Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[SOLVED] Having problems installing Gentoo in VM on Gentoo
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Tony0945
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 25 Jul 2006
Posts: 3653
Location: Illinois, USA

PostPosted: Fri Jul 05, 2019 1:02 am    Post subject: [SOLVED] Having problems installing Gentoo in VM on Gentoo Reply with quote

Some problems are directly related to the VM, others are not so obvious.

1. Screen is tiny, probably 640x480 on a 1920 by 1080 monitor.
I previously had installed Void Linix, Devuan, Windows XP and Windows 7 in VM's on this machine. No problems with resolution except Windows took the whole screen until the Windows desktop meny was used to reduce the height a bit. No effort was needed by Void or Devuan. On Gentoo I tried "VBoxManage set videomodehint" but it did nothing. Once I started the sshd service, I was able to ssh in from the same computer and maximize the virtual terminal. that was much better.
I thought X might work better since googling just gave me advice to right click the GUI screen and set screen size, but X won't build. see below.

2. Gentoo grabs the mouse and I can't leave the window without two CTRL-F's
This does NOT occur in the other VM's but they are all running GUI's. I am having trouble emerging xorg-server and xdm, libepoxy fails to emerge and kills the whole chain.
The stage3 supplies gcc-8.3.0 but portage wants gcc-8.3.0-r1 which consistently fails with
Code:
 echo "   Use the shared library, but some functions are only in"; echo "   the static library.  */"; echo "GROUP ( libgcc_s.so.1 -lgcc )" ) > 32/libgcc_s.so
/usr/x86_64-pc-linux-gnu/bin/ld: /usr/lib/../lib32/crt1.o: in function `_start':
(.text+0x28): undefined reference to `main'[
I tried re-emerging glibc which succeeded but didn't help. Possibly this situation? See the comment by Hu regarding crt1.0

3. On noot, grub only shows "grub loading", the whole screen is black and after timeout the default selection boots.
Relating to problem #1 my usual parameter vga=0x365 causes grub to barf and error out with "illegal screen size". I commented it out and it boots but has this problem and problem #1.

4. xorg-server won't emerge
It fails emerging dependency libexpoxy.
Code:
/usr/lib/gcc/x86_64-pc-linux-gnu/8.3.0/../../../../x86_64-pc-linux-gnu/bin/ld: /usr/lib/gcc/x86_64-pc-linux-gnu/8.3.0/../../../../lib32/crt1.o: in function `_start':
(.text+0x28): undefined reference to `main'
Other packages (most) emerge. grub2 won't emerge, either.

emerge --info =media-libs/libepoxy-1.5.3::gentoo
/var/tmp/portage/media-libs/libepoxy-1.5.3/temp/build.log
/var/tmp/portage/media-libs/libepoxy-1.5.3/temp/environment


Last edited by Tony0945 on Thu Jul 25, 2019 4:10 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hu
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 06 Mar 2007
Posts: 15294

PostPosted: Fri Jul 05, 2019 2:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

  1. This is probably something you need to fix in VirtualBox. Tell it to upscale the guest's text console. I don't know if it can do that, but the guest has no awareness of your host monitor size. The only thing you might be able to do to help in the guest would be to force it to 80x25 mode and hope that makes the output large enough to be readable. I recently had the fun of dealing with a small-screen VM like that being rendered on a High-DPI screen that wants to run at 3840x2160 or so. It's practically illegible.
  2. This is definitely a VirtualBox problem. Configure it to stop grabbing the mouse. The other VMs may have the guest tooling installed to automatically drop the grab when the mouse hits the edge of the screen. Automatic grab is an (anti-)feature of many virtualization consoles. It's intended to let you more readily use window management bindings in the guest, but in practice it causes me more problems than it solves, so I usually try to disable it as soon as I can, and instead rely on explicitly grabbing the input device when I know I need it.

    Yes, using -no-pie is probably a problem here. As I suggested in that thread, if you don't want PIE, you should inhibit it at the root by reverting the change(s) that made pie default on.
  3. Sorry, no guesses here.
  4. This is probably the same -no-pie problem.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tony0945
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 25 Jul 2006
Posts: 3653
Location: Illinois, USA

PostPosted: Fri Jul 05, 2019 2:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hu wrote:
Yes, using -no-pie is probably a problem here. As I suggested in that thread, if you don't want PIE, you should inhibit it at the root by reverting the change(s) that made pie default on.

I'll pursue that. It may solve #3 also if I can emerge grub2 again. I don't know if Void and Devuan have the same problem because they boot directly to the GUI.

I'm trying to build this without an -march so that I can use it like a stage4 (or 3.5) to install on new machines. The default stage 3 is pretty bare bones. At first I had a problem with root mounted read only but being OK if I first nooted sysrescuecd and chrooted in. Discovered today that this was because the stage3 tarball doesn't mount localmount . "rc-update add localmount boot" solved that. I also added a few things I'll always want like syslog-ng and cronie.
"sshd"wasn't in rc-update either, nor the timezone (per the manual, I know). I haven't done a bare install in many years. I usually just copy a compatible installation and change the hostname and rebuild the kernel to fit the hardware. For this generi install I used sysresuecd's kernel config and ran 'make oldconfig` before `make menuconfig`. sysrecuecd using an initramfs. I usually don't and I altered the config a bit to be more PC specific.
What got me into this was converting an old Athlon64 Windows 7 machine into Gentoo using an Athlon II X4 mobo, new SSD and 2TB HDD. I don't have any suitable -march drive for that CPU and figured if I have to do an install from scratch, why not do it in a VM and tar up the install. It's at 8.7G now uncompressed so it will easier fit on a cheap USB stick.

I should have mentioned that the VM has 4G RAM and 30G swap (overkill I'm sure).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tony0945
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 25 Jul 2006
Posts: 3653
Location: Illinois, USA

PostPosted: Fri Jul 05, 2019 8:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Somehow "-no-pie" got into CFLAGS. I removed it and xorg-server is emerging now. Then I'll re-emerge gcc and finally try grub.
Next to pursue the the vbox problems. If I can get openbox going, there may be no grub problem, or rather it becomes moot.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tony0945
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 25 Jul 2006
Posts: 3653
Location: Illinois, USA

PostPosted: Sun Jul 07, 2019 2:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Had a big problem with xdm only running twm. Turns out the chooser that looks at the XSESSION variable is in xinit not xdm.

I added the VBOX video driver module to the kernel and now when xdm starts, the window is a normal size. It's still small without a menu in grub.
I'll pursue that on a virtualbox forum, assuming there is one.
The module is called vboxvideo and is driven by:
Code:
#  zgrep VBOX /proc/config.gz
CONFIG_VBOXGUEST=y
CONFIG_DRM_VBOXVIDEO=m
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tony0945
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 25 Jul 2006
Posts: 3653
Location: Illinois, USA

PostPosted: Thu Jul 25, 2019 4:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Vitualbox 6.0.10 has a setup option that can give me a bigger screen. Proble, is, it gets gigantic when X starts. It's not that much of a problem.

Grub menu not showing was solved by commenting out the splash screen. Splashscreen is not important anyway.

All the original problems were either solved ir no big deal. Speed is a buig deal. Over last weekend I installed a Ryzen 2700X. It's twice as fast as the old machine.
BUT, although I allocated half of the CPU (8 cores) to the VM, it builds extremely slow. It took 22 minutes to sync from the LAN server and builds are noticeably slow also.

The primary reason I wanted this VM was to have a whole system test bed to build and keep updated a stripped down stage 4 for my own installs. I now think that might be better handled by a chrootn where the CPU can run full tilt on real hardware.

As a final test, it can be copied back to the VM and booted. Copying can be done by the virtual sysrecuecd (final Gentoo edition) sitting in the virtual CD-ROM.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum