Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[kernel] switching from power state:
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Massimo B.
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 09 Feb 2005
Posts: 1580
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Fri Jul 05, 2019 7:24 am    Post subject: [kernel] switching from power state: Reply with quote

What is the kernel doing there, why and when?
So far I just know pstate for the core-i archs, and intel-undervolting for kind of power management.
There is no laptop_tools involved on that desktop system.

Code:
Jul 05 06:42:36 [kernel] switching from power state:
Jul 05 06:42:36 [kernel] _ui class: performance
Jul 05 06:42:36 [kernel] _internal class: none
Jul 05 06:42:36 [kernel] _caps:
Jul 05 06:42:36 [kernel] _uvd    vclk: 0 dclk: 0
Jul 05 06:42:36 [kernel] __power level 0    sclk: 40000 mclk: 80000 vddc: 900 vddci: 0
Jul 05 06:42:36 [kernel] __power level 1    sclk: 40000 mclk: 80000 vddc: 900 vddci: 0
Jul 05 06:42:36 [kernel] __power level 2    sclk: 77500 mclk: 90000 vddc: 1075 vddci: 0
Jul 05 06:42:36 [kernel] _status: c r
Jul 05 06:42:36 [kernel] switching to power state:
Jul 05 06:42:36 [kernel] _ui class: performance
Jul 05 06:42:36 [kernel] _internal class: none
Jul 05 06:42:36 [kernel] _caps:
Jul 05 06:42:36 [kernel] _uvd    vclk: 0 dclk: 0
Jul 05 06:42:36 [kernel] __power level 0    sclk: 40000 mclk: 80000 vddc: 900 vddci: 0
Jul 05 06:42:36 [kernel] __power level 1    sclk: 40000 mclk: 80000 vddc: 900 vddci: 0
Jul 05 06:42:36 [kernel] __power level 2    sclk: 77500 mclk: 90000 vddc: 1075 vddci: 0
Jul 05 06:42:36 [kernel] _status: c r

_________________
ppc:PowerBook5,8 15"(1440)-G4/1.67,2G|amd64:HP EliteBook 8560w,i7-2620M,16G|Acer Z5610 (Core2QuadQ8200),8G|amd64-prefix:OpenSuse|HP EliteDesk 800G1 i7-4790|HP Compaq Pro 6300 i7-3770
Lila-Theme
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ant P.
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 18 Apr 2009
Posts: 6351

PostPosted: Fri Jul 05, 2019 8:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

That's your radeon, not your CPU.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Massimo B.
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 09 Feb 2005
Posts: 1580
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Fri Jul 05, 2019 9:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Interesting, no word about the radeon in those lines. What does it do? I'm starting my kernel with the parameter radeon.dpm=1 but I guess this is the default behaviour anyway.
Is Power Management causing this power state switching? But it is always switching from performance to performance? I've never seen any other power state in my logs.
_________________
ppc:PowerBook5,8 15"(1440)-G4/1.67,2G|amd64:HP EliteBook 8560w,i7-2620M,16G|Acer Z5610 (Core2QuadQ8200),8G|amd64-prefix:OpenSuse|HP EliteDesk 800G1 i7-4790|HP Compaq Pro 6300 i7-3770
Lila-Theme
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Massimo B.
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 09 Feb 2005
Posts: 1580
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Fri Jul 12, 2019 5:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

How can this be set to powersave for instance?
_________________
ppc:PowerBook5,8 15"(1440)-G4/1.67,2G|amd64:HP EliteBook 8560w,i7-2620M,16G|Acer Z5610 (Core2QuadQ8200),8G|amd64-prefix:OpenSuse|HP EliteDesk 800G1 i7-4790|HP Compaq Pro 6300 i7-3770
Lila-Theme
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Massimo B.
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 09 Feb 2005
Posts: 1580
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Wed Jul 17, 2019 6:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
# lsmod |grep radeon
radeon               1204224  34
i2c_algo_bit           12288  2 radeon,i915
drm_kms_helper        114688  2 radeon,i915
ttm                    65536  1 radeon
drm                   249856  14 drm_kms_helper,radeon,i915,ttm

# lspci |grep -e VGA -e Display
00:02.0 Display controller: Intel Corporation Xeon E3-1200 v2/3rd Gen Core processor Graphics Controller (rev 09)
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] Caicos XT [Radeon HD 7470/8470 / R5 235/310 OEM]

_________________
ppc:PowerBook5,8 15"(1440)-G4/1.67,2G|amd64:HP EliteBook 8560w,i7-2620M,16G|Acer Z5610 (Core2QuadQ8200),8G|amd64-prefix:OpenSuse|HP EliteDesk 800G1 i7-4790|HP Compaq Pro 6300 i7-3770
Lila-Theme
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
xdarma
l33t
l33t


Joined: 08 Dec 2003
Posts: 703
Location: tra veneto e friuli (italy)

PostPosted: Wed Jul 17, 2019 9:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Massimo B. wrote:
How can this be set to powersave for instance?

I don't use radeon driver, but there are some hints on wiki page like this:
Code:
root #echo "low" > /sys/class/drm/card0/device/power_profile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Massimo B.
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 09 Feb 2005
Posts: 1580
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Wed Jul 17, 2019 2:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I learned that setting radeon.dpm=1 does set it to verbose while the default is already dpm=1. So I drop that kernel arg to avoid the messages..
_________________
ppc:PowerBook5,8 15"(1440)-G4/1.67,2G|amd64:HP EliteBook 8560w,i7-2620M,16G|Acer Z5610 (Core2QuadQ8200),8G|amd64-prefix:OpenSuse|HP EliteDesk 800G1 i7-4790|HP Compaq Pro 6300 i7-3770
Lila-Theme
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum