Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
deprecated profile 13
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
use0000
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 May 2019
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Sun May 19, 2019 1:25 pm    Post subject: deprecated profile 13 Reply with quote

When installing gentoo I followed the manual on the desktop of the live DVD which told me not to use 17 series profiles.
I chose profile 13 with plasma and no systemd, #6 I believe.
Now every time I emerge a package, it throws a warning regarding my profile being deprecated. Why?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 45383
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sun May 19, 2019 1:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

use0000,

The 13.0 profile has been depreciated for al least two years. Since gcc-6 became stable in fact.
The DVD itself is from early 2016, so you have been following three year old information.

The 17.0 profiles are about to be depreciated in favour of 17.1 too. 17.1 has been in experimental since the end of 2017.

When you do the 13.0 to 17.0 update, you will need to rebuild a lot of things.
Likewise if you wait a week or two, you can go straight to 17.1, which will involve rebuild some things again.

If you want to be an early adopter read this email thread
Its the developing migration instructions.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
use0000
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 May 2019
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Sun May 19, 2019 1:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Makes sense. I will rebuild the VM from 17.0 then and re-visit. Guess my other thread re v86d can be deleted now.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
etnull
Guru
Guru


Joined: 26 Mar 2019
Posts: 327

PostPosted: Sun May 19, 2019 1:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Wait is v86d exists in profile 17? I'm having same troubles with tty resolution and nvidia proprietary driver. How did you do it in slackware previously? Do you have efi motherboard? What's your GPU? Sorry for using your post for my own issue.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 45383
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sun May 19, 2019 2:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

etnull,

v86d has been removed along with the UVESA framebuffer driver and all the things that used to use it.
The documentation is still around, which may be confusing.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
use0000
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 May 2019
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Sun May 19, 2019 3:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The fact that documentation is not getting updated is indeed very confusing and makes the transition difficult and learning curve steep.

I switched to 17.0 plasma profile and kind of expected that KDE would be intstalled and start automatically, but all I get is the text console. What makes this profile a "plasma" profile? And do I still need to install all KDE packages manually even if the plasma profile is selected?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 45383
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sun May 19, 2019 3:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

use0000,

The main difference between profiles are the pre selected USE flags.
It makes for less work for you in make.conf.

Changing/selecting a profile does not install or rebuild anything. It just makes it easier for you to build with the right options when you do install something.

If you want plasma, start with Xorg Guide as you will want xorg-server to display the GUI on the same system as Plasma runs on.
Its not an error to not install xorg-server as Xorg is 'network transparent'. That means its easy to run the GUI on one system and display the images on another. Not many users do that these days but it used to be popular.

After xorg-server is installed and tested, continue with KDE

Use the documents on the Wiki, not on your three year old DVD.

Gentoo gives you two things.
    the things you explicitly install
    the things you have to have to make the things you install work.


The converse is mostly true too. If you haven't installed it yet, its probably not there yet.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
use0000
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 May 2019
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Sun May 19, 2019 3:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

xorg is not a dependency of kde? how does this make any sense?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 45383
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sun May 19, 2019 3:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

use0000,

xorg-server is not required to run KDE.
It is required to display the output of KDE.

Its quite alright to run KDE on one system and display its output, over the network, on another.
The machine running KDE needs KDE installed but not xorg-server
The machine displaying the KDE output needs xorg-server but not KDE.
Depending on how good your network is, you may not even notice that there were two or more systems involved.

When a single machine does both, which is the common case today, you need both on the same system.
In the general case KDE does not depend on xorg-server to run or to be useful, so it would be a bug to make KDE depend on xorg-server
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
etnull
Guru
Guru


Joined: 26 Mar 2019
Posts: 327

PostPosted: Sun May 19, 2019 7:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon wrote:
etnull,

v86d has been removed along with the UVESA framebuffer driver and all the things that used to use it.
The documentation is still around, which may be confusing.

Why was uvesafb removed? It isn't supported in the new kernels? I can't get native resolution of tty to work with nvidia drivers and legacy BIOS. Is there any known solution for me?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 45383
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sun May 19, 2019 8:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

etnull,

uvesafb needs v86d and v86d has gone.
uvesafb was an accelerated vesafb so little is lost. I have a feeling that v86d would only work on 32 bit CPUs too as it allowed the 32 bit CPU to run as several 16 bit (8086) CPUs, which is where the speed up came from.
64 bit CPUs have newer supported that, so can't run v86d the way it was intended, if at all, either.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
use0000
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 May 2019
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Sun May 19, 2019 9:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon wrote:
etnull,

uvesafb needs v86d and v86d has gone.
uvesafb was an accelerated vesafb so little is lost. I have a feeling that v86d would only work on 32 bit CPUs too as it allowed the 32 bit CPU to run as several 16 bit (8086) CPUs, which is where the speed up came from.
64 bit CPUs have newer supported that, so can't run v86d the way it was intended, if at all, either.


how can the text console be set to a video mode higher than 80x60 now?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 45383
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sun May 19, 2019 9:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

use0000,

That depends on your hardware.
Any driver that uses kernel modesetting gives you a free framebuffer console by default.

On x86 hardware VESA Framebuffer will work, as will Simple Framebuffer and if you have EFI, EFI Framebuffer is an option.

The nvidia binary blob does not provide a framebuffer driver, so its a case of making one of the three above work.

From my dmesg
Code:
[    1.069718] Console: switching to colour frame buffer device 128x48
[    1.407285] Console: switching to colour frame buffer device 480x135


Thats vesafb followed by amdgpudrmfb.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
use0000
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 May 2019
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Sun May 19, 2019 10:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon wrote:
use0000,

That depends on your hardware.


Not really, as this is a Virtualbox VM.

I tried emerging both Xorg and Kde and both failed compilation. I think it's time to call it quits as this is becoming too time consuming and fruitless. At least Freebsd before 12 does not fail installing a basic desktop.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 45383
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sun May 19, 2019 11:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

use0000,

Xorg should build with no errors unless you haven't given it enough RAM.
KDE is solid too. I have Plasma on my 64 bit Raspberry Pi.

Even Virtualbox has hardware. Run lspci in the guest and see.
Sure, its emulated hardware but the guest can't tell the difference.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum