Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
CONFIG_DRM_RADEON=y crashes my system. [SOLVED]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Draenin
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Mar 2016
Posts: 34

PostPosted: Wed Dec 19, 2018 12:41 pm    Post subject: CONFIG_DRM_RADEON=y crashes my system. [SOLVED] Reply with quote

Hello, maybe someone can direct me towards the right path.

I am doing a completely fresh Gentoo installation. After preparing the disks, downloading the stage 3, and setting up Portage. The next step is compiling the Kernel, and it is where I am having problems.

The kernel has pretty much the default settings. The variations are the one needed to bootstrap the Btrfs RAID 0 filesystem. For which I need a initramfs executing: btrfs devices scan. Also, I am not using GRUB, so I use the kernel EFI stub loader. With that in mind my kernel .config file looks like:

https://justpaste.it/6vl9q

In this configuration, if I deactivate CONFIG_DRM_RADEON (i.e. =n) the system boots without problems. If I activate that ONLY option, the system hard crashes, and by this I mean not log about the crash is written. Nor in dmesg or other /var/log I looked up. If CONFIG_DRM_RADEON is set to 'y' it crashes almost immediately after the EFI bootloader passes control, if it is set to 'm' it takes a few seconds. Openrc-init even kicks in, but I guess then the Raden DRM module gets loaded and it crashes.

The crash is a TOTAL dead system. Total unresponsive, complete black screen. The monitor even behaves as if the cable was disconnected, and put itself to sleep. Although the system is still on.

Just for more information, the installed graphic card is a ATI Radeon HD 5770. I bought and have in the shelf (i.e. not yet installed in the motherboard) an AMD Vega 64. I am planning to use both because I am planning to have Win10 in a Qemu/KVM virtual machine with pass-through. So the Vega will be for Linux and the HD 5770 will pass through to Win10. I am saying this because, when modifying the kernel configuration I also tried including the settings for the Vega: CONFIG_DRM_AMDGPU=y and its firmware and had NO problems. In either case the setting that will crash the system is CONFIG_DRM_RADEON.

So you know, a couple of years ago I used this card (HD 5757) in a previous Linux installation, dual booting with Windows. And it worked but sometimes, pretty frequently in fact, when doing "heavy" video tasks, like viewing a YouTube video full screen. The system also crashed. And the crashes were pretty similar to these booting crashes. I mean black screens (for the monitor like if the system was shut down), no logs left behind, and so on. I always assumed it was some bug in the drivers that eventually would get ironed out. But in any case, the system DID boot without problems.

The thing is, I have being meddling with the settings of the kernel for a few days now with not avail. Recompiling the kernel and recovering from a boot crash is a pain in the butt for a trial and error process. So any help, or any clue pointing me to the right direction, will be GREATLY appreciated.

Finally, for another reference. I did some modifications to the default kernel configuration (above) to other configuration that I, in my limited knowledge, think fits better my system and my needs. The final configuration (below) that I think I will be using also boots without problems if CONFIG_DRM_RADEON is not set. But again the moment I set on this ONLY setting the system fatally crashes when bootstraping.

https://justpaste.it/2niew

Thanks in advance for the help.
------------------final edit------------------
SOLUTION: Set radeon.dpm=0:
Code:
CONFIG_CMDLINE="radeon.dpm=0"

Thank hedmo.
_________________
Linux enthusiast


Last edited by Draenin on Fri Jan 04, 2019 10:01 pm; edited 7 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ant P.
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 18 Apr 2009
Posts: 5956

PostPosted: Wed Dec 19, 2018 9:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Try adding these to your kernel:
Code:
CONFIG_PSTORE=y
CONFIG_EFI_VARS_PSTORE=y
CONFIG_EFI_VARS_PSTORE_DEFAULT_DISABLE=n
CONFIG_PSTORE_CONSOLE=y
CONFIG_PSTORE_PMSG=y

Reboot and allow it to crash; reboot with another EFI-enabled kernel that works (sysrescuecd, ubuntu or whatever) and—hopefully—you'll find the dmesg text of the crash in /sys/fs/pstore/. Posting that will be helpful.

(once you've done this, set PSTORE_DEFAULT_DISABLE=y or throw that kernel away - EFI doesn't react well to being constantly written to)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
xdarma
l33t
l33t


Joined: 08 Dec 2003
Posts: 693
Location: tra veneto e friuli (italy)

PostPosted: Thu Dec 20, 2018 10:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

IIRC, the "amdgpu" module doesn't support HD5770 and "radeon" module doesn't support Vega adapter.
Maybe it's easier to find a working setup with amdgpu+Vega, then add radeon+HD5770. IMO.
_________________
proud user of faKeDE-4.7.3
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Anon-E-moose
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 23 May 2008
Posts: 4306
Location: Dallas area

PostPosted: Thu Dec 20, 2018 12:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you're planning on using the 5770 as a pass through I would unbind/blacklist it from the system early on.
You may need further refining via pci-id or other things per video module also.
_________________
Asus m5a99fx, FX 8320 - nouveau, oss4, rx550 for qemu passthrough
Acer laptop E5-575, i3-7100u - i965, alsa
---both---
5.0.13 zen kernel, profile 17.1 (no-pie & modified) amd64-no-multilib
gcc 8.2.0, eudev, openrc, openbox, palemoon
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Draenin
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Mar 2016
Posts: 34

PostPosted: Fri Dec 21, 2018 1:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok.

I set the EFI back end for pstore (persistent store); setting the five variables Ant P. suggested. But unfortunately nothing was written to /sys.

After rebooting with the Gentoo-install-minimal disc and mount the hard drive filesystem this is what was in /mnt/gentoo/sys/ (being /mnt/gentoo the mount point for the filesystem root in the hard drive):
Code:
total 0
drwxr-xr-x 1 root root  10 Dec  7 01:53 .
drwxr-xr-x 1 root root 338 Dec 21 01:10 ..
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root   0 Dec  7 01:53 .keep


This is what was in /sys/fs/ (the actual /sys of the system running from the Gentoo disc). I know, pstore shouldn't be here, but just in case:
Code:
total 0
drwxr-xr-x  8 root root  0 Dec 21 01:23 .
dr-xr-xr-x 13 root root  0 Dec 21 01:23 ..
drwxr-xr-x  4 root root  0 Dec 21 01:30 btrfs
drwxr-xr-x  4 root root 80 Dec 21 01:23 cgroup
drwxr-xr-x  3 root root  0 Dec 21 01:30 ext4
drwxr-xr-x  3 root root  0 Dec 21 01:30 f2fs
drwxr-xr-x  3 root root  0 Dec 21 01:23 fuse
drwxr-xr-x  3 root root  0 Dec 21 01:30 xfs


And after rebooting with the backup kernel, this is the /sys/fs/ in the hard drive now:
Code:
total 0
drwxr-xr-x  6 root root   0 Dec 21 02:38 .
dr-xr-xr-x 12 root root   0 Dec 21 02:38 ..
drwxr-xr-x  4 root root   0 Dec 21 02:39 btrfs
drwxr-xr-x  8 root root 160 Dec 21 02:38 cgroup
drwxr-xr-x  3 root root   0 Dec 21 02:39 ext4
drwxr-xr-x  7 root root   0 Dec 21 02:38 selinux


So, no pstore/ to be seen anywhere.

Not sure what to do. I have other (minor) things to fix, e.g. the Btrfs not working quite as I expected, some dmesg with things to fix. Maybe I just should install the Vega and go and read a bit about the unbinding of the HD5770 and how the pass-through should work. As xdarma and Anon-E-moose suggested.

Maybe that would prevent the crashes, if it is Win10 which will be directly initializing and taking care of the HD5770. A thing it is obliviously capable of doing given that it is doing it right now.
_________________
Linux enthusiast
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Anon-E-moose
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 23 May 2008
Posts: 4306
Location: Dallas area

PostPosted: Fri Dec 21, 2018 10:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

an interesting read, if you haven't seen it already https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/AMDGPU some parameters might be useful for you.
_________________
Asus m5a99fx, FX 8320 - nouveau, oss4, rx550 for qemu passthrough
Acer laptop E5-575, i3-7100u - i965, alsa
---both---
5.0.13 zen kernel, profile 17.1 (no-pie & modified) amd64-no-multilib
gcc 8.2.0, eudev, openrc, openbox, palemoon
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hedmo
l33t
l33t


Joined: 29 Aug 2009
Posts: 952
Location: halmstad

PostPosted: Thu Dec 27, 2018 7:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Draenin

i have a AMD/ATI Broadway XT [Mobility Radeon HD 5870] and have the same problem as you.
my prolem was DPM and had to set radeon.dpm=0 at boot or my box will go black when the radeon driver start

regards hedmo
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Draenin
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Mar 2016
Posts: 34

PostPosted: Mon Dec 31, 2018 3:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hedmo,

Thank you. THANK YOU very much!

Yes, radeon.dpm=0 solves the hard crashes:
Code:
CONFIG_CMDLINE="root=LABEL=stripe rootflags=subvol=@ radeon.dpm=0"


All the tty (virtual terminals: Ctrl+Alt+{F1..F12}) still go blank, but al least the system is not unresponsive. It can be shut down with the Magic SysRq key. Even better, having installed Plasma, the DE (Desktop Environment) pops up at tty7 if given enough time to initialize; and from there you have a pretty functional system.

I won't mark the thread as SOLVED because I still have to fix the virtual terminals. None of it works, save for tty7 if you have a DE already installed that takes over that virtual terminal. Also tty12 goes blank, where syslog-ng should be logging some messages.
I guess it has something to do with the Console display driver support. I have set the Framebuffer Console support (FRAMEBUFFER_CONSOLE=y). And the framebuffer device is ATI Radeon (FB_RADEON=y, FB_RADEON_I2C=y, FB_RADEON_BACKLIGHT=y), although I also tried with the generic VESA (FB_VESA=y) and that doesn't solve the problem. I'll play with these settings latter.

By the way, my motherboard (Intel dp55kg) is too old (8 years old) to support the Vega 64. It freezes with a Eb BIOS error code. So, I have to make the HD 5770 work, and dual boot with Win10. Which sucks, because with dual booting one just ends up using one system.
I am planning on buying a Ryzen 3º gen (7 nm) when AMD releases them next months. Then I will try the pass-through.
_________________
Linux enthusiast
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hedmo
l33t
l33t


Joined: 29 Aug 2009
Posts: 952
Location: halmstad

PostPosted: Tue Jan 01, 2019 7:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Draenin wrote:


All the tty (virtual terminals: Ctrl+Alt+{F1..F12}) still go blank.


Draenin my ttys goes black to but after 20-30 sec it lights up.my problem is :
Code:
[  261.476776] [drm:uvd_v1_0_start [radeon]] *ERROR* UVD not responding, giving up!!!   


look in dmesg and see if you have any errors

regards hedmo
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Draenin
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Mar 2016
Posts: 34

PostPosted: Fri Jan 04, 2019 9:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, problem solved.

The ttys went blank because I had misconfigured the kernel. DRM_FBDEV_EMULATION=y fixes the blank ttys.

Thank again hedmo, yours is the solution to the actual issue, i.e. radeon.dpm=0.

And thanks everybody in the thread who chipped in.
_________________
Linux enthusiast
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum