Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Amdgpu + kernel (i'm missing something)
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
nenoro
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Jan 2018
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Tue Nov 27, 2018 11:16 pm    Post subject: Amdgpu + kernel (i'm missing something) Reply with quote

Hiya guys

So back to gentoo (yay wait where were you before ??)

So i'm a bit in a "no way" issue, i read https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/AMDGPU for my RX 480 (Arctic Islands)

I add in my make.conf

Code:
USE="savedconfig experimental (this one is for my ryzen)"


Code:
> I run emerge -a linux-firmware
> [...] make menuconfig
> i search graphics support
> search [b]for Display Engine Configuration  --->
                  [*] AMD DC - Enable new display engine(**)
                  [ /*] DC support for Polaris and older ASICs[/b]
                        (only needed for Polaris, Carrizo, Tonga, Bonaire, Hawaii)

But i don't find it (**) i only find ATI Radeon and AMD GPU

So my question is : am i missing something ?

[Moderator edit: changed [quote] tags to [code] tags to preserve output layout. -Hu]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Doctor
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 27 Jul 2010
Posts: 2574

PostPosted: Wed Nov 28, 2018 12:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You need Direct rendering manager and amdgpu in the kernel.

You shouldn't need anything specific for polaris. I'm running a polaris 11 chipset right now (560) Linux firmware's default config just pulled everything I needed.

If you have doubts check /lib/firmware/amdgpu/ to see if the firmware listed on the wiki is installed.

Is the card failing to work on boot up? Module or built in? If the firmware isn't built into the kernel it needs to be a module.
_________________
First things first, but not necessarily in that order.

Apologies if I take a while to respond. I'm currently working on the dematerialization circuit for my blue box.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nenoro
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Jan 2018
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Thu Nov 29, 2018 2:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
If you have doubts check /lib/firmware/amdgpu/ to see if the firmware listed on the wiki is installed.


i checked after you told me to look and there is the amdgpu.bin for my gpu

Quote:
Is the card failing to work on boot up? Module or built in? If the firmware isn't built into the kernel it needs to be a module.


No failing on boot up

Everything goes well but i was just surprise i didn't see

Quote:
Display Engine Configuration --->
[*] AMD DC - Enable new display engine(**)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Doctor
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 27 Jul 2010
Posts: 2574

PostPosted: Thu Nov 29, 2018 5:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quite probably the wiki and reality are not in sync. It happens.
_________________
First things first, but not necessarily in that order.

Apologies if I take a while to respond. I'm currently working on the dematerialization circuit for my blue box.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43178
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Thu Nov 29, 2018 6:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

nenoro,

Code:
[*] AMD DC - Enable new display engine(**)
is gone in 4.19 and probably earlier.

Its not quite as bad as The Doctor makes out. The wiki and reality are not in sync for some values of kernel version.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nenoro
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Jan 2018
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Sat Dec 01, 2018 4:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

So i just copy the microcode for my cpu and gpu and move on to not see that code line for my polaris 10 then.

someone should update the handbook when something is added or removed that would help.

edit: I think that part was remove before because i just notice gentoo-sources is on 4.14.83 and vanilla-sources is on 4.19.5

by the way i think i'm going to use vanilla-sources
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43178
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sat Dec 01, 2018 6:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

nenoro,

Stable gentoo-sources is on 4.14.83, testing gentoo-sources is on 4.19.5.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum