Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
OLD Hardware - will gentoo work flawlessly ?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
etnull
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 26 Mar 2019
Posts: 289

PostPosted: Tue Jun 25, 2019 9:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon wrote:
You won't need to set USE=-gnome. Gentoo provides a set of profiles which are starting points, for your install. They include some USE settnigs.
Choose a profile that does not have default settings that include USE=gnome.

Sorry to hijack the thread a little bit, but what's the difference between gnome and gtk, and if my profile and USE don't have gnome, but have gtk, what does it mean from application perspective?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 44945
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Tue Jun 25, 2019 9:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

etnull,

Auditioning profiles is free.

Run
Code:
emerge --info
and look at the USE output to see you current settings.
They come from your selected profile as modified by your make.conf.

Now choose another profile and look again.

To see the effect on your install, run
Code:
emerge -epv @world.
which will higlight the changed USE flags.

Don't forget to go back to your original profile before you build any packages.

gtk is the Gnome toolkit. Other things use it besides Gnome.
The /gnome profiles used to force systemd. With elogind working with Gnome now, hopefully they don't do that any more.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
.user
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Mar 2014
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Tue Jun 25, 2019 5:14 pm    Post subject: Re: OLD Hardware - will gentoo work flawlessly ? Reply with quote

jobb wrote:

I will buy 4 GB (2GB*2) DDR2 RAM in Dual Channel for it.

https://i.ibb.co/Y3hKd61/cpu3.png

Thank you in advance for all your helpful suggestions and comments.


Who is the manufacturer of that mobo? You might be fine with cheap high density ram from china or hk, 4gb per stick, the dimms look like this
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sunset_sergal
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 May 2019
Posts: 18
Location: GA, USA

PostPosted: Wed Jun 26, 2019 6:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Linux is flexible. It's not so much about the age of your hardware rather how much pain you're willing to endure. I used to run Gentoo on a Core 2 Duo system similar in performance to OP's system and it worked fine, it was just slow to compile larger packages.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2
Page 2 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum