Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
VIA C3 667MHz.
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Gentoopc
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 Dec 2017
Posts: 65

PostPosted: Sun Jan 13, 2019 8:46 pm    Post subject: VIA C3 667MHz. Reply with quote

Hey. Help run the minimum cd life on a motherboard with a VIA C3 667MHz processor. everything just hangs. loading does not go.
What do we have to do?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Muso
l33t
l33t


Joined: 22 Oct 2002
Posts: 980
Location: The Holy city of Honolulu

PostPosted: Sun Jan 13, 2019 9:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

How much ram does that machine have?
_________________
Time is a great teacher, but unfortunately it kills all its pupils.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Keruskerfuerst
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 01 Feb 2006
Posts: 2288
Location: near Augsburg, Germany

PostPosted: Sun Jan 13, 2019 9:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What version of live CD do you use ? x86 or x86-64 ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Muso
l33t
l33t


Joined: 22 Oct 2002
Posts: 980
Location: The Holy city of Honolulu

PostPosted: Sun Jan 13, 2019 9:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Keruskerfuerst wrote:
What version of live CD do you use ? x86 or x86-64 ?


Good question!

Gentoopc, that is a 32 bit CPU. It will not run with a 64bit iso.
_________________
Time is a great teacher, but unfortunately it kills all its pupils.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 7092
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Sun Jan 13, 2019 9:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If I remember correctly this CPU lacks cmov instruction. This is something GCC expects an i686 to have. Meaning it will require i486 stage tarball. Also, you need to boot a distro made for 486.
_________________
Please learn how to denote units correctly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gentoopc
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 Dec 2017
Posts: 65

PostPosted: Mon Jan 14, 2019 8:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

yes guys, you're right this is a 32 bit processor. operative memory 512.
I downloaded live cd for old processors.
there really is such a problem. CMOV.

I do not know how to solve it. i486 does not work /
I need help I would just boot from live
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gentoopc
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 Dec 2017
Posts: 65

PostPosted: Mon Jan 14, 2019 8:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I will say more. after a long google I was able to find an installer for i386 /

I can not boot. live cd for i386

does not work.

what to do?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Maitreya
Guru
Guru


Joined: 11 Jan 2006
Posts: 420

PostPosted: Mon Jan 14, 2019 12:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What does not work?
What does it say?
We can not guess from here, what's wrong.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gentoopc
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 Dec 2017
Posts: 65

PostPosted: Mon Jan 14, 2019 2:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

comes to boot:

I can not choose anything. just doesn't react to anything.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43200
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Mon Jan 14, 2019 2:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Gentoopc,

There is a bug in the i486 liveCD. It still expects the CMOV insluction.
With only 512MB of RAM, you can run Gentoo there but not build it.

What do you intend to run?

What other system do you have to build on?
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gentoopc
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 Dec 2017
Posts: 65

PostPosted: Mon Jan 14, 2019 4:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

board without linux. I want it to be Linux. let at least on live cd. feel sorry for her. so it was possible to have fun for fun. not for work.

give advice what to install
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Keruskerfuerst
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 01 Feb 2006
Posts: 2288
Location: near Augsburg, Germany

PostPosted: Mon Jan 14, 2019 4:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You can also try to run a binary distro.

Have a look at www.distrowatch.com.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 7092
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Mon Jan 14, 2019 5:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Search for i586.
_________________
Please learn how to denote units correctly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43200
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Mon Jan 14, 2019 5:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Gentoopc,

You can run linux, you can run Gentoo on that system.
Building Gentoo takes a lot more resources than running it, so if you build your Gentoo elsewhere, you can run it on a VIA C3 with 512Mb RAM.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gentoopc
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 Dec 2017
Posts: 65

PostPosted: Mon Jan 14, 2019 6:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ok all thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum