Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Compatibility b/w AMD and Intel PC's when moving boot disk
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
morpheus_002
n00b
n00b


Joined: 12 May 2019
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Sun May 12, 2019 6:54 am    Post subject: Compatibility b/w AMD and Intel PC's when moving boot disk Reply with quote

Currently I am using all Intel computers, some up to 7 years old, some much more recent. I find that I can move my Linux boot drive between the computers and it works flawlessly. I have never had a compatibility problem.

My question is, will I likely be able be do the same if I buy some of the newer AMD systems, like Ryzen/Threadripper for example. Or is that going to likely require me to install a new Linux boot drive and all the software, from scratch, because it won't be compatible with the boot drive I created for my Intel systems.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43194
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sun May 12, 2019 7:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

morpheus_002,

Welcome to Gentoo.

There is no simple answer. It depends on how you have made your install(s)
If its hard optimised for Intel, it may (not will) not work on AMD and vice versa. If the install is a generic run anywhere install, it will do just that.
What do you have in CFLAGS on the Intel system you want to migrate to AMD?

It a may (not will) as the -march and other instruction set flags in CFLAGS give gcc permission to use those operations.
It may not use them. Even then, it may not use them everywhere.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bammbamm808
Guru
Guru


Joined: 08 Dec 2002
Posts: 487
Location: Hawaii

PostPosted: Sun May 12, 2019 9:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I recently moved from Haswell to Ryzen. I recompiled a new kernel generic x86_64, changing any chipset related stuff I had noted was different (I forget what, if anything was needed: You know your hardware). Then, 'emerge -e'.


EDIT: Here is where you assemble your new hardware and reconnect everything.


Once booted on the new kernel, I made changes to make.conf as needed, recompiled the kernel with -march=znver1, rebooted, then 'emerge -e' to catch any potential issues still lurking. Went smoothly, though it took some time. Only then did I re-emerge xorg drivers and 'startx'.

For my Windows drive, I of course had to reinstall like a pleeb.
_________________
Asrock X470 Taichi
Ryzen 2700x
32Gb Samsung B-die (16GB dual rank x2) DDR4
Geforce GTX 1060 6GB
Samsung Evo 840 500Gb +Seagate 1TB HDD
Etc....


Last edited by bammbamm808 on Mon May 13, 2019 1:58 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Elleni
l33t
l33t


Joined: 23 May 2006
Posts: 858

PostPosted: Mon May 13, 2019 12:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I switched from core2duo to ryzen 5 1600 box. Just tried to boot from system disk on new system - being prepared to have to use a livemedium to adjust things, I was positively surprised that the new box booted right away. I then did the adjustments mentioned by bammbamm808 and can too report, everything went rather smoothly.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bammbamm808
Guru
Guru


Joined: 08 Dec 2002
Posts: 487
Location: Hawaii

PostPosted: Mon May 13, 2019 12:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Elleni wrote:
I switched from core2duo to ryzen 5 1600 box. Just tried to boot from system disk on new system - being prepared to have to use a livemedium to adjust things, I was positively surprised that the new box booted right away. I then did the adjustments mentioned by bammbamm808 and can too report, everything went rather smoothly.


My approach was a bit overcautious but besides waiting for the machine to emerge, I had no issues whatsoever.
_________________
Asrock X470 Taichi
Ryzen 2700x
32Gb Samsung B-die (16GB dual rank x2) DDR4
Geforce GTX 1060 6GB
Samsung Evo 840 500Gb +Seagate 1TB HDD
Etc....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Naib
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 21 May 2004
Posts: 5625
Location: Removed by Neddy

PostPosted: Mon May 13, 2019 1:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Elleni wrote:
I switched from core2duo to ryzen 5 1600 box. Just tried to boot from system disk on new system - being prepared to have to use a livemedium to adjust things, I was positively surprised that the new box booted right away. I then did the adjustments mentioned by bammbamm808 and can too report, everything went rather smoothly.
you were probably lucky. This probably meant the Core2 type "optimisations" were either lightly enabled or the intel-specific instructions were not used while you first booted.

The best way to describe it is say you had a book ... HarryPotter.
The book is applications (kernel, init, gnome etc...)
The reader is the CPU (Intel=French, AMD=English)

If the book was fully written in French (ie applications heavily optimised for Intel) and the reader only understood English they would put the book down (ie segfault)
Now in your case either the book wasn't heavily optimised or you were lucky not to hit some of the key instructions

When I went i7 to Ryzen I did a full rebuild (the install was like 10years old or something as I migrated from Core2 -> i7...) so a good cleanup was in order and equally since everything was going to be rebuilt it was faster overall.
_________________
The best argument against democracy is a five-minute conversation with the average voter
Great Britain is a republic, with a hereditary president, while the United States is a monarchy with an elective king
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 7090
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Mon May 13, 2019 2:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Please note, OP never mentioned (s)he is running Gentoo. I find it hard to believe an Intel system built with -march=native will run faultlessly on an AMD.
_________________
Please learn how to denote units correctly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bammbamm808
Guru
Guru


Joined: 08 Dec 2002
Posts: 487
Location: Hawaii

PostPosted: Mon May 13, 2019 4:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jaglover wrote:
Please note, OP never mentioned (s)he is running Gentoo. I find it hard to believe an Intel system built with -march=native will run faultlessly on an AMD.



Im goinv to claim fair assumption here on the gentoo thing.
_________________
Asrock X470 Taichi
Ryzen 2700x
32Gb Samsung B-die (16GB dual rank x2) DDR4
Geforce GTX 1060 6GB
Samsung Evo 840 500Gb +Seagate 1TB HDD
Etc....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Elleni
l33t
l33t


Joined: 23 May 2006
Posts: 858

PostPosted: Mon May 13, 2019 4:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jaglover wrote:
...


Naib wrote:
...


No one talked about faultless, but it definitely booted. And yes, the system was compiled with -native for core2duo. On the other side, I think that newer processors are likely to understand the old instructions that core2 supports. I consider it less likely that the other way round, a system compiled with instructions -native optimized for a ryzen could be booting successfully on an old core2duo box. However, as said, I was prepared to boot into a live medium to do adjustements but I could do them all on the booted system. Logically everything was recompiled with emerge -e @system followed by an emerge -e @world once everything was adjusted and kernel recompiled.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 7090
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Mon May 13, 2019 4:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Alright, even if the CFLAGS wont stop the system booting the kernel will. My kernel built for my Intel desktop wouldn't boot in my Intel laptop. Thus, I still think OP is not running Gentoo. Indeed, you can build a generic Linux using Gentoo tools, but this would be a special goal.
_________________
Please learn how to denote units correctly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43194
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Mon May 13, 2019 7:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yep, You can write a set called debian then do
Code:
emerge @debian
:)
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum