Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
noob doesn't understand graphics/audio drivers
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
russK
l33t
l33t


Joined: 27 Jun 2006
Posts: 630

PostPosted: Sat Mar 23, 2019 6:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Regarding startx, did you set VIDEO_CARDS in make.conf? I see no mention of it (I'm using my phone so I might have missed it).

https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Xorg/Guide

Regards
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
not_a_robot
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Mar 2019
Posts: 36

PostPosted: Sat Mar 23, 2019 6:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, I have VIDEO_CARDS="i965 intel"

Here is the full make.conf: http://dpaste.com/3VEG2VW
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43379
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sat Mar 23, 2019 6:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

not_a_robot,

The Intel Xorg driver is in two parts.

The kernel part
dmes:
[    1.812340] fbcon: inteldrmfb (fb0) is primary device
[    1.867978] Console: switching to colour frame buffer device 128x48
[    1.884646] i915 0000:00:02.0: fb0: inteldrmfb frame buffer device
is doing its thing driving the console.

The Xorg part, which depends on the kernel part, is missing.

As an aside,
dmesg:
[    2.147057] iwlwifi 0000:00:14.3: enabling device (0000 -> 0002)
[    2.148914] iwlwifi 0000:00:14.3: Direct firmware load for iwlwifi-9000-pu-b0-jf-b0-43.ucode failed with error -2
...
[    2.184292] VFS: Mounted root (ext4 filesystem) readonly on device 259:3.

If you want to make the wifi driver built in, its firmware must be bulilt in too.
I can tell its built in as it tries to start before root is mounted.


dmesg:
[    1.791864] [drm] forcing DP-1 connector off
[    1.795872] [drm] forcing HDMI-A-1 connector on

4k on HDMI ... well maybe.

That needs at least HDMI 1.3 at both ends and the cable needs to be up to it too. Do you have HDMI 1.3 on the TV and the Graphics card?
My display will only do 4k at 30Hz over HDMI. You really don't want 30Hz, the refresh rate may be very annoying.
Is using DP an option, even if its only for testing?

There is another way but I don't know how to do it in the console.
Xorg can generate any random resolution and refresh rate you care to name. You have to describe it to Xorg, then tell Xorg to use it.
From my Xorg.0.log
Code:
[   213.430] (II) AMDGPU(0): Modeline "3840x2160"x60.0  533.25  3840 3888 3920 4000  2160 2163 2168 2222 +hsync -vsync (133.3 kHz eP)

That's one set of numbers for a 3840x2160 60.0Hz modeline.

Going down this path we might get Xorg to work at 4k but first we need to give Xorg something to do so
Code:
emerge twm xterm xclock -1av
and run startx.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
not_a_robot
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Mar 2019
Posts: 36

PostPosted: Sat Mar 23, 2019 6:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

By the way, here are the logs from when I load my custom edid def with "drm.edid_firmware="

xorg: http://dpaste.com/04S5DQZ
dmesg: http://dpaste.com/3TE04EK
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43379
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sat Mar 23, 2019 6:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

not_a_robot,

dmesg:
[    1.826094] [drm] Initialized i915 1.6.0 20181204 for 0000:00:02.0 on minor 0
[    1.827364] ACPI: Video Device [GFX0] (multi-head: yes  rom: no  post: no)
[    1.827508] input: Video Bus as /devices/LNXSYSTM:00/LNXSYBUS:00/PNP0A08:00/LNXVIDEO:00/input/input3
[    1.827618] [drm] Got external EDID base block and 0 extensions from "edid/3840x2160.bin" for connector "HDMI-A-1"

Its using your 3840x2160.bin EDID file.

but Xorg claims that it describes
Xorg.0.log:
[    16.374] (II) modeset(0): Printing probed modes for output HDMI-1
[    16.374] (II) modeset(0): Modeline "1792x1008"x60.0  150.25  1792 1904 2096 2400  1008 1009 1012 1043 -hsync +vsync (62.6 kHz)


1792x1008 is a very odd mode.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
not_a_robot
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Mar 2019
Posts: 36

PostPosted: Sat Mar 23, 2019 6:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon:

Unfortunately I have no DP displays available to me at home. The TV, HDMI cable, and mobo HDMI output are all rated for HDMI 2.0.

So, if the Xorg part is missing, how do I get it? I can only compile the intel driver as a module xor built-in, from what I can tell.

As for the wifi driver, I did include it, because I am getting wifi, but I think I selected extraneous wifi drivers in the kernel (but only included the one firmware file relevant to my actual wifi device). I keep meaning to go back and unselect the unused wifi devices from my kernel config.

I emerge'd those tools and ran startx. I realized I didn't let xorg run all the way before killing it (I can't see the screen so I can't tell when to hit ctrl+c) so I reran it and waited a bit this time. Here is what I got: http://dpaste.com/2E3BBZY

And I noticed this odd video mode, too. I must have screwed up my EDID def.It's here: http://dpaste.com/11CJ0VW
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 7132
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Sat Mar 23, 2019 7:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

not_a_robot,

you do not need to set this high resolution mode for your console, Xorg has its own graphics driver and sets its modes separately. First, just try something modest to get your console working, maybe 1680x1050 or even less. Although you may need to pass this binary EDID to Xorg, it seems not get it properly.
_________________
Please learn how to denote units correctly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43379
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sat Mar 23, 2019 9:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

not_a_robot,

You have
Code:
[    31.828] (II) modeset(0): Modeline "1792x1008"x60.0  150.25  1792 1904 2096 2400  1008 1009 1012 1043 -hsync +vsync (62.6 kHz)

i don't see how that is related to your input (below) at all.
Code:
/* Display */
#define CLOCK 594000 /* kHz */
#define XPIX 3840
#define YPIX 2160
#define XY_RATIO XY_RATIO_16_9
#define XBLANK 560
#define YBLANK 90
#define XOFFSET 176
#define XPULSE 88
#define YOFFSET 8
#define YPULSE 10
#define DPI 72
#define VFREQ 60
#define TIMING_NAME "Linux UHD"
#define HSYNC_POL 1
#define VSYNC_POL 1


As a get you going, add nomodeset to the kernel command line. You can do that by pressing 'e' at the grub menu, to edit the in memory copy of grub.cfg.q
Do you get a display fron grub?

HDMI 2.0 is fine for 4k and 60Hz
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
not_a_robot
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Mar 2019
Posts: 36

PostPosted: Sat Mar 23, 2019 9:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jaglover: ok, using 1680x1050.

NeddySeagoon: I do get a display from grub. Using nomodeset, the display does not cut out. But, startx gives an error "no screens found".

dmesg: http://dpaste.com/08181QR
xorg: http://dpaste.com/2ERXH8N
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43379
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sat Mar 23, 2019 9:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

not_a_robot,

Good thats progress. Xorg was using the modesetting driver because the userspace part of the Xorg driver is missing.
nomodeset removes the /dev/dri/card0, so no drm drivers can work.

Your preferred driver list is
Code:
[    64.280] (==) Matched intel as autoconfigured driver 0
[    64.280] (==) Matched modesetting as autoconfigured driver 1
[    64.280] (==) Matched fbdev as autoconfigured driver 2
[    64.280] (==) Matched vesa as autoconfigured driver 3


Neither intel nor modesetting can be used while nomodeset in is effect. fbdev is plan and simple.
Code:
emerge -1av x11-drivers/xf86-video-fbdev
will install the Xorg fbdev driver.
Still using nomodeset, Xorg should work but it will be slow.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
not_a_robot
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Mar 2019
Posts: 36

PostPosted: Sat Mar 23, 2019 11:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That worked - startx took me into a gui.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43379
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sat Mar 23, 2019 11:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

not_a_robot,

Now that you have a GUI of sorts, life will get easier.

Please pastebin your dmesg, Xorg.0.log and kernel .config file.
The latter is at /usr/src/linux/.config
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
not_a_robot
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Mar 2019
Posts: 36

PostPosted: Sun Mar 24, 2019 12:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

dmesg: http://dpaste.com/3CN3Z3V
kernel config: http://dpaste.com/0Q5TB92
xorg log: http://dpaste.com/2F1PD0W
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43379
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sun Mar 24, 2019 1:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

not_a_robot,

Xorg.0.log:
[  5456.290] (II) FBDEV(0): Virtual size is 1024x768 (pitch 1024)

It will be distorted as that's a 4x3 mode but its progress.

Its using your efi framebuffer.
dmesg:
[    0.284717] efifb: mode is 1024x768x32, linelength=4096, pages=1


Your kernel .config contains
Code:
# PC SMBus host controller drivers
#
# CONFIG_I2C_ALI1535 is not set
# CONFIG_I2C_ALI1563 is not set
# CONFIG_I2C_ALI15X3 is not set
# CONFIG_I2C_AMD756 is not set
# CONFIG_I2C_AMD8111 is not set
# CONFIG_I2C_I801 is not set
# CONFIG_I2C_ISCH is not set
CONFIG_I2C_ISMT=m
# CONFIG_I2C_PIIX4 is not set
CONFIG_I2C_NFORCE2=m
# CONFIG_I2C_NFORCE2_S4985 is not set
# CONFIG_I2C_NVIDIA_GPU is not set
# CONFIG_I2C_SIS5595 is not set
# CONFIG_I2C_SIS630 is not set
# CONFIG_I2C_SIS96X is not set
# CONFIG_I2C_VIA is not set
# CONFIG_I2C_VIAPRO is not set
CONFIG_I2C_NFORCE2 is a bit odd. Its for a 20 year old motherboard chip set.
Are you sure CONFIG_I2C_ISMT is for your hardware and is the module loaded? It will be is lsmod.

I would expect one of
Code:
# CONFIG_I2C_I801 is not set
# CONFIG_I2C_ISCH is not set
CONFIG_I2C_ISMT=m
# CONFIG_I2C_PIIX4 is not set
to be correct. They are all Intel I2C controllers but I don't know which one.

A missing option here may prevent your EDID data from being read.
Right now, your EDID is being ignored, just like in days of old before EDID existed.
What does
Code:
lspci -nnk
show?

You didn't mess up your /usr/src/linux/Documentation/EDID settings. /usr/src/linux/Documentation/EDID/edid.S did.
Its suffered bitrot and only works for analogue outputs.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
not_a_robot
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Mar 2019
Posts: 36

PostPosted: Sun Mar 24, 2019 8:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

lspci -nnk: http://dpaste.com/3T38S5M

Interesting that I need I2C drivers. I had assumed this option was only relevant for embedded devices and such.
I didn't select a lot of the options in this kernel - I started with something from genkernel and tweaked from there. There's a lot of things enabled that I didn't deselect simply out of caution.

After enabling all four of those options in the kernel, I see that SMBus is now using the i801_smbus driver, where it wasn't previously.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 7132
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Sun Mar 24, 2019 8:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Your VGA device should have i915 driver loaded. It is not showing. Have you verified you run the kernel you think you are running.
Code:
uname -a

_________________
Please learn how to denote units correctly!


Last edited by Jaglover on Sun Mar 24, 2019 8:35 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
not_a_robot
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Mar 2019
Posts: 36

PostPosted: Sun Mar 24, 2019 8:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Is it not disabled by nomodeset?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43379
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sun Mar 24, 2019 8:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

not_a_robot,

Now that you have an I2C driver, can you read the EDID data from the display?
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
not_a_robot
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Mar 2019
Posts: 36

PostPosted: Sun Mar 24, 2019 8:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't seem to be able to. I rebooted without nomodeset and the display cut out again. get-edid just hangs: http://dpaste.com/0RZP4PB

Xorg log is the same: http://dpaste.com/2YNF0V6
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43379
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sun Mar 24, 2019 11:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

not_a_robot,

Code:
[    14.242] (II) modeset(0): EDID for output HDMI-1
[    14.242] (II) modeset(0): Printing probed modes for output HDMI-1
[    14.242] (II) modeset(0): Modeline "1024x768"x60.0   65.00  1024 1048 1184 1344  768 771 777 806 -hsync -vsync (48.4 kHz e)
[    14.242] (II) modeset(0): Modeline "800x600"x60.3   40.00  800 840 968 1056  600 601 605 628 +hsync +vsync (37.9 kHz e)
[    14.242] (II) modeset(0): Modeline "800x600"x56.2   36.00  800 824 896 1024  600 601 603 625 +hsync +vsync (35.2 kHz e)
[    14.242] (II) modeset(0): Modeline "848x480"x60.0   33.75  848 864 976 1088  480 486 494 517 +hsync +vsync (31.0 kHz e)
[    14.242] (II) modeset(0): Modeline "640x480"x59.9   25.18  640 656 752 800  480 490 492 525 -hsync -vsync (31.5 kHz e)
[    14.242] (II) modeset(0): Output DP-1 disconnected
[    14.242] (II) modeset(0): Output DP-2 disconnected
[    14.242] (II) modeset(0): Output HDMI-1 connected

That's the EDID in action and it claims that
Code:
[    14.242] (II) modeset(0): Output HDMI-1 using initial mode 1024x768 +0+0
..
[    14.466] (II) modeset(0): Setting screen physical size to 270 x 203
is in use.
That's the same resolution as you get with nomodeset.

Exactly when did the display got blank?
Did you see the Grub Menu?
The boot messages?
The login message?
Any of Xorg at all?

Lets try with the Intel Xorg driver which is not yet installed.
Code:
emerge -1av  x11-drivers/xf86-video-intel
and see if you get a different answer.
The Intel driver supports all sorts of hardware acceleration but that's eye candy just now.

If that won't work, we can try hand crafting a 4k modeline. I'll convert mine to the Xorg modeline syntax.
That may fix Xorg.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 7132
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Sun Mar 24, 2019 11:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ROG STRIX Z390-I GAMING

Shouldn't be anything special.

Possible bad hardware?
Perhaps some setting in UEFI firmware is incorrect or the board needs a firmware update to support your CPU?

Did you say Arch Linux went black, too? Any other Linux, Ubuntu live or Mint?
_________________
Please learn how to denote units correctly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
not_a_robot
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Mar 2019
Posts: 36

PostPosted: Mon Mar 25, 2019 3:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon wrote:

Exactly when did the display got blank?

Right after the message "fb0: switching to inteldrmfb from EFI VGA".
NeddySeagoon wrote:

Did you see the Grub Menu?

Yes
NeddySeagoon wrote:

The boot messages?

Up to the one about fb0.
NeddySeagoon wrote:

The login message?

No.
NeddySeagoon wrote:

Any of Xorg at all?

No.
NeddySeagoon wrote:

Lets try with the Intel Xorg driver

I get the same result.
xorg log: http://dpaste.com/2MWW5BS
dmesg: http://dpaste.com/3QABYFZ

Jaglover wrote:

Possible bad hardware?

Very possible. This has been a nightmare build, I've already had one CPU go dead and I'm beginning to suspect the motherboard killed it.
Jaglover wrote:

Perhaps some setting in UEFI firmware is incorrect or the board needs a firmware update to support your CPU?

It shouldn't, this board was specifically advertized as supporting 9th gen Intel CPUs.
Jaglover wrote:

Did you say Arch Linux went black, too? Any other Linux, Ubuntu live or Mint?

Worse - it had some kind of weird horizontal tearing. I haven't tried any other distros yet, I'll try Ubuntu live next.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
not_a_robot
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Mar 2019
Posts: 36

PostPosted: Mon Mar 25, 2019 4:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Update: just tried Ubuntu live cd. Same horizontal tearing. Must be the motherboard onboard video?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43379
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Mon Mar 25, 2019 11:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

not_a_robot,

Xorg didn't find the Intel driver.
Code:
[    14.151] (II) LoadModule: "intel"
[    14.152] (WW) Warning, couldn't open module intel
[    14.152] (EE) Failed to load module "intel" (module does not exist, 0)


That video disappears after "fb0: switching to inteldrmfb from EFI VGA" makes me think the Intel kernel driver is being selected but detecting another display output as being active,
since the video disappears. Certainly, Xorg reads EDID from somewhere.

The image is presented on the screen by reading out some memory pixel by pixel to draw the image on the screen. It starts in the top left goes along the top line, moves down a line and so on. The image isn't drawn in the memory like that, the drawing isn't even synchronised to the readout to the screen. If both processes go on in the same region of RAM at the same time, the picture looks really ugly. Over the years, a number of ways to combat the mess on the screen that using a single range of memory like that have been used.
The range of memory used to store the image is called a frame buffer. It holds a single frame for the display.
Today, with RAM being low cost, the video system uses two or even three framebuffers. One is being used to refresh the screen, another has the nexf image being drawn and a trird, if there is one, has a complete image waiting for display. The framebuffers are switched during the vertical blanking time, when nothing is being read ont to the display.

That's all well and good when it works. However, it all depends on the graphics system being able to draw frames in 'real time'. For a 60Hz refresh rate, thats every 16.667ms.
What happens when the drawing system can't keep up?
The new frame isn't ready. There isn't a good solution. The options are, switch frames anyway.
That's ugly. Delay the switch until the drawing completes. That's generates tearing. You see a part of an old frame again and part of a new one.
Throw the part drawn frame away, show the old frame again, but you might not me able to draw the next new frame either.

Horizontal tearing just a video artefact caused by the video system being unable to render frames in real time, its probably the least worst option.
The fix is to use the right graphics driver with the right acceleration options.

What driver did the Ubuntu live cd use?
Its Xorg log would be interesting.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
not_a_robot
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Mar 2019
Posts: 36

PostPosted: Mon Mar 25, 2019 7:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the detailed explanation. Indeed, the output from Ubuntu live cd was very interesting.

dmesg: http://dpaste.com/2RB74K9
lspci -nnk : http://dpaste.com/260TZTW
xorg: http://dpaste.com/10CXGK1

A few things I noticed, but don't know what to make of:
1) There are 3 connections: DP-1, DP-2, and HMDI-1. On the back panel of my motherboard, however, I only see a DisplayPort and an HDMI.
2) DP-1 is the only one that seems to be getting any EDID, and xorg log mentions something related to HMDI (line 187) under DP-1's EDID.
3) I don't see a 60Hz 4K mode getting picked up. I has assumed that, with every component rated for HDMI 2.0, and the mobo boasting 4K@60Hz, and the TV boasting 4K@120Hz (with motion interpolation), that I would see a 4K@60Hz mode.
4) Ubuntu selected a different SMBus module from what I had in Gentoo.
5) Some drivers (i915, snd_hda_intel) are being loaded both in-kernel and as modules. How do I do this in Gentoo?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Page 2 of 4

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum