Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[solved] how recover bzip2 , i deleted it for error!
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
papu
l33t
l33t


Joined: 25 Jan 2008
Posts: 605
Location: Sota algun pi o alzina...

PostPosted: Sat Dec 22, 2018 9:28 pm    Post subject: [solved] how recover bzip2 , i deleted it for error! Reply with quote

i make a stupid mistake and deleted the essencial bzip2 program , and now i can't install programs.

Code:
# equery check bzip2 ; equery files bzip2
PORTAGE_BZIP2_COMMAND setting is invalid: 'bzip2'
PORTAGE_BZIP2_COMMAND setting from make.globals is invalid: 'bzip2'
PORTAGE_BZIP2_COMMAND setting is invalid: 'bzip2'
PORTAGE_BZIP2_COMMAND setting from make.globals is invalid: 'bzip2'
PORTAGE_BZIP2_COMMAND setting is invalid: 'bzip2'
PORTAGE_BZIP2_COMMAND setting from make.globals is invalid: 'bzip2'
!!! No installed packages matching 'bzip2'
PORTAGE_BZIP2_COMMAND setting is invalid: 'bzip2'
PORTAGE_BZIP2_COMMAND setting from make.globals is invalid: 'bzip2'
PORTAGE_BZIP2_COMMAND setting is invalid: 'bzip2'
PORTAGE_BZIP2_COMMAND setting from make.globals is invalid: 'bzip2'
PORTAGE_BZIP2_COMMAND setting is invalid: 'bzip2'
PORTAGE_BZIP2_COMMAND setting from make.globals is invalid: 'bzip2'
!!! No installed packages matching 'bzip2'
 * Searching for bzip2 ...


how i have to fix this problem?

emerge --info

thanks so much!
_________________
--Intel i5 6600 --GA-Z170-HD3P --Ripjaws V 2x8 2400 --Radeon RX 470 G1 4G --Gentoo & Windows


Last edited by papu on Sun Dec 23, 2018 12:12 pm; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Muso
l33t
l33t


Joined: 22 Oct 2002
Posts: 985
Location: The Holy city of Honolulu

PostPosted: Sat Dec 22, 2018 9:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

emerge --oneshot app-arch/bzip2
_________________
Time is a great teacher, but unfortunately it kills all its pupils.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 7196
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Sat Dec 22, 2018 9:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

http://packages.gentooexperimental.org/packages/
_________________
Please learn how to denote units correctly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43558
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sat Dec 22, 2018 9:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jaglover

That gets you bzip2-1.0.6-r10.tbz2 which is a bzip2 tarball.
Busybox has a cut down bzip2 though.

Dropping the man and doc pages, only
Code:
$ equery f bzip2
 * Searching for bzip2 ...
 * Contents of app-arch/bzip2-1.0.6-r10:
/bin
/bin/bunzip2 -> bzip2
/bin/bzcat -> bzip2
/bin/bzip2
/lib64
/lib64/libbz2.so.1 -> libbz2.so.1.0.6
/lib64/libbz2.so.1.0 -> libbz2.so.1.0.6
/lib64/libbz2.so.1.0.6
/usr
/usr/bin
/usr/bin/bzcmp -> bzdiff
/usr/bin/bzdiff
/usr/bin/bzegrep -> bzgrep
/usr/bin/bzfgrep -> bzgrep
/usr/bin/bzgrep
/usr/bin/bzip2recover
/usr/bin/bzless -> bzmore
/usr/bin/bzmore
/usr/include
/usr/include/bzlib.h
/usr/lib64
/usr/lib64/libbz2.a
/usr/lib64/libbz2.so
needs to be installed.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
papu
l33t
l33t


Joined: 25 Jan 2008
Posts: 605
Location: Sota algun pi o alzina...

PostPosted: Sun Dec 23, 2018 12:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

is not posible to install any emerge package without bzip2 then seems i break my system like idiot i am... :oops:
buy i try to fix :?
_________________
--Intel i5 6600 --GA-Z170-HD3P --Ripjaws V 2x8 2400 --Radeon RX 470 G1 4G --Gentoo & Windows
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 7196
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Sun Dec 23, 2018 12:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon, papu,

I imagined everybody has a little USB stick with SystemRescueCD on it. Perhaps I was wrong.
_________________
Please learn how to denote units correctly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 7196
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Sun Dec 23, 2018 12:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Here is a tarball without bzip : <removed>
It was built on Kaby Lake, not sure if it runs elsewhere, though. You may need to run ldconfig by hand after unpacking.
_________________
Please learn how to denote units correctly!


Last edited by Jaglover on Sun Dec 23, 2018 2:45 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
papu
l33t
l33t


Joined: 25 Jan 2008
Posts: 605
Location: Sota algun pi o alzina...

PostPosted: Sun Dec 23, 2018 2:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ups i am really really idiot, i forget i had a rsync backup, there was a copy of bzip2.

today i finally decided to elimate the ABI_X86="32 64" from my make.conf and i have losed control myself a bit!


thanks you so much

:roll:
_________________
--Intel i5 6600 --GA-Z170-HD3P --Ripjaws V 2x8 2400 --Radeon RX 470 G1 4G --Gentoo & Windows
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ant P.
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 18 Apr 2009
Posts: 5878

PostPosted: Sun Dec 23, 2018 4:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Putting PORTAGE_BZIP2_COMMAND="busybox bzip2" in make.conf would probably work.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
papu
l33t
l33t


Joined: 25 Jan 2008
Posts: 605
Location: Sota algun pi o alzina...

PostPosted: Sun Dec 23, 2018 12:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ant P. wrote:
Putting PORTAGE_BZIP2_COMMAND="busybox bzip2" in make.conf would probably work.


i was fixed before you write this post , but i would to test this you say whithout unistall bzip2 :roll:

using just PORTAGE_BZIP2_COMMAND="busybox" in make.conf , would be forced to use bzip2 from busybox?
_________________
--Intel i5 6600 --GA-Z170-HD3P --Ripjaws V 2x8 2400 --Radeon RX 470 G1 4G --Gentoo & Windows
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
krinn
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 02 May 2003
Posts: 7095

PostPosted: Sun Dec 23, 2018 12:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That's the idea behind Ant P. suggest.

But i'm only seeing myself a PORTAGE_BUNZIP2_COMMAND, not PORTAGE_BZIP2_COMMAND
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hu
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 06 Mar 2007
Posts: 14062

PostPosted: Sun Dec 23, 2018 5:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

papu wrote:
i was fixed before you write this post , but i would to test this you say whithout unistall bzip2 :roll:
You could temporarily disable bzip2 / bunzip2 by moving them aside, changing the permissions, or bind-mounting /bin/false onto them. Each of those would force a failure if Portage continued to try to use the regular bzip2, but would be easily reversed when you were done.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ant P.
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 18 Apr 2009
Posts: 5878

PostPosted: Mon Dec 24, 2018 1:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

krinn wrote:
That's the idea behind Ant P. suggest.

But i'm only seeing myself a PORTAGE_BUNZIP2_COMMAND, not PORTAGE_BZIP2_COMMAND

Ah I misread the manpage, there's both. PORTAGE_BUNZIP2_COMMAND="busybox bunzip2"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum