Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
unable to get kernel modesetting working on a radeon r7 250
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
berardel
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 Mar 2018
Posts: 34
Location: United States

PostPosted: Sat Dec 01, 2018 4:59 am    Post subject: unable to get kernel modesetting working on a radeon r7 250 Reply with quote

ive tried a bunch of different things on the wiki page, and so far none of it has worked.
im currently using kernel version 4.14.83 from sys-kernel/gentoo-sources, i tried enabling all the available options that the wiki said to.
ive tried enabling a bunch of different firmware and so far none of it has worked:
ive tried using none at all, that didnt work.
Code:
amdgpu/oland_{ce,k_smc,mc,me,mec2,mec,pfp,rlc,sdma1,sdma,smc,uvd,vce}.bin

but i think it said something like there was no make files found for some of them so i ended up just trying
Code:
oland_ce.bin, oland_k_smc.bin, oland_mc.bin, oland_me.bin, oland_pfp.bin, oland_rlc.bin, oland_smc.bin

both from /lib/firmware/radeon and /lib/firmware/amdgpu and neither worked.
i have also tried using this
Code:
radeon/{verde_{ce,mc,me,pfp,rlc,smc},TAHITI_{uvd,vce}}.bin

and it didnt work either. i also tried all that but in the amdgpu folder, but it couldnt find the TAHITI ones so i tried without that too, but that didnt work either.
basically nothing i have tried so far has worked. i also tried using a bunch of different kernel version before and none of that worked either, though i dont remember well what all i tried then.
im also completely unable to use the x server at all.
what can i do to fix this?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43378
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sat Dec 01, 2018 8:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

berardel,

Please pastebin the following

Your dmesg output, if you get that far.
Your kernel .config.

Post the output of
Code:
lspci -nn

Explain how you build and install your kernel.

This will tell us about your hardware and how your kernel is configured to match it.
We need to know how you build your kernel as its easy to leave out a kernel build or install step.

If you get a console at all with your new kernel, what does
Code:
uname -a
tell?
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gengreen
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 23 Dec 2017
Posts: 84

PostPosted: Sat Dec 01, 2018 11:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Maybe you are writting the syntax incorrectly (maybe)

Here how it should look (example of my .config with firmware loaded for my nvidia)

Code:
cat /usr/src/linux/.config |grep EXTRA
CONFIG_EXTRA_FIRMWARE="nvidia/gp107/gr/fecs_bl.bin nvidia/gp107/gr/fecs_data.bin nvidia/gp107/gr/fecs_inst.bin nvidia/gp107/gr/fecs_sig.bin nvidia/gp107/gr/gpccs_bl.bin nvidia/gp107/gr/gpccs_data.bin nvidia/gp107/gr/gpccs_inst.bin nvidia/gp107/gr/gpccs_sig.bin nvidia/gp107/gr/sw_ctx.bin nvidia/gp107/gr/sw_nonctx.bin"
CONFIG_EXTRA_FIRMWARE_DIR="/lib/firmware"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
berardel
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 Mar 2018
Posts: 34
Location: United States

PostPosted: Sat Dec 01, 2018 3:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon wrote:
berardel,

Please pastebin the following

Your dmesg output, if you get that far.
Your kernel .config.

Post the output of
Code:
lspci -nn

Explain how you build and install your kernel.

This will tell us about your hardware and how your kernel is configured to match it.
We need to know how you build your kernel as its easy to leave out a kernel build or install step.

If you get a console at all with your new kernel, what does
Code:
uname -a
tell?


i do get a command line interface, though its in something like 640x480 resolution.
heres how i configure the kernel :
1. go to /usr/src/linux and execute "make menuconfig" and configure it
2. after configuring it i close it and save the config changes and then run "make" in that same directory
3. execute "make modules_install"
4. execute "make install"
5. execute "genkernel --install initramfs"
6. execute "grub-mkconfig -o /boot/grub/grub.cfg
7. then reboot

heres the ouputs/files you asked for:
kernel config:
https://pastebin.com/Ya3Ydq0C
dmesg output:
https://pastebin.com/7VvaCvrw
lspci output:
https://pastebin.com/TuBH0dK8
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ant P.
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 18 Apr 2009
Posts: 5854

PostPosted: Sat Dec 01, 2018 4:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
Code:
CONFIG_EXTRA_FIRMWARE=""

Your kernel doesn't actually have the firmware.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
berardel
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 Mar 2018
Posts: 34
Location: United States

PostPosted: Sat Dec 01, 2018 6:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ant P. wrote:
Your kernel doesn't actually have the firmware.

well ya i know it doesnt right now, i just removed it all after i tried all the different things.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43378
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sat Dec 01, 2018 6:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

berardel,

Code:
[    0.556561] amdgpu 0000:41:00.0: Direct firmware load for radeon/oland_mc.bin failed with error -2
[    0.556700] amdgpu 0000:41:00.0: si_mc: Failed to load firmware "radeon/oland_mc.bin"
[    0.556836] amdgpu 0000:41:00.0: Failed to load mc firmware!
[    0.556933] [drm:amdgpu_device_init] *ERROR* sw_init of IP block <gmc_v6_0> failed -2


That's one of the missing firmware files ... then it gave up.

Reconfigure the kernel with the required firmware and pastebin the config again.
You can do the build and test if you want.

Your kernel build process is missing the
Code:
mount /boot
step. Not everyone requires it but if you need it and don't do it, things are silently installed to the wrong place.

What in the date/time in
Code:
uname -a
I get
Code:
$ uname -a
Linux NeddySeagoon_Static 4.19.0-gentoo #1 SMP PREEMPT Thu Oct 25 19:29:44 BST 2018 x86_64 AMD Phenom(tm) II X6 1090T Processor AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux

Its the build date and time of the running kernel. If it looks too old, that a pointer to not mounting /boot for the kernel install.

You have a
Code:
[Radeon HD 8670 / R7 250/350] [1002:6610]

This page confirms that amdgpu is correct for you.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
berardel
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 Mar 2018
Posts: 34
Location: United States

PostPosted: Sat Dec 01, 2018 6:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon wrote:
berardel,

Code:
[    0.556561] amdgpu 0000:41:00.0: Direct firmware load for radeon/oland_mc.bin failed with error -2
[    0.556700] amdgpu 0000:41:00.0: si_mc: Failed to load firmware "radeon/oland_mc.bin"
[    0.556836] amdgpu 0000:41:00.0: Failed to load mc firmware!
[    0.556933] [drm:amdgpu_device_init] *ERROR* sw_init of IP block <gmc_v6_0> failed -2


That's one of the missing firmware files ... then it gave up.

Reconfigure the kernel with the required firmware and pastebin the config again.
You can do the build and test if you want.

Your kernel build process is missing the
Code:
mount /boot
step. Not everyone requires it but if you need it and don't do it, things are silently installed to the wrong place.

What in the date/time in
Code:
uname -a
I get
Code:
$ uname -a
Linux NeddySeagoon_Static 4.19.0-gentoo #1 SMP PREEMPT Thu Oct 25 19:29:44 BST 2018 x86_64 AMD Phenom(tm) II X6 1090T Processor AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux

Its the build date and time of the running kernel. If it looks too old, that a pointer to not mounting /boot for the kernel install.

You have a
Code:
[Radeon HD 8670 / R7 250/350] [1002:6610]

This page confirms that amdgpu is correct for you.

isnt this for using UEFI to boot?
Code:
mount /boot

i only use BIOS though since UEFI has given me alot of problems in the past.

also i just tried to try enabling all the amdgpu firmware that had oland in the name and i got this:
Code:

alimonycenter ~ # dmesg | grep failed
[    0.000000] tsc: Fast TSC calibration failed
[    0.000000] tsc: Fast TSC calibration failed
[    0.561391] amdgpu 0000:41:00.0: Direct firmware load for radeon/oland_mc.bin failed with error -2
[    0.561762] [drm:amdgpu_device_init] *ERROR* sw_init of IP block <gmc_v6_0> failed -2
[    0.561899] amdgpu 0000:41:00.0: amdgpu_init failed
[    0.562717] amdgpu: probe of 0000:41:00.0 failed with error -2
alimonycenter ~ # cat /usr/src/linux/.config | grep EXTRA
CONFIG_EXTRA_FIRMWARE="oland_ce.bin oland_k_smc.bin oland_mc.bin oland_me.bin oland_pfp.bin oland_rlc.bin oland_smc.bin"
CONFIG_EXTRA_FIRMWARE_DIR="/lib/firmware/amdgpu"
# CONFIG_SYSTEM_EXTRA_CERTIFICATE is not set
alimonycenter ~ #

also the creation date for the kernel is what it should be
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43378
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sat Dec 01, 2018 7:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

berardel,

You are providing the firmware in
Code:
CONFIG_EXTRA_FIRMWARE_DIR="/lib/firmware/amdgpu"

The driver is looking for radeon/oland_mc.bin
Code:
Direct firmware load for radeon/oland_mc.bin failed with error -2


The /lib/firmware/amdgpu/<your_file_list> directory structure is preserved inside the kernel.
If you don't provide radeon, it won't be found.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
berardel
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 Mar 2018
Posts: 34
Location: United States

PostPosted: Sat Dec 01, 2018 7:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon wrote:
berardel,

You are providing the firmware in
Code:
CONFIG_EXTRA_FIRMWARE_DIR="/lib/firmware/amdgpu"

The driver is looking for radeon/oland_mc.bin
Code:
Direct firmware load for radeon/oland_mc.bin failed with error -2


The /lib/firmware/amdgpu/<your_file_list> directory structure is preserved inside the kernel.
If you don't provide radeon, it won't be found.

alright i just included all the oland ones in both amdgpu and radeon and it worked, thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum