Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[SOLVED] Problems getting hibernate to work
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
UnclePa
n00b
n00b


Joined: 05 Apr 2019
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Tue May 21, 2019 10:35 pm    Post subject: [SOLVED] Problems getting hibernate to work Reply with quote

I've recently installed Gentoo and haven't been able to get hibernate/resume working. I've used a few other distros in the past on this computer and didn't have any problem with this so I'm probably missing something simple or doing something stupid.

This is on a laptop and I'm using EFI alone to boot. (Edit: Not quite true. I forgot I installed refind a long time ago when using Arch. That's still what I'm using to boot.) Also, I'm using a swap file rather than a swap partition.

/proc/cmdline = root=/dev/sda2 \vmlinuz-4.19.27-gentoo-r1ceh004 ro resume=PARTUUID=ce1b1710-2af5-4f2a-90fe-75b02b6b4aac resume_offset=13330432 initrd=initramfs-genkernel-x86_64-4.19.27-gentoo-r1ceh004

filefrag -v /swap -->
Filesystem type is: ef53
File size of /swap is 8589934592 (2097152 blocks of 4096 bytes)
ext: logical_offset: physical_offset: length: expected: flags:
0: 0.. 0: 13330432.. 13330432: 1:
...

dmesg lists the cmdline a couple of times but I don't see any attempt to resume. I'm using 's2disk' to hibernate as I did in the other distros.

I've checked and re-checked the PARTUUID. My latest attempt was adding the initram which I don't remember doing on the other distros but perhaps they did it automatically.


Last edited by UnclePa on Sat May 25, 2019 4:34 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
UnclePa
n00b
n00b


Joined: 05 Apr 2019
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Fri May 24, 2019 12:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Does anyone have any ideas I could try? This is a show-stopper for me.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hu
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 06 Mar 2007
Posts: 14971

PostPosted: Sat May 25, 2019 1:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

At what stage in the initramfs is the kernel supposed to attempt a resume? Is the relevant device ready when the resume should be attempted? Are you sure the resume is attempted?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
duane
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 03 Jun 2002
Posts: 132
Location: Oklahoma City

PostPosted: Sat May 25, 2019 3:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Have you tried using the device instead of a UUID (resume=/dev/sda6)?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pjp
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 16 Apr 2002
Posts: 18350

PostPosted: Sat May 25, 2019 4:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It isn't entirely clear if you used Suspend and hibernate.

That guide also references a forum topic which offers this:
Quote:
SOLUTION: Need to set (/dev/your_swap_devfile) Default resume partition option in <Power management and ACPI options> -> <() Default resume partition>. without 'resume=' prefix

_________________
The media sells it and you live the role.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
UnclePa
n00b
n00b


Joined: 05 Apr 2019
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Sat May 25, 2019 4:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks, everyone. Man, I feel silly. Every other distro I've used required the PARTUUID. Replacing that with /dev/sda2 fixed the problem. Sorry I didn't think to try that. Again, thanks very much!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum