Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Audio for Macbook Pro (12,1)
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
TauntingTygah
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Apr 2019
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Tue Apr 23, 2019 6:26 am    Post subject: Audio for Macbook Pro (12,1) Reply with quote

I'm having difficulty getting audio to work on my MBP (12,1)

The relevant sections of lspci -vvv are

Code:

00:03.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation Broadwell-U Audio Controller (rev 09)
   Subsystem: Apple Inc. Broadwell-U Audio Controller
   Control: I/O- Mem+ BusMaster+ SpecCycle- MemWINV- VGASnoop- ParErr- Stepping- SERR- FastB2B- DisINTx+
   Status: Cap+ 66MHz- UDF- FastB2B- ParErr- DEVSEL=fast >TAbort- <TAbort- <MAbort- >SERR- <PERR- INTx-
   Latency: 0, Cache Line Size: 256 bytes
   Interrupt: pin A routed to IRQ 50
   Region 0: Memory at c1810000 (64-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=16K]
   Capabilities: <access denied>
   Kernel driver in use: snd_hda_intel

00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation Wildcat Point-LP High Definition Audio Controller (rev 03)
   Subsystem: Intel Corporation Wildcat Point-LP High Definition Audio Controller
   Control: I/O- Mem+ BusMaster+ SpecCycle- MemWINV- VGASnoop- ParErr- Stepping- SERR- FastB2B- DisINTx+
   Status: Cap+ 66MHz- UDF- FastB2B- ParErr- DEVSEL=fast >TAbort- <TAbort- <MAbort- >SERR- <PERR- INTx-
   Latency: 64, Cache Line Size: 256 bytes
   Interrupt: pin A routed to IRQ 49
   Region 0: Memory at c1814000 (64-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=16K]
   Capabilities: <access denied>
   Kernel driver in use: snd_hda_intel


And when I run grep SND_HDA on /usr/src/linux/.config I get

Code:

3088:CONFIG_SND_HDA=y
3089:CONFIG_SND_HDA_INTEL=y
3090:CONFIG_SND_HDA_HWDEP=y
3091:CONFIG_SND_HDA_RECONFIG=y
3092:CONFIG_SND_HDA_INPUT_BEEP=y
3093:CONFIG_SND_HDA_INPUT_BEEP_MODE=1
3094:CONFIG_SND_HDA_PATCH_LOADER=y
3095:CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_REALTEK=y
3096:CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_ANALOG=y
3097:CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_SIGMATEL=y
3098:CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_VIA=y
3099:CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_HDMI=y
3100:CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_CIRRUS=y
3101:CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_CONEXANT=y
3102:CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_CA0110=y
3103:CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_CA0132=y
3104:CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_CA0132_DSP=y
3105:CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_CMEDIA=y
3106:CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_SI3054=y
3107:CONFIG_SND_HDA_GENERIC=y
3108:CONFIG_SND_HDA_POWER_SAVE_DEFAULT=0
3109:CONFIG_SND_HDA_CORE=y
3110:CONFIG_SND_HDA_DSP_LOADER=y
3111:CONFIG_SND_HDA_COMPONENT=y
3112:CONFIG_SND_HDA_I915=y
3113:CONFIG_SND_HDA_PREALLOC_SIZE=64


However /proc/asound/cards just says
Code:

--- no soundcards ---


Anybody experienced anything like this before?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TauntingTygah
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Apr 2019
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Tue Apr 23, 2019 6:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Also dmesg | grep snd gives
Code:

[    1.892416] snd_hda_intel 0000:00:03.0: bound 0000:00:02.0 (ops 0xffffffff9fc9bea0)


and dmesg | grep audio
Code:

[    0.218520] ACPI: Added _OSI(Linux-Lenovo-NV-HDMI-Audio)
[    0.677387] hdaudio hdaudioC1D0: Unable to bind the codec
[    1.895065] hdaudio hdaudioC0D0: Unable to bind the codec


If that helps
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fedeliallalinea
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 08 Mar 2003
Posts: 21765
Location: here

PostPosted: Tue Apr 23, 2019 9:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Try to compile sound stuff as modules
_________________
Questions are guaranteed in life; Answers aren't.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TauntingTygah
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Apr 2019
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Tue Apr 23, 2019 11:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

So I tried compiling all the sound stuff as modules
Code:

CONFIG_SND_HDA=m
CONFIG_SND_HDA_INTEL=m
CONFIG_SND_HDA_HWDEP=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_RECONFIG=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_INPUT_BEEP=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_INPUT_BEEP_MODE=1
CONFIG_SND_HDA_PATCH_LOADER=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_REALTEK=m
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_ANALOG=m
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_SIGMATEL=m
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_VIA=m
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_HDMI=m
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_CIRRUS=m
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_CONEXANT=m
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_CA0110=m
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_CA0132=m
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_CA0132_DSP=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_CMEDIA=m
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_SI3054=m
CONFIG_SND_HDA_GENERIC=m
CONFIG_SND_HDA_POWER_SAVE_DEFAULT=0
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CORE=m
CONFIG_SND_HDA_DSP_LOADER=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_COMPONENT=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_I915=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_PREALLOC_SIZE=64
# CONFIG_SENSORS_HDAPS is not set


And I have a file /etc/modules-load.d/audio.conf
Code:

rt286
options snd-hda-intel index=1,0


and there are no cards under /proc/asound/cards
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TauntingTygah
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Apr 2019
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Wed Apr 24, 2019 3:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I finally fixed the problem. It was a total noob mistake. When I was running make install and grub mkconfig, I did not have /boot mounted. I could easily find my sound cards after installed the kernel properly.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum