42 isw_behjiahehd_Volume1
is your raw volume. Rather like /dev/sda
You don't mount /dev/sda though, you mount the partitions it contains. The partitions should appear here.

There are several sorts of fakeraid. The oldest, uses dmraid. The data layout on disk and your raw disk IO is controlled by the BIOS.
There is Intel Storage Technology (IST) which is still fakeraid but uses mdadm and the kernel raid driver.
I'm fairly sure You have one of those as you mentioned setting it up in the BIOS.
For completeness, Windows also has software raid, like the kernel/mdadm raid.

We need to get your partitions to appear in /dev before you can mount anything. Well, we don't but that's another can of worms.

On a related topic, which ntfs driver are you plannnig to use?

-- edit --

The output of dmidecode and dmesg would be useful. They are big and need to go to a pastebin.
I'm not sure if dmidecode is useful on an EFI system.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
InvisibleRasta
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 30 Mar 2011
Posts: 112

PostPosted: Sat Nov 03, 2018 12:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I do have this set as you suggested:
Code:

$ grep EFI_P /usr/src/linux/.config
CONFIG_EFI_PARTITION=y[/
code]

I am planning to use ntfs-3g.
The output of dmidecode is:
Code:
http://dpaste.com/1DDH3S6
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43195
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sat Nov 03, 2018 1:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

MystKid,

I was hoping dmidecode would say something more useful than
Code:
OPROM - RST - RAID

I wanted the raid type supported by your BIOS.
Still, it does say that you have a TUF Z370-PRO GAMING motherboard and the manual for that on page 4-1 says that it supports Intel Rapid Storage Technology, so we got there.

Intel Rapid Storage Technology is supported by kernel raid and mdadm. dmraid is not required.
I can't find any Gentoo specific details online but heres an overview.

Install mdadm, if you don't have it.
Use mdadm --assemble to assemble your raid set.
There is an mdadm --scan command to have mdadm search for raid sets too. Read the man page.
Once the raid set is assembled, the partition should be visible too.
Mount partition 2

Quote:
mdadm -E /dev/sd...
should show you details abeut the raid set.

Once your raid is assembled, /proc/mdstat will tell you a bit about it.

ntfs-3g will give you read and write access. The kernel ntfs driver is read only, so that's probably the right answer.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
InvisibleRasta
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 30 Mar 2011
Posts: 112

PostPosted: Sat Nov 03, 2018 1:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This is the dmesg output from the ArchLinux installation. Here everything worked out of the box.. no need to run a single command.
Code:
http://dpaste.com/21X3H0D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43195
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sat Nov 03, 2018 1:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

MystKid,

That's your raid set.
Code:
[   13.516297] md126: detected capacity change from 0 to 4000792444928
[   13.554281]  md126: p1 p2


As I suspected, its using mdadm.

The content of /proc/mdstat will be useful too.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
InvisibleRasta
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 30 Mar 2011
Posts: 112

PostPosted: Sat Nov 03, 2018 1:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Here is the log from the ArchLinux install:

Code:
cat /proc/mdstat
Personalities : [raid0]
md126 : active raid0 sdd[1] sdc[0]
      3907023872 blocks super external:/md127/0 64k chunks
     
md127 : inactive sdc[1](S) sdd[0](S)
      5032 blocks super external:imsm
       
unused devices: <none>
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43195
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sat Nov 03, 2018 1:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

MystKid,

You need raid0 support in Multiple Devices in the kernel and mdadm installed.
Then you can assemble the raid and mount /dev/md126
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.


Last edited by NeddySeagoon on Sat Nov 03, 2018 1:41 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
InvisibleRasta
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 30 Mar 2011
Posts: 112

PostPosted: Sat Nov 03, 2018 1:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have it as module on the GEntoo install.I tried alredy to modprobe raid0 and i do have mdadm installed.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43195
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sat Nov 03, 2018 1:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

MystKid,

Don't let dm-raid grab your raid set.

Code:
modprobe raid0
mdadm --assemble ...
mount /dev/md126


If Arch can automate it, so can Gentoo.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
InvisibleRasta
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 30 Mar 2011
Posts: 112

PostPosted: Sat Nov 03, 2018 2:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
mount -o ntfs-3g /dev/md126p2 /mnt/

Did the trick. i did not have to assemble. Thank you very much!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum