Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[Solved]Unable to enable the AGP_NVIDIA module in kernel
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
reikdas
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 27 Nov 2018
Posts: 238

PostPosted: Thu Jan 10, 2019 7:25 pm    Post subject: [Solved]Unable to enable the AGP_NVIDIA module in kernel Reply with quote

I don't see the option in the make menuconfig of the kernel. This was Y before I started revamping everything (I disabled every NVIDIA and Nouveau kernel module when I was testing bumblebee)
Every other nvidia module is enabled.

Kernel .config - https://paste.pound-python.org/show/rxofpV4lESRWKtGyBvnj/
_________________
[19:18] <@NeddySeagoon> Gentoo has an installer. Just like other distros. Go to the bathroom, look in the mirror. You will see the Gentoo installer :)


Last edited by reikdas on Fri Jan 11, 2019 5:16 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hu
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 06 Mar 2007
Posts: 14360

PostPosted: Fri Jan 11, 2019 2:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

drivers/char/agp/Kconfig:
config AGP_NVIDIA
    tristate "NVIDIA nForce/nForce2 chipset support"
    depends on AGP && X86_32
kernel configuration:
19   CONFIG_X86_64=y
You cannot enable this option on a 64-bit kernel. Are you sure you ever used that option? Switching from x86_32 to x86_64 is not something you are likely to do accidentally, so it seems likely that you never had access to AGP_NVIDIA.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 7328
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Fri Jan 11, 2019 2:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Note, this is for nVidia chipset, not for nVidia graphics card. Ancient, too. You do not have it in your computer.
_________________
Please learn how to denote units correctly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
reikdas
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 27 Nov 2018
Posts: 238

PostPosted: Fri Jan 11, 2019 5:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ah, I must not have had it enabled in the beginning. Thanks!
_________________
[19:18] <@NeddySeagoon> Gentoo has an installer. Just like other distros. Go to the bathroom, look in the mirror. You will see the Gentoo installer :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Muso
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 22 Oct 2002
Posts: 1002
Location: The Holy city of Honolulu

PostPosted: Fri Jan 11, 2019 5:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

reikdas wrote:
Ah, I must not have had it enabled in the beginning. Thanks!


For clarity, you do not need nforce drivers. I used those many years ago in an old 32bit install of Gentoo with an nforce motherboard.
_________________
"You can lead a horticulture but you can't make her think" ~ Dorothy Parker
"It's not a big truck. It's a series of tubes." ~ Senator Ted Stevens describing the Internet
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum