Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
New install problem: gmp and USE=static-libs (SOLVED)
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Helena
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 02 Apr 2003
Posts: 1067
Location: Den Dolder, The Netherlands

PostPosted: Sun Apr 28, 2019 2:33 pm    Post subject: New install problem: gmp and USE=static-libs (SOLVED) Reply with quote

Trying to install a new system today. It is UEFI/GPT, although that is probably irrelevant.

Immediately after trying to update world having synced the portage tree, I get a circular blocker: gmp, which is already there built with -static-libs, requires me to recompile with +static-libs. When I have added this to the package.use file and try again it requires me to change it back again to -static-libs.

I have tried several different profile settings but they all produce the same behavior.

Help is appreciated.


Last edited by Helena on Sun Apr 28, 2019 4:47 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fedeliallalinea
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 08 Mar 2003
Posts: 21754
Location: here

PostPosted: Sun Apr 28, 2019 2:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You can post full emerge output with wgetpaste?
_________________
Questions are guaranteed in life; Answers aren't.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Helena
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 02 Apr 2003
Posts: 1067
Location: Den Dolder, The Netherlands

PostPosted: Sun Apr 28, 2019 4:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm sorry but you have to help me out. I'm using the latest minimal install CD and have chrooted.

Following your advice I have set up portage logging according to the wiki but I can't see any output in /var/log/portage/elog.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Helena
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 02 Apr 2003
Posts: 1067
Location: Den Dolder, The Netherlands

PostPosted: Sun Apr 28, 2019 4:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It appears I have made a mistake which may have caused this. Somehow I forgot to do emerge-webrsync before doing an emerge --sync. There weren't any visible problems, but I realized this later on.

After forcing emerge-webrsync by deleting my timestamp and recompiling world again portage did not complain about gmp anymore. Not sure why.

Anyway, I am continuing my install now :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum