Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Lost wired connection after installing wireless tools
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
PCC322
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 May 2019
Posts: 48

PostPosted: Wed May 29, 2019 6:24 pm    Post subject: Lost wired connection after installing wireless tools Reply with quote

I have been working through the x86 install handbook slowly over the last week or so, installing gentoo on an HP Mini with Intel Atom cpu.

A few days ago I completed the "Installing Tools" section of the handbook, specifically the "Install Wireless Networking Tools" section. I emerged net-wireless/iw and net-wireless/wpa_supplicant. After that completed I went to bed and came back to the install just now. I am now trying to emerge GRUB2, the emerge command calculates dependencies and asks if I want to merge the packages. The problem I am having is that I no longer have internet access.

The target computer is on a wired connection and I haven't unplugged anything. All other devices on my network still have internet access. ifconfig still shows my wired connection and nothing seems to have changed. When I try to ping I get the message "Temporary failure in name resolution."

I did not try my connection immediately after emerging the wireless tools so I am not sure if the connection was lost then or at some time in the following days between then and now.

Any help is much appreciated
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Logicien
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 16 Sep 2005
Posts: 1387
Location: Montréal

PostPosted: Wed May 29, 2019 8:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Check if you have an Ip address for your Ethernet wired card and a default route. Those two commands will tell
Code:
ip a
ip r


Check also /etc/resolv.conf to be sure that there is a valid Dns server Ip address in this file. You can have a look to
Code:
ps aux

to see if some other proccesses than the one who connected you to Internet are running. You must manage your boot services at the same time to have no service conflicts who can cause Internet connexion troubles like 2 dhcp clients who want to manage your Ethernet wired card to get an Ip configuration.

You can restart the service who have connected you to Internet if needed.
_________________
Paul
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PCC322
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 May 2019
Posts: 48

PostPosted: Thu May 30, 2019 8:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Logicien wrote:
Check if you have an Ip address for your Ethernet wired card and a default route. Those two commands will tell
Code:
ip a
ip r




After entering ip a, my wired connection doesn't show anything I recognize as an IP address. ip r isn't doing anything.

Quote:

Check also /etc/resolv.conf to be sure that there is a valid Dns server Ip address in this file.


looks like I have two IP addresses listed in /etc/resolv.conf.

Quote:
You can have a look to
Code:
ps aux

to see if some other proccesses than the one who connected you to Internet are running. You must manage your boot services at the same time to have no service conflicts who can cause Internet connexion troubles like 2 dhcp clients who want to manage your Ethernet wired card to get an Ip configuration.

You can restart the service who have connected you to Internet if needed.


I am not able to make sense out of the services which are running, I'll have to try to look at that in some more detail in the morning.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tmcca
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 24 May 2019
Posts: 81

PostPosted: Thu May 30, 2019 7:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

what is in /etc/resolv.conf?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hu
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 06 Mar 2007
Posts: 15294

PostPosted: Fri May 31, 2019 1:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ip r can produce no output if you have no routes loaded. This is an unusual situation for a system that is supposed to be online.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PCC322
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 May 2019
Posts: 48

PostPosted: Fri May 31, 2019 7:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

tmcca wrote:
what is in /etc/resolv.conf?


besides the comments, /etc/resolv.conf is as follows:

domain Home
nameserver 192.168.0.1
nameserver 205.171.2.25


Hu wrote:
ip r can produce no output if you have no routes loaded. This is an unusual situation for a system that is supposed to be online.


Is there anything that could happen while the comp sits powered on but with no inputs that could cause this or do you think there was some conflict from the wireless tools being emerged?

The emerge in question was:
Code:

emerge --ask net-wireless/iw net-wireless/wpa_supplicant


I am not actually sure if this laptop has functioning wireless components, I purchased it with Ubuntu installed and turned it on to make sure it worked, but never connected it to the internet prior to the Gentoo install. For what it is worth, the only things I am getting (or ever got) from ifconfig is the ethernet port and the loopback.


Last edited by PCC322 on Fri May 31, 2019 7:57 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hu
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 06 Mar 2007
Posts: 15294

PostPosted: Sat Jun 01, 2019 1:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Installing wireless tools should not break the wired setup. That ip a shows nothing you recognize as an address says your wired connection is not configured. This means either your wired DHCP server is not cooperating or that your system is not attempting to acquire a wired DHCP lease. Please show your /etc/conf.d/net and the output of rc-update show | grep net.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PCC322
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 May 2019
Posts: 48

PostPosted: Sat Jun 01, 2019 9:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hu wrote:
Installing wireless tools should not break the wired setup. That ip a shows nothing you recognize as an address says your wired connection is not configured. This means either your wired DHCP server is not cooperating or that your system is not attempting to acquire a wired DHCP lease. Please show your /etc/conf.d/net


Code:

#static IP
#config values from ifconfig, routes value from gentoo x86 handbook "network information
# config_enp2s0="192.168.0.41 network 255.255.255.0 brd 192.168.0.255"
# routes_enp2s0="default via 192.168.0.1"

#DHCP
 config_enp2x0="dhcp"



Quote:

and the output of rc-update show | grep net.


Code:

local |     default nonetwork
net.enp2s0 |     default
netmount |   default


I got to the point of being ready to emerge GRUB2 so I obviously had a functioning wired connection up to that point and presumably would again if I restarted the install process. If I were to reboot the system from the same installation medium without having altered anything from where it currently is, would I be able to pick up where I am now? I am wondering if it would be worth while to boot from a different USB drive to rule out a hardware failure.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
desultory
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 04 Nov 2005
Posts: 9372

PostPosted: Sun Jun 02, 2019 4:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

PCC322 wrote:
If I were to reboot the system from the same installation medium without having altered anything from where it currently is, would I be able to pick up where I am now?
Yes. When you do, take note of the network configuration in use at the time.
PCC322 wrote:
I am wondering if it would be worth while to boot from a different USB drive to rule out a hardware failure.
Not unless the media with which it worked previously fails to work properly, though unless there some other failure it should still work and if there was, that failure would need to be diagnosed.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PCC322
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 May 2019
Posts: 48

PostPosted: Wed Jun 05, 2019 7:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

My reboot didn't occur quite as planned, the power plug slipped out of my laptop so it powered off on its own. When I rebooted with the installation medium I was still without a wired connection and nothing had changed except that I am not sure how to get back to where I was before.

I appreciate the help but I am getting frustrated with this install and am going to start over. Everything seemed to be working up until I emerged the wireless tools so I am going to skip that part and try to get the computer to boot from the hard drive before working on the wireless. The target computer is being used for me to learn so I am not concerned with it being tied to a modem for now.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 45383
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Wed Jun 05, 2019 8:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

PCC322,

To get back into a gentoo install in progress ...
Mount your filesystems
Copy /etc/resolv.conf
Perform the chroot steps,

Its just like the handbook but you skip the destructive steps.

Installing wireless-tools will not affect your wired connection but using them might.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PCC322
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 May 2019
Posts: 48

PostPosted: Wed Jun 05, 2019 8:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon wrote:
PCC322,

To get back into a gentoo install in progress ...
Mount your filesystems
Copy /etc/resolv.conf
Perform the chroot steps,

Its just like the handbook but you skip the destructive steps.

Installing wireless-tools will not affect your wired connection but using them might.


Okay, I'll give that a try. Would that mean started at the "Installing base system" section with chrooting?

Perhaps my wired connection was lost as the computer sat for a day or two?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 45383
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Wed Jun 05, 2019 8:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

PCC322,

Go to the Gentoo Handbook

Perform steps
Code:
1.2 Copy DNS info
1.3 Mounting the necessary filesystems
1.4 Entering the new environment
1.5 Mounting the boot partition

The mkdir /boot step will fail as you have already done in and /boot exits. That's expected. Skip that step or ignore the errore

Then you are back where you were when you left your install.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PCC322
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 May 2019
Posts: 48

PostPosted: Thu Jun 06, 2019 6:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Rebooting I have found a few interesting things. First, internet is back and I am able to ping gentoo.org with no problem.
Code:
 ip a


is showing my ethernet with ip addresses:

Code:
 inet 192.168.0.41/24 brd 192.168.0.255 scope global noprefixroute enp2s0 valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever


Code:
 ip r
is now returning:

Code:
 default via 192.168.0.1 dev enp2s0 proto dhcp src 192.168.0.41 metric 202 192.168.0.0/24 dev enp2s0 proto dhcp scope link src 192.168.0.41 metric 202


/etc/resolve.conf is unchanged from earlier

/etc/conf.d/net no longer exists but there is a net-online and netmount in /etc/conf.d/

Code:
 rc-update show | grep net


is returning:

Code:
 local |       default  nonetwork



Second, my /mnt/gentoo directory is empty. I am thinking I need to back up a bit farther to the stage tarball step?

Edit: /mnt/gentoo was empty but problem solved by:
Code:
 mount /dev/sda4 /mnt/gentoo


seems fine now.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 45383
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Thu Jun 06, 2019 8:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

PCC322,

When /etc/conf.d/net does not exist, the default action is to run dhcpcd to bring up wired interfaces.
Creating an incorrect /etc/conf.d/net can break things.

Wireless is harder as you need to install and configure wpa-supplicant and quite possibly some firmware too.

-- edit --

If yau are in your own install, booted from your own kernel, /mnt/gentoo should indeed be empty.
It may not even exist.

If you booted the install media, /mnt/gentoo is where you attach your install, as per my earlier post.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PCC322
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 May 2019
Posts: 48

PostPosted: Thu Jun 06, 2019 9:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I got grub2 installed and the system is booting, though I have now forgotten the login I initially created a week or two back. Is there a way to set that from the install medium?

Edit: used chroot from install medium then set root password.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 45383
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Thu Jun 06, 2019 9:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

PCC322,

There are several ways.

The correct way is to get into the chroot, using the install media and issue the passwd command.

A hackish way, that requires console access in to choose the menu option you want to boot in the grub menu, then press 'e'.
Follow the on screen instructions to append init=/bin/bash to the kernel line.
Now boot.

The system will mount root and give you a bash prompt. Root will be read only. Its just you and bash.
Code:
/bin/mount -o remount,rw /
will fix the read only root.
Code:
/bin/passwd
will change your root password.
Code:
/sbin/shutdomn -h now
shuts down safely.
You have to use full pathnames as there is no environment set.

There are other ways to break in too.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum