Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Solved! Radeon RX570 - no /dev/dri/card0
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Vorlon
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 16 May 2003
Posts: 229
Location: West Grove, PA

PostPosted: Sun Apr 28, 2019 6:23 pm    Post subject: Solved! Radeon RX570 - no /dev/dri/card0 Reply with quote

I'm building a new Ryzen 2700X system with a Radeon RX570 graphics. I am unable to get X to start due to a "/dev/dri/card0: No such file or directory" error.

I've followed the wikis for AMD, and Ryzen. I think I am following them faithfully. I have not included the Radeon firmware, since the wiki suggests that my chipset does not need it. I have also disabled the glamour 2D driver as suggested in the wiki.

Here are some of the relevant data points:

make.conf:
CFLAGS="-march=native -O2 -pipe"
VIDEO_CARDS="radeon r300"
USE="X acpi apm apng cairo cups dbus drm gtk icu nss pcre16 png postproc secure-delete sqlite symlink text xkb -glamor -libproxy"


I'm using a monolithic kernel:
CONFIG_DRM_RADEON=y
CONFIG_DRM_RADEON_USERPTR=y
# CONFIG_DRM_AMDGPU is not set

# CONFIG_FB_RADEON is not set

#
# Graphics support
#
# CONFIG_AGP is not set
CONFIG_VGA_ARB=y
CONFIG_VGA_ARB_MAX_GPUS=16
# CONFIG_VGA_SWITCHEROO is not set
CONFIG_DRM=y
# CONFIG_DRM_DP_AUX_CHARDEV is not set
# CONFIG_DRM_DEBUG_MM is not set
# CONFIG_DRM_DEBUG_SELFTEST is not set
CONFIG_DRM_KMS_HELPER=y
CONFIG_DRM_KMS_FB_HELPER=y
CONFIG_DRM_FBDEV_EMULATION=y
CONFIG_DRM_FBDEV_OVERALLOC=100
# CONFIG_DRM_LOAD_EDID_FIRMWARE is not set
# CONFIG_DRM_DP_CEC is not set
CONFIG_DRM_TTM=y
CONFIG_DRM_GEM_CMA_HELPER=y
CONFIG_DRM_KMS_CMA_HELPER=

#
# Frame buffer Devices
#
CONFIG_FB_CMDLINE=y
CONFIG_FB_NOTIFY=y
CONFIG_FB=y
CONFIG_FIRMWARE_EDID=y
CONFIG_FB_BOOT_VESA_SUPPORT=y
CONFIG_FB_CFB_FILLRECT=y
CONFIG_FB_CFB_COPYAREA=y
CONFIG_FB_CFB_IMAGEBLIT=y
CONFIG_FB_SYS_FILLRECT=y
CONFIG_FB_SYS_COPYAREA=y
CONFIG_FB_SYS_IMAGEBLIT=y
CONFIG_FB_FOREIGN_ENDIAN=y
CONFIG_FB_BOTH_ENDIAN=y
# CONFIG_FB_BIG_ENDIAN is not set
# CONFIG_FB_LITTLE_ENDIAN is not set
CONFIG_FB_SYS_FOPS=y
CONFIG_FB_DEFERRED_IO=y
CONFIG_FB_MODE_HELPERS=y
CONFIG_FB_TILEBLITTING=y

#
# Frame buffer hardware drivers
#
# CONFIG_FB_CIRRUS is not set
# CONFIG_FB_PM2 is not set
# CONFIG_FB_CYBER2000 is not set
# CONFIG_FB_ARC is not set
# CONFIG_FB_ASILIANT is not set
# CONFIG_FB_IMSTT is not set
# CONFIG_FB_VGA16 is not set
CONFIG_FB_UVESA=y
CONFIG_FB_VESA=y
# CONFIG_FB_EFI is not set
# CONFIG_FB_N411 is not set
# CONFIG_FB_HGA is not set
# CONFIG_FB_OPENCORES is not set
# CONFIG_FB_S1D13XXX is not set
# CONFIG_FB_NVIDIA is not set
# CONFIG_FB_RIVA is not set
# CONFIG_FB_I740 is not set
# CONFIG_FB_LE80578 is not set
# CONFIG_FB_MATROX is not set
# CONFIG_FB_RADEON is not set
# CONFIG_FB_ATY128 is not set
# CONFIG_FB_ATY is not set
# CONFIG_FB_S3 is not set
# CONFIG_FB_SAVAGE is not set
# CONFIG_FB_SIS is not set
# CONFIG_FB_NEOMAGIC is not set
# CONFIG_FB_KYRO is not set
# CONFIG_FB_3DFX is not set
# CONFIG_FB_VOODOO1 is not set
# CONFIG_FB_VT8623 is not set
# CONFIG_FB_TRIDENT is not set
# CONFIG_FB_ARK is not set
# CONFIG_FB_PM3 is not set
# CONFIG_FB_CARMINE is not set
# CONFIG_FB_SMSCUFX is not set
# CONFIG_FB_UDL is not set
# CONFIG_FB_IBM_GXT4500 is not set
# CONFIG_FB_VIRTUAL is not set
# CONFIG_FB_METRONOME is not set
# CONFIG_FB_MB862XX is not set
# CONFIG_FB_SIMPLE is not set
# CONFIG_FB_SM712 is not set
CONFIG_BACKLIGHT_LCD_SUPPORT=y
# CONFIG_LCD_CLASS_DEVICE is not set
CONFIG_BACKLIGHT_CLASS_DEVICE=y
CONFIG_BACKLIGHT_GENERIC=y
# CONFIG_BACKLIGHT_APPLE is not set
# CONFIG_BACKLIGHT_PM8941_WLED is not set
# CONFIG_BACKLIGHT_SAHARA is not set
# CONFIG_BACKLIGHT_ADP8860 is not set
# CONFIG_BACKLIGHT_ADP8870 is not set
# CONFIG_BACKLIGHT_LM3639 is not set
# CONFIG_BACKLIGHT_LV5207LP is not set
# CONFIG_BACKLIGHT_BD6107 is not set
# CONFIG_BACKLIGHT_ARCXCNN is not set
CONFIG_HDMI=y

#



Anybody have any suggestions?

TIA!
_________________
Casey Bralla
Chief Nerd in Residence
The NerdWorld Organisation


Last edited by Vorlon on Sat May 11, 2019 12:05 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jogie214
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 15 Aug 2004
Posts: 158
Location: Cologne / Germany

PostPosted: Sun Apr 28, 2019 9:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi

Have you included the firmware in the kernel? Since you compiled radeon into the kernel you have to include the firmware blobs (see https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Radeon).
Edit:
Okay, you posted that you have not included them ... DOUGH.
Try to include them, I had the same problem last year with my rx550

jogie214
_________________
Desktop: Ryzen7 1700x / x370 / Radeon RX 550 / Gentoo amd64
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 7094
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Sun Apr 28, 2019 9:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Look at your dmesg. There will be firmware loading error if it is required.
_________________
Please learn how to denote units correctly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Vorlon
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 16 May 2003
Posts: 229
Location: West Grove, PA

PostPosted: Sun Apr 28, 2019 10:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jogie214, what firmware file(s) did you load? It looked like NONE of them seemed appropriate. The closest seems to be R520_cp.bin
_________________
Casey Bralla
Chief Nerd in Residence
The NerdWorld Organisation
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43223
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sun Apr 28, 2019 11:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Vorlon,

You have an Artic Islands chip set. The AMDGPU is the wiki page you need.
It looks like its a POLARIS10 chip.

If that's correct, you need the amdgpu driver in the kernel and these 21 firmware files.
Code:
ls /lib/firmware/amdgpu/polaris10*
/lib/firmware/amdgpu/polaris10_ce_2.bin    /lib/firmware/amdgpu/polaris10_me.bin      /lib/firmware/amdgpu/polaris10_rlc.bin
/lib/firmware/amdgpu/polaris10_ce.bin      /lib/firmware/amdgpu/polaris10_mec2_2.bin  /lib/firmware/amdgpu/polaris10_sdma1.bin
/lib/firmware/amdgpu/polaris10_k2_smc.bin  /lib/firmware/amdgpu/polaris10_mec_2.bin   /lib/firmware/amdgpu/polaris10_sdma.bin
/lib/firmware/amdgpu/polaris10_k_mc.bin    /lib/firmware/amdgpu/polaris10_mec2.bin    /lib/firmware/amdgpu/polaris10_smc.bin
/lib/firmware/amdgpu/polaris10_k_smc.bin   /lib/firmware/amdgpu/polaris10_mec.bin     /lib/firmware/amdgpu/polaris10_smc_sk.bin
/lib/firmware/amdgpu/polaris10_mc.bin      /lib/firmware/amdgpu/polaris10_pfp_2.bin   /lib/firmware/amdgpu/polaris10_uvd.bin
/lib/firmware/amdgpu/polaris10_me_2.bin    /lib/firmware/amdgpu/polaris10_pfp.bin     /lib/firmware/amdgpu/polaris10_vce.bin


You will also need to fix your VIDEO_CARDS and rebuild a few things.

While you are there, you may as well add in your amd-ucode too.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Vorlon
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 16 May 2003
Posts: 229
Location: West Grove, PA

PostPosted: Mon Apr 29, 2019 12:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks, Neddy. I took a closer look at the amdgpu page, and sure enough, my "RX(space)570" is listed. I had thought this wiki was only for radeon graphics integrated with CPUs, but I guess its the same GPU core. I should have done a character search for "570" on the page. If I had, I would have found it.

I'll give this a try, and post an update when I get results.

Thanks for your help!
_________________
Casey Bralla
Chief Nerd in Residence
The NerdWorld Organisation
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Goverp
l33t
l33t


Joined: 07 Mar 2007
Posts: 669

PostPosted: Mon Apr 29, 2019 6:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Neddy's right. I have a working RX570; just carefully follow the AMDGPU wiki stuff.
_________________
Greybeard
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Vorlon
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 16 May 2003
Posts: 229
Location: West Grove, PA

PostPosted: Sat May 11, 2019 12:04 pm    Post subject: [Solved!] Radeon RX570 - no /dev/dri/card0 Reply with quote

Thanks to all for the great advice. I was able to solve this problem, and like most of these types of problems, the solution was blinding obvious once I saw it.

I was selecting the wrong Radeon video card, using the wrong driver, and loading the wrong firmware. (But other than that, I did everything correctly! :lol: )

I made 1 fundamental mistake: I did not follow the correct AMD/Radeon Wiki. I followed the "Radeon" wiki (https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Radeon) instead of the "AMDGPU" wiki (https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/AMDGPU).

I made this mistake because those darn marketing guys at AMD work so hard to obfuscate the hardware in their video cards (especially with the goofy "family" code names!), so that the chip numbers (as reported by lspci) are almost always "close", but often never a match to the documented chips. However, had I done a text search of the AMDGPU page, I would have found that "RX 570" is listed (gotta watch for embedded spaces and dashes too!).

Since I had the wrong graphics chip, I also therefore was loading the wrong firmware. (I don't remember now, but I don't think I saw any complaints about wrong or non-loading firmware in the DMESG output.)

So, if I were to do this again, I would:
1. Check LSPCI to get the graphics chipset
2. Confirm this chipset against the tech specs and packaging for the graphics card and selected the graphics chip
3. Searched the multiple wikis for AMD/Radeon/etc graphics using text search (it's easy to miss by simply reading all the numbers)
4. Loaded the correct firmware
5. Built the correct kernel module
_________________
Casey Bralla
Chief Nerd in Residence
The NerdWorld Organisation
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum